Houston (Tex.)

Taxonomy

Code

Scope note(s)

Display note(s)

Hierarchical terms

Houston (Tex.)

Equivalent terms

Houston (Tex.)

  • UF Houston, Texas

Associated terms

Houston (Tex.)

232 Authority record results for Houston (Tex.)

232 results directly related Exclude narrower terms

MacKie and Kamrath

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no2009044810
  • Corporate body
  • 1937-

Mooney, Curtis C.

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no2010004092
  • Person
  • 1947-0000

Catlin, Francis

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no2010040748
  • Person
  • 1925-2014

Francis Irving Catlin was born on December 6, 1925 in Hartford, Connecticut. He received his Doctor of Medicine degree in 1948 from Johns Hopkins University, where he also served two residencies in otolaryngology and head and neck surgery. Dr. Catlin served in the U.S. Air Force Medical Corps from 1950-1952 at the rank of Captain and was the Assistant Chief of E.N.T. Service, U.S. Air Force, 1100th Medical Group, Bolling Air Force Base in Washington, D.C. Dr. Catlin taught and conducted research as a faculty member at Johns Hopkins from 1955-1972. There, he was a part of the Department of Otolaryngology in the School of Medicine, the School of Public Health and Hygiene’s Environmental Medicine Department, and the Public Administration. In 1972 Dr. Catlin and his family moved to Houston, Texas, where he accepted the appointments as Professor at the Baylor College of Medicine in the Department of Otorhinolaryngology; as Chief-of-Service in the department of Otolaryngology at St. Luke’s Episcopal the and Texas Children’s Hospitals; and as the Director of the Speech, Language, and Learning Disorders at the Texas Children’s Hospital. Dr. Catlin died Februayr 24, 2014 and is buried in Church Hill, Maryland. Print finding aid by Margaret Irwin, 1992/1996

Charalampous, Kanellos D.

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no2010152895
  • Person
  • 1931-

Dr. Kanellos Charalampous was born in Greece in 1931. He attended Texas Christian University and majored in biology and chemistry. Later, he was accepted into Baylor College of Medicine. He began his rotating internship at Houston City Hospital and began his residency at Baylor. In his post-graduate career, he worked in the development and research of psychopharmacology. [Citation: Biographies, and 2015 December 24. KANELLOS CHARALAMPOUS: CONFRONTING THE ZEITGEIST by Barry Blackwell and Kanellos Charalampous (2015): 1-27. International Network for the History of Neuropsychopharmacology. 24 Dec. 2015. Web.]

Burdon, Kenneth Livingston

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no2011184007
  • Person
  • 1895-1985

Kenneth Livingston Burdon, MD, was born in Providence, Rhode Island in 1895. He was educated at Brown University, receiving his Ph.D. in 1922. Dr. Burdon served with the U.S. Army Sanitary Medical Corps, (1918-1919), taught at Washington University School of Medicine (1922-1935) and then at Louisiana State University School of Medicine (1935-1943). Kenneth Burdon, MD is recognized as the Founding Chair of the Department of Microbiology Baylor University College of Medicine (1943-1961). He was awarded Professor Emeritus of Microbiology in 1961.

Dr. Burdon’s research and publications feature the following topics: “characterization of a group of aerobic spore-forming bacilli, especially Bacillus anthracis, and on immediate-type hypersensitivity. He also worked on development of an antibiotic to treat tuberculosis. He was a director of an NIH-supported Fellowship Training Program in Allergy and Immunology in conjunction with the Department of Pediatrics from 1958 to 1967. Dr. Burdon authored six editions of a widely used textbook Microbiology, first published in 1939. He also authored a Medical Microbiology textbook.”

Dr. Burdon retired in 1967 and passed away in 1985. Further information and a bibliography of Dr. Burdon’s papers are available in the first folder of this collection.

Citation:"Kenneth L. Burdon, Founding Chair, Microbiology." Baylor College of Medicine. Accessed February 21, 2016. https://www.bcm.edu/departments/molecular-virology-and-microbiology/about-us/history-of-the-department/kenneth-l-burdon.

Copeland, Murray M.

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no2018054171
  • Person
  • 1902-1982

Murray Marcus Copeland was born June 23, 1902, in Georgia, and died April 2, 1982, in Easton, Texas, although he lived in Houston at the time. Copeland was a professor of surgery at UT MD Anderson Cancer Center from 1960 to 1982. He had been chair of Georgetown University’s medical school from 1947 to 1960 and was president of the American Cancer Society from 1964 to 1965. Dr. Copeland graduated from Oglethorpe University in 1923 and earned his MD from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in 1927. He also trained in surgery at the Mayo Clinic Memorial Hospital for Cancer in New York City. He served in medical corps in the Pacific Theater during World War II and was awarded a Legion of Merit. Copeland has an entry in the Handbook of Texas Online.

University of Houston College of Pharmacy

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no2020048313
  • Corporate body
  • 1947-

The University of Houston School of Pharmacy opened in 1947 in the science building of the University of Houston, with physician and pharmacist Allan Collette as acting dean. It became accredited by the American Council of Pharmaceutical Education in 1950. It moved to the Lamar Fleming Building in 1963 and then into a new building in the Texas Medical Center in 1981. Ph.D. programs in pharmacology and pharmaceutics were established in 1987. Between 1977 and ???? the School worked with Baylor College of Medicine and UT Medical School to operate the Houston Pharmacological Center to provide drug information to medical professionals.

Pugh, Martha

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no2020062162
  • Person
  • 1939-

Hild, Jack R.

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no91023037
  • Person
  • 1904-1992

Jack Romulus Hild was born February 27, 1904 in Waco, Texas. He earned his Bachelor’s degree from the University of South California at Los Angeles, and his MD from Tulane University in New Orleans, in 1929, after which he served an internship in pediatrics in Cincinnati, Ohio. He and his wife Dorothy moved to Douglas, Arizona, in 1933 and stayed there until 1939, when he completed his residency. During World War II, Hild achieved the rank of major in the Army Air Force Medical Corps. Two of his three children were injured by polio in the late 1940s and Hild and Dr. O.A. Fly were co-directors of the mass polio vaccinations in Harris County in 1962. He died on August 24, 1992, and is buried at Glenwood Cemetery in Houston.

Wainerdi, Richard E.

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no94021624
  • Person
  • 1931-2021

Born November 27, 1931, in New York City. He graduated from the University of Oklahoma with a degree in petroleum engineering. He worked for many years at Texas A&M University and then at Gulf Oil, retiring in 1984 when Gulf Oil was acquired by Chevron. Then he spent 28 years as Chief Executive Officer and Chief Operating Officer of the Texas Medical Center. Dr. Wainerdi died on March 17, 2021.

Murad, Ferid

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no96063323
  • Person
  • 1936-

Ferid Murad was born in Indiana in 1936. He graduated from DePauw University in Greencastle, Indiana in 1958 and went on to complete an MD-PhD program at Western Reserve University in Cleveland and attended Massachusetts General Hospital for his internship and residency. Later, he went on to work with the NIH as a clinical associate in the Heart Institute as well as with the University of Virginia, Stanford, Abbott Laboratories, and the Molecular Geriatrics Corporation. He came to Houston in 1997 to work with the University of Texas.

[Source: “Ferid Murad – Biographical.” Nobelprize.org. Les Prix Nobel, 1998. Web.]

Arnett, Frank C.

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no98075898
  • Person
  • 1942-

Frank Couchman Arnett, Jr., was born in Salyersville, Kentucky, in 1942. He earned his M.D. from the University of Cincinnati in 1968 and then pursued internal medicine residency and rheumatology training in the 1970s at The Johns Hopkins University (JHU) School of Medicine, followed by a faculty position at JHU for 10 years.

Dr. Arnett came to the University of Texas Medical School in 1984 to become Professor of Medcine and Director of the Division of Rheumatology, a position he held until he became Chairman of the Department of Internal Medicine in 2001-2004. He served as the chief of various medical services at Memorial Hermann and The Lyndon B. Johnson Hospitals in Houston.

Dr. Arnett is internationally known as a clinician, teacher and clinical investigator. He was elected to the Association of American Physicians in 1993 and the Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars in 1995. He served on the Board of Directors of national Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society for 9 years and was national president of AOA in 1996. He also served on the American Board of Internal Medicine from 1988-1994. In 1997 he became director of the first NIH-NIAMS Specialized Centers of Research in Scleroderma, the longest continually funded SCOR in scleroderma in the nation (1997-2006).

Dr. Arnett was Co-Chairman of the Sjogren's Syndrome Study Group of the American College of Rheumatology in 1990-1991.

In 2006, he led the effort to successfully compete for one of the first 12 Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) funded by NIH/NCRR and formerly served as Principal Investigator and Executive Director of that new program, as well as the first NIH Center of Research Translation (CORT) in Scleroderma.

Dr. Arnett chaired or served on a long list of committees. He has been an invited speaker all over the world. He received numerous awards for his work, including the University of Texas Health Science Center's highest award, the President's Scholar Award for Teaching in 2005 and for Research in 2008.

Dr. Arnett was a founding member of the University of Texas Academy of Health Education Sciences and, in 2007, was elected a Master of the American College of Physicians. He has been named to both Top Doctors and Best Doctors in America since 2000.

Starck, Patricia

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/nr92024521
  • Person

Dean Starck was born in Georgia. She earned a masters’ of nursing from Emory University and a doctorate of nursing in 1979 from the University of Alabama in Birmingham. She is also a graduate of the Institute of Educational Management at Harvard University and a licensed nurse practitioner and clinical nurse specialist in mental health and psychiatry. She served as dean of the UT Health Science Center from 1984 to 2014 and continues to serve the UTHSCH as Vice President of Interprofessional Education.

Kahn, Eugen

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/nr98011627
  • Person
  • 1887-1973

Dr. Eugen Kahn was born in Stuttgart, Germany, on May 20, 1887. He was educated at Heidelberg, Berlin, and then at Munich, receiving his MD in 1911. He spent the next 18 years in Munich as an assistant and associate on the staff of the Psychiatric Clinic, in close association with Dr. Emil Kraepelin.

In 1930 Dr. Kahn went to Yale University, where he served not only as Sterling Professor of Psychiatry and Mental Hygiene but as Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry until 1946. He also served as Psychiatrist-in-Chief of the New Haven Hospital.

Dr. Kahn then moved to Switzerland, where he remained until 1951. In that year he returned to America, coming to Baylor College of Medicine in Houston Texas to serve on the full-time staff of the Department of Psychiatry as a Professor until 1962; for one of those years he served as Acting Chairman of the Department. After 1962 he was Professor Emeritus at Baylor. During his 22 years in Houston, Dr. Kahn was a research associate in psychiatry at the Houston State Psychiatric Institute (Texas Research Institute of Mental Sciences/ University of Texas Mental Sciences Institute) and a consultant in psychiatry at the Veterans Administration Hospital.

Dr. Kahn's entire career was spent in teaching, research, and scholarly activities. He read and wrote on a broad range of topics. He published at least 120 papers, hundreds of book reviews, and four books, the best know of which is Psychopathic Personalities. The last book, The Past Is Not Past, was published in 1962.

Adapted from American Journal of Psychiatry 130:7, 822, July 1973.

Texas Woman's University

  • https://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79150431.html
  • Corporate body
  • 1901-0000

Texas Woman's University was founded in 1901 in Denton, Texas, as the Texas Industrial Institute and College for the Education of White Girls of the State of Texas in the Arts and Sciences; the current name dates to 1957. It began the first nationally accredited nursing program, affiliated with Dallas' Parkland Hospital, in Texas in 1950 and began awarding doctorates in 1953. It became integrated in 1961 and coeducational in 1994. The health science and nursing programs have additional campuses in Dallas and Houston.

Fred, Herbert L.

  • https://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n88090673.html
  • Person
  • 1929-2018

Herbert Leonard Fred, MD was born June 11, 1929 in Waco, Texas. He was known for his contribution to medical education. He was an award-winning clinician, diagnostician, and professor of internal medicine. Dr. Fred, an emeritus American Osler Society member, centered his medical practice on the patient, championing the use of the mind and five senses to develop medical diagnoses.

In Waco, the Fred family was known for community service, keen athletic team support, and their jewelry store, L. Fred and Son. His father, Isadore (Isie) Fred (1897-1969) received a posthumous City of Waco Commemoration for contributions to the community. Famous for his zest for life and his warm heart, Isie was a friend of many community and national leaders in athletics and film. Dr. Fred’s mother was Helen Louise Marks (1905-1985). He had one sister, Shirley Fred Strauss (1932-2014). Dr. Fred’s paternal grandparents were Louis Fred (died 1940), a Prussian immigrant who became a naturalized citizen of the United States in 1908, and Pauline (Peshi) Fred (1866-1950). Dr. Fred’s maternal grandparents were Samuel Marks (1866-1932) and Fannie Marks (1869-1956). Dr. Fred married Lucille (Lucy) Therese Maule (born 1928) in 1954. They had three children: Stuart Fred (born 1955) and twins Nancy Lynn Fred Sadick and Michael Fred (born 1957). Dr. Fred and Lucy divorced in 1976. Dr. Fred married Judith Ann Edgar Biddington in 1978. She had four children from her first marriage: Lisa Collette Biddington (born 1961), Floyd Wesley Biddington (born 1965), Gregory Leonard Biddington (born 1969), and Stefani Biddington, (birth date unknown).

Dr. Fred spent his boyhood in Waco, Texas, graduating from Waco High School in 1946. He attended then Rice Institute (today Rice University) in Houston, TX, graduating in 1950. He attended medical school at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in Baltimore, Maryland from 1950 to 1954. He completed his medical training as an internist with a two year internship and residency at The University of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah in 1957. Dr. Fred served as a Captain in the United States Air Force Medical Corps from 1957-1959, acting as Chief of Medicine at the Amarillo Air Force Base Hospital in Amarillo, Texas. He then returned to Salt Lake City first as Chief Resident, Department of Internal Medicine, at the Salt Lake City General Hospital and then as an Instructor in Medicine at the University of Utah College of Medicine from 1959 to 1961. In 1962, Dr. Fred and his young family moved to Houston, Texas where Dr. Fred accepted an appointment as Instructor in Medicine at Baylor University College of Medicine.

Dr. Fred worked at institutions in Houston, Texas for the remainder of his career. After holding a number of academic positions at Baylor from 1962 to 1969, Dr. Fred left Baylor to accept a position as Director of Medical Education at St. Joseph Hospital in 1969 where he continued until 1988. In addition, he accepted positions as Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine at the University Of Texas Graduate School Of Biomedical Sciences in 1968 and as Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, at The University of Texas Health Science Center in 1971, retaining both appointments today. From 1979 to 2002, Dr. Fred served as Adjunct Professor, Human Performance and Health Sciences, at his alma mater, Rice University. From 1988 to 1993, Dr. Fred held a position as the Educational Coordinator at the HCA Center for Health Excellence. Beginning in 1982, Dr. Fred served as a medical expert witness in a number of medical malpractice trials. Records pertaining to these trials from 1988 to 2011 are located in the Legal Series. These folders are restricted due to the use of patient names until 2050. Dr. Fred is a member of thirteen medical societies including the American Medical Joggers Association, American College of Physicians, American College of Chest Physicians, American College of Sports Medicine, American Medical Writers Association, and American Osler Society.

Dr. Fred received numerous awards for teaching excellence from students and peers. Highlights include: Outstanding Full-Time Clinical Faculty Member at Baylor University College of Medicine in 1964 and 1967; a citation from President Ronald Reagan in October 4, 1988 for 27 years as a medical educator; The Benjy F. Brooks, M.D. Outstanding Clinical Faculty Award from the Alumni Association of the University of Texas Medical School in Houston in 1999; honoree of The Herb Fred Medical Society, Inc., a corporation established in 2002 by former students; The American College of Physicians – American Society of Internal Medicine Distinguished Teacher Award along with election to Mastership in The American College of Physicians in 2004; the TIAA-CREF Distinguished Medical Educator Award in 2005; and The American College of Physicians Laureate Award in 2012.

Dr. Fred’s running and medical practices intersected. Some of his scholarly articles include clinical descriptions of long distance running effects on the human body and promote running as preventive medicine. He often combined participation in running events with visiting professorships and Grand Rounds at other medical institutions. Dr. Fred began his competitive running career by running marathons but later switched to ultra-marathons, 100 mile races lasting 24-26 hours. Dr. Fred holds 3 National Age Records. By 2011, Dr. Fred had run a total of 244,950 miles.

Dr. Fred’s writing career arose from his medical practice and running competition. A tenacious advocate of clarity and precision in medical discourse both in his teaching and as an author, Dr. Fred determined to improve the accuracy of medical communication, written and spoken. Dr. Fred wrote over 450 scholarly medical articles. He served as editor-in-chief of the Houston Medical Journal from 1984 to 1988 and Houston Medicine from 1988 to1993. Other editorial responsibilities included positions with Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise from 1979 to 1986, Annals of Sports Medicine from 1982 to 1985, Circulation from 1995 to 2004, Resident and Staff Physician from 2003 to 2008, and Texas Heart Institute Journal from 2011to the present. Dr. Fred served as a peer reviewer for Southern Medical Journal, Chest, Journal of the American Medical Association, and Circulation. He was a correspondent for Ultrarunning magazine from 1981 to 1986. Dr. Fred authored several books in his career, including "Elephant Medicine and More", "Say Aah, Medical Writing: A Practical Guide", "Looking Back (and Forth): Reflections Of An Old-Fashioned Doctor", "Images of Memorable Cases: 50 Years At The Bedside", and "The Best of Herb Fred, MD".

Dr. Fred served on the Board of Trustees for the Houston Congregation for Reform Judaism from 1995 to 2004, acting as President of the Board from 1996 to 1998. Additionally, he joined the Board of Directors for the Friends of the Texas Medical Center Library in 2007, acting as Secretary from January 2011 to the present.

Dr. Fred continued to practice medicine and ran 11 miles a day on his treadmill until 2016. He retired in 2016. Dr. Fred died on December 30, 2018 and is buried in Agudath Jacob Cemetery in Waco.

Johnson, Herman Walter

  • https://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no2018075774.html
  • Person
  • 1883-1958

Herman Walter Johnson, MD (1883-1958) was born in Andover, Vermont on August 2, 1883. He graduated from the University of Buffalo Medical School in 1905 and, after years of working as a male midwife in New York and Texas, was appointed Professor and Chairman of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the Baylor College of Medicine. He served in World War I as a major in the United States Army Medical Corps. He held memberships and fellowships at the State Board of Medical Examiners for the State of Texas, the Academy International of Medicine, the Texas Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, and the Houston Surgical Society. He published his autobiography, titled Reminiscences of a Male Midwife, in 1954. Herman Walter Johnson, MD died on November 14, 1958. This information was taken from the Texas Medical History E-book 4 available through the Texas Medical History Documents link on the DigitalCommons@The Texas Medical Center web page and materials within the Johnson collection.

John P. McGovern Historical Collections & Research Center

  • https://lccn.loc.gov/n2004120720
  • Corporate body
  • 1977-

The McGovern Historical Center (MHC) is the historical and special collections department for The TMC Library. The MHC maintains rare book and archival collections. Artificial collections have been created to provide access to materials without clear provenance in order to increase discoverability.

The earliest acquisition records for the books in the MHC are found in the Houston Academy of Medicine’s (HAM) Library Committee reports for 1935 and 1936. Thirty Fellows of the Academy raised $300 to purchase a collection of 275 French medical books published between 1730 and 1830. In 1949, HAM and Baylor College of Medicine combined their medical libraries. In anticipation of the completion of the Jesse H. Jones Building for the library, the MD Anderson Foundation purchased the rheumatology collection of a New York physician, Dr. Reginald Burbank. This purchase was followed by a gift from the Cora and Webb Mading Foundation of more than 1,000 titles on sanitation and communicable diseases. After the 1954 dedication of the library building, many physicians donated books or historical pamphlets to be stored in a very small, locked room on the second floor. Soon after his arrival in Houston, Dr. McGovern became one of the Library’s most staunch supporters, annually supplying funds for the purchase of rare books and travel support for the librarians to attend meetings of the American Association for the History of Medicine. In 1977, The Library formed a new department with new quarters to collect historical materials and to enhance the rare book collections. In 1982, Dr. McGovern donated his personal collection of rare and historical books to the Library. In 1996 the Library’s Board of Directors named the historical department in his honor.

Texas Hadassah Medical Research Foundation

  • Corporate body
  • 1991-

The Texas Hadassah Medical Research Foundation was part of Baylor College of Medicine during the late-1990s and early 2000s. The organization, led in part by Dr. Armin Weinberg, provided medical supplies, cross-cultural collaboration and professional exchanges with Israel, Palestine, Kazakhstan, Russia, and other nations. An important part of its work dealt with radiation effects and events, like Chernobyl and atomic test sites in Kazakhstan. The organization developed the Cancer Registry of survivors of radiation events.

Live Oak Friends Meeting

  • Corporate body
  • 1954-

Live Oak Friends Meeting was founded in 1954 and met in congregants’ homes and in several temporary locations before settling in first to an adapted house on Alexander Street. In 2000 they moved into a building on W. 26th Street in the Heights, designed for them, that includes an installation by light artist James Turrell.
Jan and Marjorie De Hartog were longtime residents of Houston and members of Live Oak Friends Meeting, and personal friends of the donors. The original video was recorded by Warren, Ph.D., and Marsha Holleman, M.D., also members of Live Oak and faculty at Baylor College of Medicine.
Jefferson Davis Hospital opened originally in 1924; a second building was constructed in 1939 (razed 1999). By the 1950s, disputes between the city and county over who was responsible for its costs had left it underfunded, understaffed, and plagued by appalling conditions. The De Hartogs’ expose The Hospital prompted the formation of the Harris County Hospital District (Harris Health), the reform of public hospital conditions in Houston, and the development of Ben Taub Hospital in 1963.

Visiting Nurse Association of Houston, Inc.

  • Corporate body
  • 1908-

Now VNA Health, the Visiting Nurse’s Association is a nonprofit founded in 1908 that provides in-home care for a wide variety of patient needs, including in-home nursing and assisted living, hospice care, various forms of therapy, and lending medical equipment.

Texas Medical Center Nursing Education Consortium

  • Corporate body
  • 1991 -

The TMC Nursing Education Consortium was organized in 1991 for the purpose of sharing ideas about staff education. It eventually developed three classes, on perinatal care, critical care, and instruction, and offered them to TMC member institutions. It met at the Doctor’s Club until that closed around 2002, and then at another building on Fannin (the reply said “Fannin and Main” but they don’t intersect) for a few more years before fading out.

John P. McGovern Museum of Health and Medical Sciences

  • Corporate body
  • 1996-

The Health Museum started out as a series of health exhibits proposed in the wake of the 1962 “Victory Over Polio” mass-immunization campaign. The exhibits opened in 1969 within the Museum of Natural Science. The Museum of Health and Medical Science reopened in 1996 in its own building and was renamed the John P. McGovern Museum of Health and Medical Science in 2001 following a bequest from the McGovern Foundation. The Museum has expanded several times and now features a 4D theater (2008) and the DeBakey Cell Lab, the first bilingual science laboratory museum in the US. In 2017 it became the first Smithsonian affiliate in the Houston Museum District.

University of Texas School of Nursing PARTNERS

  • Corporate body
  • 1994-

Providing Advancement Resources To Nursing Education Researchers was formed in 1994 to encourage and support the students and faculty of the Cizik School of Nursing through scholarships, research grants, and endowed professorships, and has also raised funds to build and equip research facilities.

Bertner, Ernst William

  • Person
  • 1889-1950

Dr. Ernst William Bertner was born at Colorado City, Texas, August 18, 1889. After graduating from the local high school and the New Mexico Military Institute at Roswell, New Mexico, he entered the Medical Branch of the University of Texas, Galveston, receiving his MD in 1911.

Following his graduation, he took intern and residency training at the Willard Parker Hospital, Saint Vincent's Hospital and the Manhattan Maternity Hospital, all in New York City. He came to Houston in July, 1913, where he engaged in practice until World War I, when he enlisted in the Medical Corps.

He was assigned to the British Army, and went overseas in July, 1917. In March, 1918, he was transferred to the American Expeditionary Force, and assigned to Headquarters Medical and Surgical Consultants at Newfchateau, France.

Dr. Bertner had a varied and exciting career in France and served actively on most of the front lines. He was wounded by shrapnel and confined to a hospital for a short period of time. He was soon returned to duty. At one time he was caught in one of the famous German pincers movements and was one of the few surviving Medical Officers.

He was discharged from the Army in June, 1919, at Camp Dix, New Jersey with the rank of Major. The following month he resumed his practice in Houston. In May 1921, he went to Baltimore, Maryland, for post-graduate work at Johns Hopkins Hospital, in surgery, gynecology, and urology. He resumed practice in Houston in May 1922, and since that time limited his work to surgery and gynecology.

He was married at St. Louis, November 30, 1922, to Miss Julia Williams, daughter of the late W.E. Williams formerly General Manager of the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railroad in Texas.

Dr. Bertner was always an active member of organized medicine, in the county, state and national organizations and served as seventy-second president of Texas State Medical Association. He served as President of the Harris County Medical Society, President of the Post Graduate Medical Assembly of South Texas, President of the Texas Surgical Society, and President of the Texas Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists.

He was a member of the Executive Committee of the Central Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. He was State Counsellor and a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons. He was a member of the American Medical Association, American Urological Association, American Gynecological Association, Central Association of Gynecologists, and Interurban Gynecological Society.

Dr. Bertner was active in hospital organization, having formerly been Chief of Staff of Jefferson Davis Hospital in Houston, and very active in building the first unit of that institution. Later, he became identified with Hermann Hospital and did much towards the development of the institution, where he served as Chief of Staff. He was also on the Surgical Staff of Memorial Hospital and Southern Pacific Hospital in Houston.

He served as Vice-Chairman of the Houston Board of Health and Executive Committeeman of the Texas Social Hygiene Association. He was a member of the First Presbyterian Church in Houston, a 32nd degree Mason, Knight Templar, Shriner and Knight Commander of the Court of Honor of the Scottish Rite, and a member of the Houston Club, Ramada Club, and Houston Country Club.

Dr. Bertner was one of the founders of the Texas Medical Center and was its first president from 1945-1950. He was named by the University of Texas as acting director of the M.D. Anderson Hospital for Cancer Research when that institution was conceived. He was responsible for the professional organization and the operation of the hospital for the first four years of its existence. He served as professor and chairman of the department of gynecology for the Baylor College of Medicine since its establishment in Houston from 1943 until his death in 1950.

During World War II he was in command of the Emergency Medical Service of the Office of Civilian Defense, and received a Presidential Citation for this service.

Dr. Bertner was a past Vice-President of the American Cancer Society and served on its Board for several years. He was chairman of the Executive Committee of the Texas Division and received the American Cancer Society award for distinguished service in cancer control in 1949. He was a member of the Board of Directors of the Houston Chamber of Commerce. He was a member of the Citizen's Committee for Reorganization of the Executive Branch of the Government, an outgrowth of the Hoover Commission Report.

Dr. Bertner died July 28, 1950 in Houston following a two year battle with cancer. He was survived by his wife, Julia Williams Bertner, two sisters and a niece.

Bickel, Laura C.

  • Person
  • 1912-1977

Laural Carnell Bickel was born in Shamokin, Pennsylvania, on June 2, 1912. She was educated at University of Wisconsin Medical School, (now the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health) and moved to Houston in the early 1940s. She was a pediatrician and did considerable work in both rubella and in congenital diseases. Dr. Bickel died in Houston on December 15, 1977.

Kit, Saul

  • Person
  • 1920-2008

Dr. Saul Kit (November 25, 1920 - January 24, 2008) was a leader in biochemistry in the Texas Medical Center. He was chief of the section of nucleoprotein metabolism in the Department of Biochemistry at M.D. Anderson Hospital, and later Head of the Division of Biochemical Virology at Baylor College of Medicine. He served as President of the Southwest Section of the American Association for Cancer Researchers, the Treasurer of the American Society for Cell Biology, and President of the American Society for Cell Biology. Dr. Kit was a recipient of numerous research grants from National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation, The American Cancer Society, Leukemia Society, Robert A. Welch Foundation, and the National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis. For over 25 years he received a Research Career Award from the National Institutes of Allergy and Infectious Diseases. In 1987, he was honored with the Distinguished Inventor of the Year Award for developing the world's first genetically engineered vaccine to be licensed by the U.S. government. Dr. Kit was granted numerous United States and International patents for his pioneering vaccine inventions.

Barkley, Howard T.

  • Person
  • 1901-1981

Howard T. Barkley, Sr. was born in Tucson, AZ on November 30, 1901. He graduated from the University of Arizona in 1931 with his Bachelor's degree and the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons with a MD in 1935. He first served as an intern at Lenox Hill Hospital in New York before going to the Presbyterian Hospital, also of New York, to serve as a surgical resident. He received further training at the University of Michigan Hospital in Ann Arbor before moving permanetnly to Houston, TX in 1941.

During World War II he served as a flight surgeon for the United States Army Air Corps, reaching the rank of lieutenant colonel. He was an associate of professor of clinical surgery at Baylor College of Medicine from 1943-1980 and chief of thoracic surgery at MD Anderson Hospital from 1944-1968. Barkley also served on the staff of Hermann Hospital in Houston from 1942 to 1972, and as chief of thoracic surgery there from 1944-1968. In 1948 he was appointed chairman of the medical staff at Houston AntiTubercular Clinic. Barkley served in a variety of capacities for different regional medical organizations. Barkley served as president of the Houston Surgical Society in 1952, the Texas Tuberculosis Association from 1956-1958, the Harris County Medical Society in 1967, and the Houston chapter of the American Tuberculosis Association. He served as vice president of the National Tuberculosis Association in 1963-1964. He was a founding member of the American Association of Thoracic Surgery in 1948 and the Society of Thoracic Surgeons in 1964.

Howard T. Barkley died on January 26, 1981.

Doak, Edmund K.

  • Person
  • 1909-2000

Edmond King Doak, (Jr.?) was born October 3, 1909, in Taylor, Texas, and died 29 November 2000 in Houston. His father was Edmond King Doak, Sr., MD, born August 9, 1878, in Lexington, Texas, and died December 20, 1971 in Taylor, Texas. Doak, Sr., was among the doctors who built a new hospital in Taylor in 1920.
Doak, Jr., graduated from the University of Pennsylvania Medical School in 1934 and was on the faculty at Baylor College of Medicine. He had an office in the Hermann Professional Building in 1974. Member of the American Diabetes Association; was on the Council 1959-1960.
He has (two?) entries in the Gazetteer of Texas Physicians and his papers are MS 049 at the Texas Medical Center archives. His portrait is N-1003.

Yoffe, Boris

  • Person
  • 1949-

Boris M. Yoffe was born August 24, 1949. He earned an MD in 1974 from the Institute of Technology in Haifa, Israel. He has taught gastroenterology at Baylor since 1983.

Andrews, Tom A.

  • Person
  • 1903-1977

Urologist Tom Adam Andrews. Jr., was born November 26, 1903 in West Point (near La Grange), Fayette County, Texas to Tom A., Sr., and Augusta “Gussie” Rabb Andrews.. He married Helen sometime before 1930 and served in the Navy Medical Corps during World War II. He died on October 16, 1977, in Houston and is buried at Forest Park Cemetery. Note: He is listed in various places online as “Jr.” but at least one source gives his father’s middle name as Adolphus, not Adam. His older son was also Thomas Adam (1930-1991).

Rodgers, L. Rodney

  • Person
  • 1920-2012

Lawrence Rodney Rogers, MD, was born March 9, 1920 in Clovis, New Mexico, to a cowboy and a schoolteacher, and died December 13, 2012, in Houston. He grew up in Amarillo, Texas. He was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society during his junior year at the University of Texas Medical Branch. He volunteered for the US Army during World War II and served as a battalion surgeon in the 42nd Rainbow Division in the European Theater, including the Battle of the Bulge, for which he earned three Bronze Stars and four Battle Stars. Accounts of his treatment of prisoners at Dachau and Jewish patients in occupied Austria are on video at the Houston Holocaust Museum.
Dr. Rodgers specialized in internal medicine at Philadelphia General Hospital for three years before returning to Texas to practice in Houston from 1949 to 1994. He was chair of the Department of Internal Medicine at Hermann Hospital in 1965 and was active in the effort to establish the University of Texas Medical School at Hermann in 1966-1967 and served the school both as a professor and member of many committees.
Dr. Rodgers served the Harris County Medical Society as TMA delegate, on the executive board, and for a year as vice president, and was for a time editor of the Harris County Physician. He served as President of the Houston Society of Internal Medicine in 1974, of the Houston Academy of Medicine in 1981, of the Doctors’ Club in 1986, and the Houston Philosophical Society in 1994, and supported and participated in many more organizations. He was awarded the Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumni Award by UTMB, and the American College of Physicians awarded him both a Laureate Internist Award for Texas and Mastership of the College.

Schnur, Sidney

  • Person
  • 1910-1997

Sidney A. Schnur (June 23, 1910 – April 8, 1997) was born in Manhattan, New York and earned his MD from New York University in 1935. He was a physician and a clinical assistant professor at Baylor College of Medicine. One of Schnur’s patients at St. Joseph’s Hospital, near death from cardiogenic shock (when the heart cannot pump enough blood to meet the body’s needs) after a heart attack, was the test for Denton Cooley’s heart-lung machine in April 1956; the patient lived another six weeks before succumbing to a second heart attack.
Schnur served as president of the Harris County Medical Society in 1972.

Kelsey, John

  • Person
  • 1922-2010

John Roger Kelsey was born in May 1922 in Deport, Texas. He graduated from Baylor College of Medicine and later became a fellow in internal medicine and gastroenterology at Mayo Clinic. While in Minnesota, he earned his Master of Science degree from the University of Minnesota. He served as clinical professor of medicine at Baylor College of Medicine and as chief of the gastroenterology department at Methodist Hospital. Dr. Kelsey, along with Dr. William Seybold and Dr. William Kelsey developed Houston’s Kelsey-Seybold Clinics.
Citation: CHRONICLE, CINDY HORSWELL HOUSTON. "John Kelsey, Founder of Clinic Bearing His Name, Dies." Houston Chronicle. N.p., 24 July 2010. Web.

Autrey, A. M., Jr.

  • Person
  • 1899-1983

Adam Manuel Autrey, Jr., was born October 31, 1899 and died June 17, 1983; he is buried in Forest Park Cemetery in Houston.

Autrey, A.M., Sr.

  • Person
  • 1863-1935

Dr. A.M. Autrey, Sr., was an eye, ear, nose, and throat specialist. He was born October 4, 1863, in Veracruz, Mexico. He died December 28, 1935, in Houston and is buried at Forest Park Cemetery.

Knowles, W. Roy

  • Person
  • 1929-2005

William Roy Knowles was born in Gilmer, Texas, on December 13, 1929 and died in Houston on September 3, 2005. He is buried at Memorial Oaks Cemetery. He trained as a dermatologist at Baylor College of Medicine starting in 1965. The announcement of the establishment of his office in Houston in 1968 notes that he was one of two dermatologists in Texas at the time capable of performing “chemosurgery” to remove skin cancers. He seems to have had an ongoing interest in Civil War medicine; local papers note that he sometimes gave talks on the subject. His brother Royce was also in medical practice in Palestine.

Barkley, James E.

  • Person
  • 1925-2014

James Earl Barkley, Jr., was born January 21, 1925, in Uhrichsville, Ohio. He served in Europe and Asia during World War II and was assigned for awhile to the pharmacy at Camp Cooke in Los Angeles, California. He obtained a pharmacy degree from Ohio State University in 1951 and began working for Burroughs Wellcome. He was transferred to Houston in 1961. Barkley spent five years in Washington, DC, between 1962 and 1967, but then returned to Houston. He died on March 20, 2014 and is buried at Forest Park Westheimer Cemetery.
Henry Solomon Wellcome was born August 21, 1853, in a log cabin near what would later become Almond, Wisconsin. He and Silas Mainville Burroughs formed Burroughs, Wellcome, & Co. in 1880. In 1884, they introduced to England the idea of selling medications in tablet form instead of the usual powders or liquids. They also pioneered direct marketing to doctors. Burroughs died in 1895 but the company did well under Wellcome’s direction. Wellcome became a British subject in 1910. Wellcome’s enterprises had been consolidated into the Wellcome Foundation, Ltd., in 1924 and, upon his death on July 25, 1936, this formed the foundation for the Wellcome Trust, which remains one of the world’s largest private biomedical charities.

Sobocinski, Robert

  • Person
  • 1928-2009

Robert Stanley Sobocinski was born April 6, 1928 in North Tonawanda, New York. He earned his MD from the University of Buffalo Medical School and served as medical officer in the US Navy between 1952 and 1955, aboard the USS Siboney. He was a family physician in Houston for many years. He died August 4, 2009, and is buried at Forest Park East in Webster

Moore, John T.

  • Person
  • 1864-1951

John T. Moore, MD, was the first man in the United States “to use radium as part of an operation in the treatment of cancer, he was one of the pioneers in clinical research,” according to an obituary that appeared in the Houston Post, section 1, page 6 on March 20, 1951. Dr. Moore was born in Moore’s Grove. He attended Sam Houston Normal Institute. He was educator before studying medicine. He was superintendent of schools in Trinity, Texas and then Orange, Texas. Dr. Moore received his master’s degree from Texas Christian University and his medical degree from the University of Texas School of Medicine at Galveston. He did graduate work at Johns Hopkins University and the University of Vienna. He was a former president of the Harris County Medical Society. He was a member of the Texas Surgical Society and other medical organizations. Dr. Moore was one of the organizers of the Texas State Medical Society.

Dr. Moore was born September 4, 1864 and died March 1, 1951.

Houston Academy of Medicine

  • Corporate body
  • 1915-

The Houston Academy of Medicine was created in 1915 by the Harris County Medical Society to facilitate physicians’ access to up-to-date medical and scientific information.

Dmochowski, Leon

  • Person
  • 1909-1981

Leon Dmochowski was a virologist, experimental oncologist, and academic born on July 1, 1909 in Ternopil (Ukraine; at that time Austrian crown land of Galicia). He died on August 26, 1981 in Mexico City and was buried in Houston, Texas.

Dmochowski attended the Ukrainian Grammar School for Boys in Peremyshl, and in 1928-33 he studied at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Lviv, where he gained a bachelor's degree. In 1934-35 he worked as a general practitioner at the Lviv university clinic. He subsequently obtained a grant from the J. Potocki Foundation for Scientific Investigation of Cancer and Tuberculosis and moved to Warsaw where, from 1935 to 1938, he was a research assistant in the cancer laboratoryy of the Polish State Institute of Hygiene, Department of Bacteriology and experimental Medicine. In 1973 he gained a Doctor of Medicine degree from Warsaw University.

Obtaining a one-year traveling fellowship from the Potocki Foundation, in 1938 he came to the United Kingdom where, unti l1946, he conducted research at the Imperial Cancer Research Fund (now Cancer Research UK). During this period he published five papers in the British Medical Journal, the British Journal of Experimental Pathology, the British Journal of Cancer and the Journal of Pathology and Bacteriology. in 1946 he moved to Leeds, where he worked as a researcher and lecturer in the Department of Experimental Pathology and Cancer Reasearch at the School of Medicine, University of Leeds. He also lectured in microbiology. In 1949 he obtained a second doctorate from Leeds University, and in 1950 was promoted to the position of reader at the university. In this period he published a further 24 papers in The Lancet (1947), Nature (1947, 1948, 1950, 1951) and other journals (Advances in Cancer Research, British Medical journal, Journal of the National Cancer Institute, Acta-Unio Internationalis Contra Cancrum, Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences). In 1951, he was invited to give a series of lectures on oncology at a number of universities in the USA. in 1953-54 he was a visiting associate professor of microbiology at the Colombia University College of Physicians and Surgeons in New York. From 1949 to 1955 he was an adviser to the United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration (UNRRA). He was a member of the Royal Society of Medicine, the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, the British Society of General Microbiology, and the Pathological Society oof Great Britain and Ireland.

Deciding to settle in the USA, in 1954 Dmochowski moved from New York to Houston, where in 1954-55 he was a professor of anatomy at the Baylor University of College of Medicine, and a consultant at the M.D. Anderson Hospital and Tumor Institute (now University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center). He continued to work at M.D. Anderson where he was chief of the Section of Virology and Electron Microscopy (1955-65), acting head of the newly-established Department of Virology (1965-66), and, from 1966, professor and head of the Department of Virology. From 1955 he was also professor ofexperimental pathology at the University of Texas Postgraduate School of Medicine, and, from 1965, professor of virology at the new University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. Additionally, he was a clinical professor at the Baylor University College of Medicine (from 1955), and a distinguished lecturer at the Medical College of Georgia at Augusta (1966). After 1974 he continued with his academic and research work at M.D. Anderson. His main academic interests included virology, experimental oncology, immunology and serology of tumors, endocrinology, and electron microscopy in cancer diagnosis. He was the author or co-author of over 450 articles and papers, as well as chapters in several books. He was at the forefront of research into the role of viruses in oncology, one of the first researchers to report the viral origins of various malignant tumors (1953), and a pioneer in the application of electron microscopy in oncovirology. He also discovered viruses which cause leucosis in rodents and demonstrated the presence of such viruses in human beings.

Dmochowski was a member of the Ukrainian Physicians' Society in Lviv and the Ukrainian Medical Association of North America, and (from 1959) a full member of the Shevchenko Scientific Society in the US. He was also a member of the American Association for Cancer Research, the Electron Microscopy Society of America, the Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine, the American Society for Microbiology, the New York Academy of Sciences, the Leukemia Society of America (National Board of Trustees, 1966-; National Medical and Scientific Advisory Board, 1966-1970), and the Pan American Cancer Cytology Society. He was an honorary member of the Chilean Society of Cancerology.

Source: Kovaliv, Yuriy B. (20 June 2014). Leon Dmochowski. Ukrainians in the United Kingdom. Retrieved from http://www.ukrainiansintheuk.info/eng/02/dmochowski-e.htm

Creson, Daniel Lenard

  • Person
  • 1935-2015

Born in 1935, Dr. Daniel L. Creson was in in private practice with North Texas Psychiatry and Psychotherapy in Denton, Texas. He was Professor Emeritus at The University of Texas Health Science Center - Houston in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. He served there as Clinical Professor and Director of Continuing Education before his retirement in 2003. He was Board Certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology in 1971.

Dr. Creson received his medical degree from The University of Texas Medical Branch-Galveston, Texas in 1962. He earned an MA in Behavioral Science and a PhD in Anthropology from Rice University, Houston Texas. He holds academic appointments at Galveston Family Institute, The University of Texas Medical Branch - Galveston and The University of Texas Health Science Center - Houston. Among his past positions, he served as Adjunct Associate Professor at Tulane University, Executive Director of Gulf Coast Regional Mental Health-Mental Retardation Center, and Medical Director of Mental Health Mental Retardation Authority of Harris County.

Dr. Creson was active on several boards of mental health mental retardation organizations in Galveston and Houston as well as several committees for the Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians. He has been a member of the Crisis Response Consortium of Harris County and Burn Disaster Response Team for Shriners Burn Institute. In addition to his past work in crisis situations throughout the world, he continues to serve as consultant to Humanitarian Aid and Medical Development (HMD) and Christian Children's Fund. Dr. Creson was instrumental in the development of an historical archives project, which seeks to document the history of mental health services in Texas. He personally obtained oral histories from many psychiatrists and other professionals throughout Texas.

Dr. Creson died November 30, 2015, in Sanger, Texas.

Dippel, A. Louis

  • Person
  • 1901-1991

Adelbert Louis Dippel was born in Ehlinger (now Ellinger), Texas, near LaGrange in Fayette County, on July 10, 1901. His grandparents all emigrated from Germany around 1850. His family wanted him to become an engineer but he had decided on medicine when he was twelve and admired the family doctor who treated him for malaria. He attended Blinn College in Brenham before earning both a B.S. and an M.S. from the University of Texas in 1924, then an MD from UTMB in 1928. Renal calculi kept him out of the service during World War II. Dr. Dippel was an instructor and associate professor in obstetrics at Johns Hopkins University from 1934 to 1940, then at the University of Minnesota from 1940 to 1943; he was head of that department in 1943 and 1944. He then returned to Texas to take positions at Baylor College of Medicine and UTMB, where he remained until he retired in 1977. He died in Tacoma, Washington, on September 6, 1991.

Ledbetter, Paul V.

  • Person
  • 1899-1983

Paul V. Ledbetter, MD, established the Ledbetter clinic in Houston in 1925. He died January 21, 1983. He had the first electrocardiographic (EKG) machine in the Houston area. Dr. Ledbetter was born in Sweet Home, Texas in 1899. He received his medical degree from the University of Texas Medical School in 1921. He helped to establish the Houston Society of Internal Medicine in 1945 and the Houston Heart Association in 1948. He was the first physician president. He also was instrumental in forming the St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital Board. He was a fellow of the American College of Physicians and was on the faculty at the Texas University Dental School.

Pokorny, Alex D.

  • Person
  • 1918-2007

Born October 18, 1918 on a farm in Taylor, Texas; his grandparents were Czech immigrants. He graduated from Granger High School at 16 in 1934 and then from the University of Texas in 1939. He earned his MD from the University of Texas Medical Branch in December 1942, and then interned at Hermann Hospital in 1943. He served in the US Army Medical Corps from December 1943 to December 1946, as a lieutenant colonel and then a colonel. During his service, he graduated from the School of Military Neuropsychiatry. He was a resident in psychiatry at Southwestern Medical School in Dallas from November 1946 to June 1947 and at the Menninger School of Psychiatry, then located in Topeka, Kansas, from 1947 to 1949.
Dr. Pokorny joined the staff at the Houston VA Hospital in 1949 and became Chief of the Psychiatry Service in 1955; he remained at the VA until 1973. He was also part of the Baylor College of Medicine Department of Psychiatry from 1949 until his retirement in 1989. He was active in numerous professional organizations and won several awards for his contributions. He died October 9, 2007, just shy of his 89th birthday.

Hickey, Robert

  • Person
  • 1915-2006

Dr. Robert Cornelius Hickey was born December 9, 1915 in Hallstead, Pennsylvania. He received a bachelor’s degree from Cornell University in 1938 and his MD, also from Cornell University, in 1942. After graduating, he went to University of Iowa, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, and the National Cancer Institute for advanced training in both radiology and surgery. He worked in University of Iowa College of Medicine, M.D Anderson, University of Wisconsin Medical School, and the American Association of Endocrine Surgeons. He developed several techniques for treating patients with various endocrine tumors.

Dr. Hickey died May 17, 2006, in Madison, Wisconsin.

Preston, Jane H.

  • Person
  • 1920-2001

Evelyn Jane Hawkins Preston was born in Houston on November 21, 1920; she was a third-generation Texan. She graduated from Baylor College of Medicine in 1953 and practiced in Houston until 1978, then in Austin between 1978 and 1995, when she retired and returned to her hometown. Dr. Preston was a pioneer of telemedicine. She died November 7, 2001, just shy of her 81st birthday.

Jensen, Francine

  • Person
  • 1917-2004

Francine Jensen was born August 1, 1917, in Memphis, Tennessee. She earned a BA from the University of Texas, an MD from UTMB, and a Master’s of Public Health from Tulane University, and did both an internship and residency at Jefferson Davis Hospital. In the 1940s she became the assistant director of Harris County’s Chronic Illness Prevention Program, which was intended to help people manage ailments such as diabetes, heart disease, and cancer. She was the director of the Houston Public Health Department’s CICP for six years and ultimately became the HPHD’s first female director. She retired in 1985. She held faculty appointments with Baylor College of Medicine and the University of Texas School of Public Health. She died November 8, 2004, in Houston

Voss, William R.

  • Person
  • 1932-1999

William Ralph Voss, DVM, was born March 11, 1932, in Parkdale, Arkansas, and died March 7, 1999, in or near Houston. he seems to have lived and possibly practiced in the Crosby, Texas, area. He is buried in the San Jacinto Memorial Park.

Able, Luke William

  • Person
  • 1912-2006

Luke William Able was born August 2, 1912 in Port Arthur, Texas, and his family moved to Houston when he was six. He earned his Bachelor’s from the University of Texas in 1933 and his MD from UTMB in 1940. He enlisted in 1942 while he was an intern at Hermann Hospital. Able survived a kamikaze attack on the USS Aulick in Leyte Gulf in the Pacific Theater on November 19, 1944. He suffered a shattered leg and other injuries but directed the treatment of wounded until he passed out from his own injuries. He was awarded a Silver Star and a Purple Heart and spent two years in the hospital recovering.
After the war, he trained at Children’s Hospital in Boston. He was head of the surgery department of Texas Children’s Hospital from 1954 to 1987. In 1964, he participated in one of the early separations of conjoined twins in Texas.
Dr. Able retired in 1988 due to complications from his World War II wounds. He died March 16, 2006 in Franklin, North Carolina.

Stanley, J. Richard

  • Person
  • 1905-

This material was sold through the Stanley family medical supply store in Houston. The material in the collection dates from the 1930s to 1950s.

Detering, Herman E., III

  • Person
  • 1938-2015

Herman Eberhard Detering, III, was born July 2, 1938, in Houston; his father H.E. Detering, Jr. (1902-1977) was also born in Houston and his grandfather H.E. Detering, Sr. (1862-1927), was born in Germany but came to Houtson in 1871. Detering, Sr., was the founder of The Detering Company Building Supplies, which is still operated (as of 2020) by the family. H.E. Detering, III, created this collection because of his interest in 19th century photography and psychiatry. Mr. Detering was the longtime owner of the Detering Book Gallery, a rare bookstore in the Houston area. He died March 21, 2015

Rehrauer, Walter

  • Person
  • 1890-1981

Walter Rehrauer was born in New York City on August 3, 1890. His family moved to Houston around 1911 and he graduated from the Texas Dental College in 1914. He served in the U.S. Navy or Naval Reserve during World War I, the inter-war period, World War II and beyond. He died at Brooke Army Medical Center at Fort Sam Houston in San Antonio on March 11, 1981, and is buried at Fort Sam Houston National Cemetery.

Huang, Charles T. L.

  • Person
  • 1938-2011

Possibly born 1938 October 12 in Tsienkiang, Fukien, China, as Tzu Lee Huang; added Charles upon naturalization in 1975. Arrived in US in 1969. Died December 25, 2011.

Spina Bifida Association of Texas, Inc.-Houston Chapter

  • Corporate body
  • 1975-

This is now Spina Bifida Houston Gulf Coast. They are no longer associated with the national organization and have changed their name to reflect that. Their primary focus now is The Camp That Love Built, a camp for children with spina bifida. This started in 1975 as a camp for special-needs children and moved to Burton, Texas, in 1998

Harris County Psychiatric Center

  • Corporate body
  • 1986-

The Harris County Psychiatric Center opened in 1986 and became the psychiatric wing of the UT Health Science Center at Houston in 1990; it serves as the teaching hospital for the McGovern Medical School. Except for the outpatient ECT clinic, it provides inpatient care only and runs specialized programs to address a long list of concerns. Outpatients are referred to the NeuroPsychiatric Center at Ben Taub Hospital or to a Mental Health and Mental Retardation Association clinic. It serves the community both directly and through the Harris County jail and juvenile detention systems, school districts, and many other educational, legal, and health and development-focused institutions.

Ronald McDonald House, Houston

  • Corporate body
  • 1981-

Ronald McDonald Houses provide a home-like place for families to stay while their children are receiving treatment in the hospital. The Houses were the idea of Fred Hill of the Philadelphia Eagles football team, when he and his wife needed a place to stay while their daughter Kim underwent treatment for leukemia at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. The first Ronald McDonald House opened in Philadelphia in 1974. Houston’s first Ronald McDonald House, funded in part by the Houston Oilers, opened at 1550 La Concha lane, near the Astrodome, in 1981. It had 21 bedrooms but was soon outgrown and replaced with a 50-bedroom House nearer the Texas Medical Center, near Holcomb Boulevard and Cambridge Street, in 1997. There is also a 20-room House inside Texas Children’s Hospital (2002) and a 14-room one inside Children’s Memorial Hermann (2007).

Tessmer, Carl F.

  • Person
  • 1912-2012

Carl Frederick Tessmer was born in North Braddock, Pennsylvania on May 28, 1912. He received his higher education at the University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. In 1933 he received his Bachelor of Science with highest honor. From 1933 to 1935, he studied medicine at the University of Pittsburgh Medical School and graduated in 1935 with a Doctor of Medicine degree. Dr. Tessmer completed a rotating internship at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, 1936. He served his residency in pathology at Presbyterian Hospital, Pittsburgh Pennsylvania, 1937. In 1937, he was granted a one year fellowship in pathology, Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. On August 21, 1939 he married Maxine Keller. Together they had two sons, Jon and David. Upon the completion of his fellowship Dr. Tessmer accepted a residency in pathology at Queens Hospital in Honolulu, Hawaii, 1939-1940.

Dr. Tessmer has had a twenty-three year association with the United States Armed Forces. He served in the United States Army Medical Corps, from 1940-1963 and retired with the rank of Colonel.

During the early 1940s he worked in Laboratory Services in hospitals in Hawaii and Saipan. In 1946, he traveled back to the mainland and the East coast. At the Army Institute of Pathology in Washington, D.C. he served as a pathologist. He also was part of Operation Crossroads with Task Force One on Bikini Island, 1946 and worked for the Naval Medical Research Institute, Bethesda, Maryland, 1947.

In 1948, Dr. Tessmer was appointed the first Director of the Atomic Bomb Casualty Commission. Dr. Tessmer's association with the program began even before its formal inception, he took part in a survey in 1946 which actually established much of the basis for the organization. This was with a distinguished pathologist Dr. Shields Warren, Professor of Pathology, Harvard Medical School, and this included a significant amount of clinical data on A-bomb survivors, photographs and blood smears. As matters subsequently developed, he came the director of the program in Japan under the auspices of the National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council and Atomic Energy Commission.

The Tessmer family returned to the United States in 1951. For the next three years, 1951-1954, Dr. Tessmer was the Commanding Officer for the Army Medical Research Laboratory in Fort Knox, Kentucky. After attending the Basic Radioisotopes Training Course at the Oak Ridge Institute of Nuclear Studies in 1954 he was appointed Chief of the Radiation Pathology Branch and Chief of the Basic Science Division for the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology, Washington, D.C. He served as Chief for six years, 1954-1960. Dr. Tessmer returned to Japan in 1960. For the next two years, 1960-1962, he served as the Chief to the Medical General Laboratory (406). Dr. Tessmer travelled to Houston, Texas after a year with the Walter Reed Army Institute of Research in Washington, D.C., 1962-1963.

Dr. Tessmer has been affliated with the University of Texas for over a decade, 1963-1974. He has served as Chief Pathologist and Professor of Pathology at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Hospital and Tumor Institute at Houston and Graduate Faculty member at the University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Science at Houston. While teaching at UTGSBS he sponsored four graduate students for the doctoral degree. From 1971-1973 he was the Program Coordinator for the University of Texas Medical School at Houston.

From 1973-1985, Dr. Tessmer was associated with the Olin E. Teague Veterans' Center, Temple, Texas in several capacities. His appointments were: Chief, Laboratory Service of the Olin E. Teague Veterans' Center, 1973-1985; Medical Director, Medical Technologist School, Southwest Texas University, 1976-1977; Medical Director, Medical Technician School, Temple Junior College, 1973-1985. Dr. Tessmer's last academic post was as Professor, Department of Human Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Texas A&M University College of Medicine, College Station, Texas, 1977-1985.

Dr. Tessmer was very active as a physician, pathologist, adminstrator and professor. He had medical licensure in the states of Pennsylvania, Minnesota, Hawaii, and Texas. He wrote forty-five publications. and was a member or fellow of eleven professional organizations. They were: American Society of Clinical Pathologists (Fellow), College of American Pathologists (Fellow), American Association of Pathologists, Radiation Research Society, Washington Society of Pathologists (President, 1959-1960), International Academy of Pathologists, Texas Medical Association, Texas Society of Pathologists, Texas Society for Electron Microscopy, Member, CAP House of Delegates, Texas, 1971-, Sigma Xi. His expertise has been in high demand. He served as a consultant to a number of institutes, committees and agencies. They were: Oak Ridge Institute of Nuclear Studies, Medical Division, 1956, the Walter Reed Army Institute of Research, Division of Biology and Medicine Advisory Panel, AEC (Californium 252 program), 1968, HEW, Food and Drug Admistration, Radiation Bio-Effects and Epidemiology Advisory Committee, 1972. Dr. Tessmer has had a number of appointments: Diplomate to the American Board of Pathology - Clinical and Anatomic Pathology, 1941, Subcommission on Radiation Pathology, I.C.P.R., 1967-1973, President of the Houston Society of Clinical Pathologists, 1970-1973, Member of the International Commission for Stage Grouping on Cancer and Presentation of Results (I.C.P.R.) (International Society of Radiology), 1973-.

Dr. Tessmer retired from academia in 1985. His sons - Jon F. is a physician in Brownwood, Texas and David P. Lives in Pittsburgh, PA. On October 13, 1992 he married Shizue Murata. They enjoyed living in the Texas countryside and traveling until Dr. Tessmer's death on February 2, 2012.

Levy, Moise Dreyfus

  • Person
  • 1889-1963

Moise Dreyfus Levy Sr, MD was born September 4, 1889 in Galveston, Texas and grew up in Natchitoches, Louisiana "where he attended school and later the Louisiana State Normal College" (Texas State Journal of Medicine volume 59 pages 248-49, March 1963). Levy graduated from the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston in 1913. He was awarded an internship at St. Louis City Hospital, St. Louis, Missouri (Texas State Journal of Medicine, volume 9).

Dr. Levy served two years in the United States Medical Corps during World War I. Afterwards, he returned to Texas where he became an assistant professor of medicine at his alma mater, the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston from 1915 until 1922. Levy served as a clinical professor at Baylor College of Medicine from 1943 to 1954 and was a professor emeritus from 1954 until his death in 1963 (TSJM 59:248-49, Mar., 1963).

Dr. Levy was the first president of the Texas Society of Pathology, which was founded in 1921 and continues to exist today. He was a founding member of the American Board of Internal Medicine and a fellow of the American College of Physicians. In 1957, Dr. Levy was elected president of the Harris County Medical Society. He was an active member of the medical community and was a member of many organizations including The American Heart Association, Houston Society of Internal Medicine, World Medical Association, American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygene.

Dr. Levy married Sarah Weill in 1917. They had four children: Moise D. Levy Jr. b.1918, Justine, Sara Jo and Melanie b. 1925. Dr. Levy's son Moise D. Levy, Jr. followed his father into medicine and became a successful rheumatologist.

Dr. Levy was active in Jewish affairs, he was twice elected president of the Houston Congregation for reformed Judiasm. He was active in the Rotary Club and in the Planned Parenthood Center of Houston. (TSJM 59:248-49, Mar., 1963).

Dr. Levy was the author of 33 published medical writings. Several of Dr. Levy's articles focused on the Houston / Galveston / Beaumont area, including a 1920 article on an epidemic of Dengue fever that had recently affected Galveston, TX and the surrounding area.

Dr. Moise Dreyfus Levy Sr. died at his home in Houston, TX on Jan. 30, 1963 at the age of 73.

Medical World News

  • Corporate body
  • 1960-1994

Medical World News (MWN) was a weekly publication that focused on medical developments, issues, and personalities. It was published for 35 years from 1960 to 1994. Self-described as "The Newsmagazine of Medicine,” Medical World News was the only news magazine devoted solely to medicine during its years of publication.

With Maxwell M. Geffen as the publisher, the first issue of Medical World News hit the newsstand on April 22, 1960. It began as a biweekly publication, but quickly increased its frequency to every week. From the beginning Medical World News aspired to be more than just another medical journal. As Geffen describes in his first Letter from the Publisher, “Medical World News proposes to offer a new, unique and clear channel of communication between the profession and the world around it, and to set new standards of accuracy and disclosure, covering every phase of medical journalism.” (MWN, 1960, 04/22, p.11) It was a unique and independent publication with the freedom to report all aspects on controversial issues in medicine. Its target audience was the physician, and the image-rich content was “designed to facilitate communications and easy reading.” (MWN, 1960, 04/22, p.11) Within the first 2 months, Medical World News covered “the Kefauver investigation, the rapid developments surrounding medical care for the aged, the debate of the ‘polio greats,’ the use of oral contraceptives and the exciting conversation of tumorous cells into normal cells by a Rockefeller Institute scientist.” (MWN, 1960, 06/03, p.9)

Morris Fishbein, previously editor of Journal of the American Medical Association, was the first editor for the Medical World News. He shaped the tone and concepts of the publication, emphasizing photography to differentiate Medical World News from other medical journals. He had a photo staff of six people, including Rick Giacalone as art director and Don Monaco and Martha Roberts as photo editors. The work of the staff and amount of images created, reviewed, and used for each story was a massive undertaking. Geffen describes, “[the picture staff] handles about 30,000 pictures every year. For a single story, they may scrutinize as many as 150 color slides or a dozen rolls of 36-frame black-and-white film--from which they will choose only four or five of the best for publication.” (MWN, 1967, 03/31, p.21) To capture all the footage, Medical World News hired freelance photographers for assignments all over the world. Many were members of the American Society of Magazine Photographers. Notable photographers who contributed to issues are George Tames, Art Shay, Joe Baker, James Pickerell, Ivan Massar, Jerry Miller, Al Geise, Mike Shea, Dennis Galloway, and Bob Phillips. Some photographers were associated with photo agencies, like Black Star and Magnum Photos.

Ownership of the Medical World News changed throughout its 35-year history. The following is a list of publishing companies, their locations, and years of ownership: Medical World News Publishing Company, New York, NY, 1960-1967 McGraw-Hill Publications, New York, NY, 1967-1981 Hospital Equities International (HEI) Publishing Company, Houston, TX, 1981-1985 Miller Freeman Inc., San Francisco, CA, 1985-1992 Axel Springer Publications, New York, NY, 1992-1994

By the 1990s Medical World News had become a monthly magazine. Nicholas K. Zittel was the last editor, and he wrote in his final Editor’s Note, “Over the years, MWN has fought valiantly to fulfill [its] promise. The ‘war on cancer,’ the artificial heart, Medicare, advances in neonatology, the halcyon days of drug discovery, political battles in Congress. With its comprehensive coverage of these and other critical issues MWN has fought tirelessly for and on behalf of the primary-care physician.” (MWN, February 1994, p.2) The last issue of the Medical World News was published in February 1994.

SOURCES: Medical World News, 1960, 1967, 1994; IC 077 Medical World News Photograph Collection

Memorial Hospital System

  • Corporate body
  • 1907-1997

Founded on September 1, 1907 as the Baptist Sanitarium, Memorial Hospital began as a two-story, wood-framed building at the end of the trolley line on Lamar and Smith. It had 17 beds and eight trained nurses on staff. It was the second general hospital established in Houston after St. Joseph Hospital which opened in 1887. It was also the second Baptist-supported hospital in the United States. The other was the Missouri Baptist Sanitarium in St. Louis.

In 1904 the only general hospital in Houston, St. Joseph Hospital, had 125 beds. The lack of hospital care available in Houston at the time became a discussion between two Baptist ministers, Dr. L. T. Mays (South Main Baptist Church) and Rev. D. R. Pevoto (Clark Avenue Baptist Church). They wanted to open a new hospital to serve the people of Houston regardless of race, religion, or wealth. It remained only an idea for years as discussions began to involve more people in the community, like Dr. J. L. Gross (pastor of First Baptist Church of Houston), Dr. George Truett, and George Hermann. Mrs. Charles Stewart, member of First Baptist Church of Houston gave $1,000 as a down payment to purchase the two-story Ida J. Rudisill Sanitarium for $18,000. The building had only been in use for two years since 1905. Mrs. Rudisill stayed on serving as director of nursing until about 1912. In 1910, the Baptist Convention of Texas was officially affiliated with the hospital. Pevoto, who managed the hospital until 1917, wrote, “ In those days a hospital was looked upon with apprehension as just a place where one went to die. We decided to change all that.”

Memorial Hospital expanded “piecemeal” one building or building addition at a time, adding more beds as they could. The original Rudisill Building stood for over 50 years. Becoming the nurses quarters and even moved across the street at one point. Below is a brief timeline for the early expansion of Memorial Hospital:

1911: A four-story fireproof building was built and increased capacity to 50 beds.
1915: The hospital built an eight-story building and doubled the capacity to 100 beds.
1924: “A” wing was added, increasing the capacity to 215 beds.
1942: Another addition increased capacity to almost 300 beds.
1945: H. R. Cullen gave $2 million to Lillie Jolly School of Nursing for the construction of the Professional Nurses’ Building.
Through its history, Memorial Hospital was a leader in health care in Houston, establishing many “firsts”:

First chartered school of nursing, 1909
First general hospital to offer psychiatric care, 1920s
First “fever box” in the US to resuscitate newborns, 1930s
First therapeutic tank to treat polio, 1930s
First hospital in Texas to have air-conditioned operating rooms and nurseries, 1930s
First hospital in Texas to receive penicillin shipment, 1943
First hospital to expand services into the Houston suburban areas and developed the hospital satellite system, 1960s
In the 1940s, Memorial opted not to move into the Texas Medical Center, remaining in downtown where it was closer to patients. With the same, consistent mission to provide the communities of Houston with excellent health care at a reasonable cost, Memorial developed the hospital satellite system. In the 1960s, it open three community hospitals in the Southwest (1962), Southeast (1963), and Northwest (1966). The new system allowed regional hospitals to serve the community around them while sharing services, resources, and costs with other hospitals in the Memorial Healthcare System. As W. Wilson Turner, administrator of Memorial Hospital 1958-1981 remarked, “Memorial was a pioneer of multiple health care units under one administrative management in the country.”

In 1971, in order to accept federal and community funds, Memorial Hospital broke ties with the Baptist General Convention of Texas. After 70 years, Memorial closed its downtown hospital in 1977 and moved to the Southwest location on the Southwest Freeway at Beechnut. Everything was moved patients, equipment, supplies, furnishings, and even the Bowles Chapel, which was disassembled and rebuilt piece by piece.

In 1997 Memorial Hospital merged with Hermann Hospital, becoming Memorial Hermann Healthcare System. Today, it is one of the largest non-for-profit healthcare system in Texas with roughly 19 hospitals and several specialty service points throughout the Greater Houston area.

Other notable individuals in the collection:

Lillian Irene Wilson Burnett Jolly (Lillie Jolly) was born near Louisville, Kentucky in 1877. She graduated from the School of Nursing at the Kentucky School of Medicine in 1907. Before attending school she worked in mental health institutions. In 1908, she moved to Houston to be a surgeon’s assistant and director of nurses at the Baptist Sanitarium (later Memorial Hospital). Lillie Jolly was director of the Hospital Training School for Nurses for over 30 years, 1908-1947. In 1945 the school was renamed in her honor, the Lillie Jolly School of Nursing. From 1917 to 1920, she served as superintendent, leading the hospital for two years before re-focusing her attention to the nurses and the nursing school. Robert Jolly became superintendent and served in the position from 1920-1945. Robert and Lillie Jolly were married at the stroke of midnight on New Year’s Day 1924. She retired in 1947. Lillie Jolly died in 1953.

Robert Jolly was born in Cave City, Kentucky in 1885. He was a Baptist minister. He became the Business Manager for the Baptist Sanitarium in 1919. In 1920 he took over as superintendent for the hospital, a position he held until his retirement in 1945. As superintendent, Jolly oversaw the development and growth of the hospital for 24 years. Jolly was a great fundraiser and worked to make Memorial Hospital one of the leaders in health care. In 1922, the American College of Surgeons awarded Memorial its hospital certification. Jolly also represented the hospital in national organizations, taking leadership positions in the Texas Hospital Association, American Protestant Hospital Association, American Hospital Association, and American College of Hospital Administrators. Robert Jolly died in 1952.

Lela Smith Hickey (Mrs. H. H.) graduated from the Lillie Jolly School of Nursing in 1933. She donated a collection of about 31 photographs that depict the nurses, nursing students, physicians, and facilities of Memorial Hospital in 1932, including the operating room supervisor “Birdie” Byrd. According to a note found in the collection, she was a distant cousin of D. R. Pevoto, founder of Memorial Hospital, and worked “CU” [perhaps, Intensive Care Unit] until early 1960s. Lela Smith Hickey died May 7, 1970.

Col. J. W. Neal and wife, Elizabeth Mitchell Neal, founders of the Cheek-Neal Coffee Co. that made Maxell House famous, were staunch Baptists who supported Memorial Hospital. He became a trustee in the 1920s, and they created two trust funds at the hospital in memory of their children Margaret Ophelia Neal for sick and disabled children and James Robert Neal for X-ray treatment of cancer. In 1944 Mrs. Neal gave Memorial Hospital the block used for their Nurses’ Professional Building in Downtown Houston. Hugh Roy Cullen provided the funds to construct the building, donating $2 million. The building was completed in 1948.

SOURCES:

“History of Memorial Hospital Much Like city’s dynamic story” by Betty Ewing. Houston Chronicle, 1982, 11/27. Reference Files; Memorial Hospital System [Baptist Sanatorium], (Houston, Texas); John P. McGovern Historical Collections and Research Center, Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library
“Memorial Hospital Facility to Celebrate Its 75th Anniversary at banquet Tonight” by Mary Jane Schier. Houston Post, 1982, 11/29. Reference Files; Memorial Hospital System [Baptist Sanatorium], (Houston, Texas); John P. McGovern Historical Collections and Research Center, Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library
News clipping, Box 9, Folder 22, “Mrs. Lillie Jolly has Always Liked to Help People” by Bess Whitehead Scott, [unknown newspaper], Houston, TX. 1938, 01/09. Memorial Hospital records; IC 022; John P. McGovern Historical Collections and Research Center, Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library
“Memorial’s 50th Year Observed” by George DeMenil. Houston Post, 1957, 08/25. Reference Files; Memorial Hospital System [Baptist Sanatorium], (Houston, Texas); John P. McGovern Historical Collections and Research Center, Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library
Note and catalog card for P-176 in Lela Smith Hickey Collection. Memorial Hospital Photograph Collection; IC 103; John P. McGovern Historical Collections and Research Center, Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library
Francis, Ted and Carole McFarland. 1982. The Memorial Hospital System: The First Seventy-Five Years. Special Commemorative Edition. Houston: Larksdale Press.
Memorial Hermann website, About us, http://www.memorialhermann.org/about-us/, Accessed: 10/12/2018
Handbook of Texas Online, Diana J. Kleiner, “MEMORIAL HEALTHCARE SYSTEM,” accessed September 19, 2018, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/sbm07.

Blattner, Russell J.

  • Person
  • 1908-2002

Russell John Blattner was born July 3, 1908, in St. Louis, Missouri and attended Washington University there. He received his Bachelor of Arts degree in 1929, and his Doctor of Medicine degree in 1933. He took his hospital training with an internship at Barnes Hospital in St. Louis, and his residency at St. Louis Children's Hospital, and then at Princess Elizabeth of York Hospital for Children in London, England. He returned to St. Louis and in 1937, began his teaching career as an Instructor in the Department of Pediatrics in the Washington University School of Medicine. In 1940 he was promoted to the rank of Assistant Professor in his department. Three years later, in 1945, he advanced to the rank of Associate Professor.

His career in Houston began in 1947 when he was given the position of Professor of Pediatrics and Chairman of the Department of Pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine. He was actively involved with the creation of the Texas Children's Hospital, beginning in 1948 when with architects he toured hospitals in Canada, Mexico and the United States in search of ideas for the soon-to-be-built Houston institution. His efforts came to fruition in 1954, when the new pediatric hospital opened its doors. Dr. Blattner worked continually to insure the success and development of Texas Children's Hospital as a sub-specialty hospital care hospital for children and as a teaching and research institution, and to promote excellent pediatric care throughout the Texas Medical Center, as well as in Harris County by developing an affiliation between Baylor and the city and county health departments. He helped to establish the Blue Bird Clinic at The Methodist Hospital, and was instrumental in securing the initial funding for the South Western Poliomyelitis Center which would later become the Texas Institute for Rehabilitation and Research.

Dr. Blattner had a long and distinguished career for which he often received recognition from his colleagues within the medical profession. In 1956 the Washington University School of Medicine Alumni awarded him their Alumni Citation for Outstanding Achievements and Service He was also designated Distinguished Service Professor at Baylor in 1968. In 1971 he was given the newly established J.S. Abercrombie Chair in the department of Pediatrics at Baylor. He was honored again in 1972 and in 1974, when he received the Outstanding Faculty Award from the Baylor College of Medicine Alumni Association and the American Medical Association's Abraham Jacobi Award. He became Emeritus Chief of Pediatrics at Hermann Hospital. He retired in 1977, but continued his affiliation with the Texas Medical Center by acting as a consultant to hospital and college, and as Distinguished Service Professor of Pediatrics at Baylor. In his retirement years he became affiliated with the Well Baby Clinics for the City of Houston Health Department, where he continued his care for the pediatric subject and his academic interests by training Baylor students assigned to the clinics.

Dr. Blattner served his profession not only as an administrator and teacher but as a research scientist as well. He made major contributions in the field of infectious disease, most notably in the study of encephalitis. He was, moreover, noted for his concern and compassion because he ''combined specialization with old-time empathy and concern with each patient (WATCH, Spring 1977). He died December 6, 2002, in Gaithersburg, Maryland.

Ruiz, Richard S.

  • Person
  • 1932-2021

"Richard S. Ruiz, MD, was born in Houston on July 12, 1932. He established the Hermann Eye Center in 1977. A native Houstonian, Ruiz attended Texas A&M and graduated with an M.D. degree from the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston in 1957. During his internship at Hermann Hospital, Ruiz decided to specialize in ophthalmology. He was accepted at the Kresge Eye Institute in Detroit for a three year residency to train in ophthalmology, and then received a fellowship to the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary of the Harvard Medical School where he trained under Charles L. Schepens, MD, who is known as the “father” of modern retinal surgery. In July 1962, Ruiz returned home and opened his ophthalmology practice in the Hermann Professional Building. He worked diligently to build his practice and during the next ten years, founded Houston Eye Associates, brought highly trained subspecialists into the partnership, and was appointed Chief of Ophthalmology at Hermann Hospital. Along with practicing medicine, Ruiz worked to improve the hospital’s training program for new eye doctors.

In 1969, the University of Texas formally announced that it would establish a medical school in the Texas Medical Center, with Hermann Hospital as its primary teaching hospital. When details emerged about plans for Hermann’s new hospital building, a facility that would be interconnected to the Medical School and the hospital’s Robertson Pavilion, Ruiz began to develop an idea to utilize space in the new building to create a world class eye center. His plan would bring together his private ophthalmology practice, Hermann Hospital eye patients, and the teaching and research of the Department of Ophthalmology at the medical school into one endeavor. Ruiz’s appointment as Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology in the new medical school enabled him to take the final steps to create a comprehensive eye center. In time, the Hermann Eye Center became known for excellence in patient care, education, and research in ophthalmology.

Ruiz served as Chief of Ophthalmology at Hermann Hospital (later Memorial Hermann – TMC) from 1967 until 2009. He was the founding director of the Hermann Eye Center and the Hermann Eye Fund, and chair of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Science at the University of Texas Medical School – Houston for the first thirty-seven years of its history." (1)

Dr. Ruiz died September 22nd, 2021.


  1. This biographical note is a direct quote from the book cover of: Ruiz, Richard S. and William H. Kellar. Ophthalmology at Hermann Hospital and the University of Texas, Houston: A Personal Perspective. N. p. 2010.

Maurer, Joseph I.

  • Person

Joseph I. Maurer was born in Galveston, Texas. Growing up he assisted his father, Joseph M. Maurer, who worked as a photographer in Galveston. The younger Maurer then served as a photographic technician with the US Navy during World War II. Upon his return to Texas, he worked for Southwest Camera and began assembling equipment to open his own studio. He opened his commercial photography studio in 1946, and it operated until 1978. Much of Maurer's work involved photographing portraits, weddings, graduations, and other events. He served as President of the Houston Professional Photographers Guild in 1966.

In the 1950s Maurer photographed portraits of Houston physicians. These portraits were used in the Harris County Medical Society Pictorial Directory.

Source: Houston Public Library, HMRC, Joseph Maurer Photographs

Meynier, Maurice J., Jr.

  • Person
  • 1904-1997

Maurice J. Meynier, Jr., was born in New Orleans, Louisiana, Oct. 16, 1904. His family moved to Houston when he was twelve, and following his graduation from Houston High School in 1920, he enrolled in what was then the Rice Institute, from which he received his Bachelor of Arts degree in 1927. He attended medical school at the University of Texas at Galveston, completing a senior externship at St. Mary's Hospital there and receiving his Doctor of Medicine degree In 1931. Dr. Meynier then served a two-year internship/residency at the Graduate Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, continuing his training as a resident in gynecology-obstetrics at Kings County Hospital in Brooklyn, New York, from 1933 to 1934. Returning to Houston, he established a practice in obstetrics and gynecology, leaving to serve in the Army Air Force Medical Corps from December 1942 until February 1946. He resumed his practice in Houston at that time, continuing until his retirement in 1977.

Dr. Meynier's concern with community issues was evident throughout his career. In the late 1930's, he advocated reform of the ambulance system in Houston. In December 1940, while serving as chairman of the Health Council of the Community Chest's Council of Social Agencies, he participated in Houston's first annual Public Health Institute. He stressed the need for a non-politically controlled planning committee for coordinating public health programs, including pre-natal and venereal disease clinics. He was later active in a campaign to institute the city manager form of government which he felt would permit needed expansion of the city health department's services.

In the mid-1950's, controversy arose over the proposed location of additional hospital facilities for the indigent. Dr. Meynier, as a member of the Hospital Committee of the Harris County Medical Society, recommended adding beds to the existing facilities at Jefferson Davis Hospital, rather than building a new hospital in the Medical Center. The opposing plan was adopted, however, resulting in the construction of Ben Taub Hospital.

Dr. Meynier was strongly opposed to liberalization of state laws governing abortion. He served from 1968 to 1970 on the Texas Medical Association's Committee on Abortion, during which time he vigorously opposed endorsement by the Association of such liberalization. He continued his efforts through the Houston Right-to-Life group, in which he served as a vice-president.

Dr. Meynier served as clinical associate professor in obstetrics and gynecology at Baylor College of Medicine and the University of Texas in Houston. His research and publishing included work in intrathecal injection of alcohol for intractable pain of the pelvis; cervicitis and infertility; vitamin A deficiency in fetal deformity; use of antibiotics in patients with poor obstetrical histories; and simple removal of cerclage suture for incompetent cervix. His patents and original designs included those for an intra-vaginal tampon, a breast pump, vaginal pessary, cervical biopsy and coning instrument, and life preserver.

Dr. Meynier's professional associations are numerous. He served as president respectively of the Texas Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists in I960, the Houston Gynecological and Obstetrical Society in 1964, and the Harris County Medical Society in 1969. He was a Diplomate the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology, a Fellow In the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, and a Fellow In the American College of Surgeons. He served as chief of the obstetrics service and as president of the medical staff at St. Joseph's Hospital and was a consultant on the staffs of Methodist and Hermann Hospitals.

Dr. Meynier died March 24, 1997. His obituary was in the Houston Chronicle Mar. 26, 1997, p. 28A.

Wolf, Edward Trowbridge

  • Person
  • 1900-1987

Edward Trowbridge Wolf, MD was born May 2, 1900 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He received his Bachelor of Science in Pre—Med from Pennsylvania State College and in 1948 was honored with a 25 year Service Award from the Phi Delta Epsilon Medical Fraternity there. He was a June 1933 graduate of Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia, PA. Dr. Wolf served his internship at the Frankford Hospital in Philadelphia from 1933 to 1934 and at the William Beaumont General Hospital while in the US Army. Upon coming to Houston, he established his 46-year Internal Medicine practice at 4411 Fannin.

During WWII, Dr. Wolf was called up for active duty by the US. Army during which time he served at the rank of Major (MAJ), beginning January 1941, until his promotion to Lieutenant Colonel (LTC) in February 1943. In addition to stateside assignments, he was a veteran of two years of service with the medical corps in Australia and in the jungles of New Guinea. Following his service in Australia, he returned to inactive military status separating from the service in August 1945 to resume his Houston practice. LTC Wolf received an Honorable Discharge from the Army in May of 1951.

Dr. Wolf was appointed to the Baylor University College of Medicine Clinical Faculty as Assistant/Associate Professor of Medicine in Sept. 1943 and continuously held the position through June 1975. While a member of the medical staff at the Methodist Hospital in Houston, Dr. Wolf served as the Chairman of the Metabolic, Endocrine, Joint Disease Medical Care Appraisal Committee and Chairman of the Publications Committee. He was the first editor of News Notes published for the Methodist Hospital medical staff, a post he held for 5 years. Dr. Wolf was chairman of the first Blood Bank Committee of the Harris County Medical Society, and is perhaps most widely known as editor, for 10 years, of the Medical Record and Annals.

As a 45-year member of the Harris County Medical Society he served on the Press Committee. Dr. Wolf was Historian of Houston Society of Internal Medicine and in 1951, President of the Postgraduate Medical Assembly of South Texas. He was a member of the Texas Medical Association for 50 years, serving in 1968, as Chairman of the Technical Exhibits Sub-Committee. An Associate of the American College of Physicians, Dr. Wolf also held memberships in the American Medical Association, American Society of Internal Medicine and the NIH Alumni Association. He served as Consulting Internist for the Texas State Highway Patrol, the Southern Pacific Railroad (1961-1965), and was Consulting Internist and a member of the Board of both Planned Parenthood and the Visiting Nurses Association.

In addition to his professional service, Dr. Wolf contributed to many local organizations including the Deptartment of Medicine Library Fund of the Baylor College of Medicine, the Dept. of Medicine Library Fund of the Methodist Hospital, the Ellard Yow Memorial Library at Methodist Hospital, and The Foundation for the Museum of Medical Science. Edward Trowbridge Wolf, MD passed away July 15 1987.

Baird, Valliant Clinton

  • Person
  • 1904-1986

Valliant C. Baird MD, contributed to the organization of industrial health programs during their nascent years.

Dr. Baird was born September 28, 1904 in Pancake/Gatesville TX. He received his BS. in Pre—Med from Tulane University in 1925 having been a member of the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society and Theta Kappa Psi Medical Fraternity. He was a 1928 graduate of Tulane in New Orleans, Louisiana. Dr. Baird served his internship and residency at the Mercy and Charity Hospitals in New Orleans from 1933 to 1934 He then spent some time as an oilfield physician.

Upon coming to Houston, he established his career in Industrial Medicine and as an Oilfield physician for 39 years with Humble Oil and Refining Company (currently known as Exxon Mobil). His roles include assistant chief physician in 1935 and chief physician in 1944. Dr. Baird also served as Professor of Occupational Medicine at the University Of Texas School Of Public Health in Houston and as Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine Clinical Associate Professor of Industrial Medicine in the Department of Virology and Epidemiology at Baylor School of Medicine in Houston. Dr. Baird was also President of Medical Research Foundation of Texas in 1960-61.

Papers include Dr. Baird’s resume up until 1963, the biography proof of what was published in who’s who in America, 37th Edition., newspaper clippings, medical journal articles, meeting and conference presentation notes and summaries, and pamphlets; all papers are related to either or both 1) honors and awards in the Oil and Gas Industry in particular as Chief Physician for Humble Oil and Refining Company (currently known as Exxon Mobile); and 2) industrial medicine specific to promoting physical and mental health well-being for employees and their families, which is often referred to as the Hygiene Program; the program discusses the importance of both personal and environmental hygiene.

Dr. Baird’s publications discuss the following topics: Chemical Hazards – Industry, Farm, and Home, Suicide, Paget’s disease, Coronary Artery Disease, Preventive Medicine correlates to specific age groups, plan of organization of an industrial health program, advocated pre-employment examinations, carotid sinus syndrome.

Stork, Walter J.

  • Person
  • 1900-1994

Walter Jacob Stork, MD, was born in Round Top, Texas in October 27, 1900. He was educated at University of Texas, receiving his M.D. in 1931. Dr. Stork served with the U.S. Army Medical Corps, (1943-1946), served as a physician and taught at Baylor University College of Medicine Department of Radiology (1973-1976). Dr. Stork’s research and publications feature the following topics: “Radiology and on Tuberculosis treatment and prevention and control. He also worked on development of an antibiotic to treat tuberculosis. Further information and a bibliography of Dr. Stork’s papers are available in the first folder of this collection.

Dr. Stork died on September 8, 1994, in Houston.

Skjonsby, Harold S.

  • Person
  • 1937-2017

Harold S. Skjonsby, DDS, (July 6, 1937 - July 2017) served as a faculty member at the University of Texas Dental Branch at Houston in the 1960s to the 1980s. He was involved in various faculty committees, including the Evaluation Committee, Developmental Biology Committee, Cell and Tissue Biology Committee, Human Biology Committee, and the Teaching Committee. Skjonsby also served as an academic advisor to dentistry students.

Greer, Alvis

  • Person
  • 1885-1975

Alvis Eugene Greer was born May 6, 1885, in Gallatin, Illinois. He earned his MD from Northwestern University in 1908 and received an Alpha Omega Alpha key at graduation. He spent two years at Harvard Postgraduate Medical School and served in the Army Medical Corps in World War I. Geer specialized in internal medicine and diseases of the chest. Taught at Baylor College of Medicine and was on staff at the Houston Tuberculosis Hospital, Memorial Hospital, and Jefferson Davis Hospital. He was a member of the American College of Chest Physicians, serving on its board of examiners from 1946 to 1952 and president from 1953 to 1954. He died in Houston on August 8, 1975, and is buried at Forest Park Cemetery.

Huggins, Russell A.

  • Person
  • 1910-2001

Russell Arno Huggins was born 1910 June 25 in Cleveland, Ohio. Huggins graduated from Aurora College in Illinois and earned his Ph.D. in biology from the Case School of Applied Science, now Case Western Reserve University, in the later 1930s. He taught at the University of South Dakota Medical School from 1943 to 1945 and the University of Georgia College of Medicine in Augusta from 1945 to 1947. He joined the Baylor College of Medicine faculty in the department of pharmacology in 1947, then moved to physiology in 1960 and pediatrics in 1980. He contributed to the development of the departments of physiology at the University of San Juan, Puerto Rico, and Mahidol University in Bangkok, Thailand. Dr. Huggins was noted for his work in cardiovascular physiology and pharmacology, which contributed to the development of techniques for heart catheterization. He was a founding staff member of the USDA-Baylor Children’s Nutritional Research Center.
Dr. Huggins was married to Professor Sara Elizabeth Huggins, the University of Houston’s first female chair of the biology department. He died August 1, 2001, in Ithaca, New York, and is buried in Memorial Oaks Cemetery in Houston.

Haas, Felix

  • Person
  • 1917-

Dr. Felix Levere Haas was born on October 26, 1917 in Alvin, Texas, the oldest son of three children. The Alvin native entered the University of Texas at Austin in 1939. His studies were interrupted with the onset of World War II. Haas en listed in the United States Army Air Corps. He received aviation training from January 5, 1942 - September 5, 1942. As a navigator he led numerous combat missions with the 13th Air Force over the South Pacific. He served until February 22, 1946 and was promoted to the rank of Captain.
In June of 1947, Haas received his Bachelor of Arts degree in Genetics and Bacteriology from U.T. He was awarded the Rosalie B. Hite Predoctoral Fellowship and continued to study for his Masters of Arts. Drs. Wilson S. Stone and Orville Wyss were pleased to have Haas as their research fellow. While experimenting he made an important discovery in the genetics of micro-organisms. He found that irradiation of the growth medium resulted in genetic mutations in bacteria when they were grown in it. In short, a biochemical basis must be present to produce mutations.
Felix Haas continued his research earning his M.A. in August of 1948. That same year he met Cathryn E. Swausch, Dr. Wyss' laboratory assistant. They worked closely together for the next two years and were married on January 21, 1950. By June, Dr. Haas received his doctorate in Biochemistry and Biology.
The Haas couple left the University of Texas at Austin for the California Institute of Technology, where Dr. Haas accepted a one year (1950-1951) postdoctoral fellowship in Genetics from the Eli Lilly Company. At the Institute he worked with Drs. George Beadle and Herschell Mitchell. The following year he was awarded a USPHS Postdoctoral Fellowship at the California Institute of Technology. With the outbreak of the Korean War Dr. Haas was recalled to active military duty. As a result he had to decline the fellowship.
Upon his return to Texas, Dr. Wilson Stone arranged for him an indefinite delay in the re-activation orders. He also made it possible for Dr. Haas to work as a research scientist for the Atomic Energy Commission. He conducted his research on the campus of the University of Texas at Austin and the Old Baker Estate in Houston (M.D. Anderson Hospital). Professor Stone and Dr. Haas worked closely until March of 1953.
The Bristol Laboratories Inc. of Syracuse, New York offered him the position of Senior Microbiologist. In his three years (1953-1956) with Bristol Laboratories he directed research on: improving by genetic mutations mold strains (Penicillium) used for the commercial production of penicillin; developing the Actinomycete strains which led to the production of tetracycline by fermentation (this production method and strain are currently responsible for the largest part of the world's supply of tetracycline). Dr. Haas also taught graduate students at the University of Syracuse. As an Associate Professor of Genetics he taught Genetics and Radiation Biology.
Dr. and Mrs. Haas and their three young sons left Syracuse, New York in May of 1956 and returned to Houston. The M.D. Anderson Hospital and Tumor Institute appointed him head of the Department of Biology (1956-1975). His responsibilities included recruitment of faculty, formulating research and teaching policies, long-range planning and investigating funding sources.
From 1973 to 1975 Dr. Haas also served as Assistant to the Director of Research at M.D. Anderson Hospital.
Dr. Haas resigned as head of the Department of Biology in 1975 to assume the full duties of coordinating the research program of the hospital. He supervised and directed the Office of Research and served as advisor to the director and president on all matters concerning research at M.D. Anderson Hospital. In 1979 he accepted the position of staff assistant to the president.
On approval of the Board of Regents, the request for establishment of the UT GSBS was presented to the Texas Legislature, and was passed in Spring 1963. Governor John Connally signed the bill into law on June 10, 1963. By action of the Board of Regents the authorized school was established on September 28,1963.
Dr. Haas was a key figure in the founding of UT GSBS at Houston. He served as an important member of many special and standing GSBS Committees.
Between UT SCC, M.D. Anderson Hospital and Tumor Institute and UT GSBS at Houston Dr. Haas was an active member of nearly twenty committees. They include: Education; Curriculum; Committee on Graduate Studies; Dean's Administrative Committee; Faculty Classification Committee. Virtually, every year since 1949, Dr. Haas has been a principal participant in national and international symposia and conferences. He has written forty three articles and nineteen abstracts. Dr. Haas lists memberships in the following professional and scientific societies: American Association for the Advancement of Science, American Society of Microbiology, Genetics Society of America, American Academy of Microbiology, American Institute of Biological Sciences, Radiation Research Society, American Association for Cancer Research, American Genetic Association. He has been honored by Phi Theta Kappa, Sigma Xi, listed in Who's Who in the South and Southwest and American Men of Science.
Dr. Felix L. Haas' leadership, knowledge and skill have touched and enriched the lives of many. His dedication was essential to the success of established and new programs organized by UT SCC, M.D. Anderson Hospital and Tumor Institute and UT GSBS at Houston. Dr. Haas retired in 1981 to enjoy his love of art, music, and spend time with his wife, Cathryn and their three sons, Michael, Stephen and Larry.

Note: Felix Haas in the Library of Congress does not appear to be this Felix Haas.

Pruessner, Harold

  • Person
  • 1925-2007

Harold Trebus Pruessner was born February 19, 1925, in San Antonio. He attended Texas A&M University and earned an MD from the University of Texas Medical Branch in 1948. He served in the Navy during the Korean war and then practiced in Corpus Christi for more than twenty years. He joined the University of Texas Medical School in Houston in 1972 as the second member of its department of family practice. Dr. Pruessner was an early advocate of preventive medicine. He retired in 1993 and died December 21, 2007 at his ranch in Caldwell.

Barnes, Frank L.

  • Person
  • 1872-1943

Frank Lister Barnes was born September 26, 1872 in Trinity, Texas, and died October 2, 1943, in Houston. Barnes graduated from Hill’s College in Waco and earned his MD from the College of Physicians and Surgeons in Baltimore, Maryland (this merged at some point with the University of Maryland School of Medicine) in 1896 and interned at Mercy Hospital. His middle name is sometimes reported to be “Lester”. He was a founding member of the Texas Surgical Society and American Board of Surgeons. He served in the Army, stationed at Galveston, during the Spanish-American War. Dr. Barnes built a hospital in Trinity in 1908 but moved to Houston in 1915. He is the father of Dr. Payton Barnes of Houston. Dr. Barnes is buried at Cedar Grove Cemetery in Trinity.
Note: Robert Howard Hill’s (1856-1919) Hill’s Business College operated in Waco from 1881 to about 1920. There is some information about it online (there were also multiple unrelated Hill’s Business Colleges operating in different states around the same time).

Cooper, Alan B.

  • Person
  • 1928-2002

Alan Bruce Cooper was born in New York, New York on August 19, 1928. He earned a BS in 1949 and a Master’s in immunogenetics in 1951 from Wesleyan University, followed by an MD in 1955 from New York Medical School. After serving as chief of pathology at Harvard University, he joined the Air Force. After his discharge as a major, he taught at Baylor College of Medicine and New Orleans Psychoanalytic Institute in psychiatry and psychoanalysis. He was also in private practice in Houston between 1968 and 1985. In 1986, Dr. Cooper was appointed medical director of the University of Texas Adult Ambulatory Psychiatric Services and was later a professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. He died in Houston on December 29, 2002, of lung cancer.

Andrews, Billy

  • Person
  • 1956-

ertified Medical Illustrator William M. Andrews was born July 4, 1956, in Chicago, Illinois, into an Air Force family, and grew up in California, Texas, Oklahoma, and Hawaii. He earned a Bachelor’s in art from the University of Texas at Austin in 1978 and a Master’s in Biomedical Communications from the University of Texas Health Science Center at Dallas in 1980. He began his career in Tucson as a medical illustrator for the University of Arizona Health Science Center. In 1981, he moved to Houston, where he has served several institutions within the Texas Medical Center, including the Texas Heart Institute and UT MD Anderson Cancer Center. He received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Association of Medical Illustrators in 2018. At this time (2020) he has been with the Augusta University Medical College of Georgia since 1999 and is pursuing a Ph.D. in Health Promotion, Education, and Behavior through the University of South Carolina, Columbia.

Harris County Academy of General Practice

  • Corporate body
  • 1948-

The Harris County Association of General Practice is a component branch of the American Academy of General Practice and the Texas Chapter of the American Academy of General Practice. Through the diligent efforts of Dr. Lyman C. Blair and others a charter was issued on July 23rd, 1948, thereby establishing the Harris County Chapter.

On September 1st, 1948 the Harris County Association of General Practice held its first meeting in the Medical Arts Building. Twenty three physicians participated in the presentation and acceptance of the chapter's first constitution and by-laws. Officers were elected and monthly meetings were scheduled at this time. Dr. Blair served as the chapter's first president and Dr. M. E. Petway was elected the first Secretary.

Over the years meetings were held in a number of locations to encourage general practitioners to join and gather support. Some of the locations were the Medical Arts Building, the Baylor College of Medicine, the San Jacinto Inn, various restaurants and hotel dining rooms, M.D. Anderson Hospital and the Doctors' Club. Eventually, dinner meetings were established at the Doctors' Club, an annual meeting was held at the M.D. Anderson Hospital and the February meetings were held in Baytown.

Following the lead of its parent organization, the Association lent support to local general practitioners, encouraged young physicians to enter the field, and sponsored a number of postgraduate and scientific programs conducted by various nationally recognized specialists. The Harris County Association of General Practice took great pride in its efforts to improve the image of general practice and the fine postgraduate programs it conducted.

The Harris County Medical Archive is proud to house this vital collection. The collection successfully documents the history of a local medical association and to some extent the attitudes with the field of general practice.

The collection is open for research. Those interested in using the collection whould contact the Archivist or Special Collections Librarian.

Committees of the Harris County Academy of General Practice Credentials Hospital Liaision Public and Profession Relations Education and Program Membership By-Laws Publications Special Resolutions and Memorial Grievance Ethics and Jurisprudence Entertainment Student Orientation Budget Roster Historical

Medical Arts Publishing Foundation

  • Corporate body

Medical Arts Publishing Foundation was a brainchild of Dr. R. Lee Clark, president of M.D. Anderson Cancer Research Center (1946-1978). Through collaboration between Dr. Clark and Russell W. Cumley, the publishing company developed the Cancer Bulletin in 1948 as a fun, visual and entertaining medical journals to draw attention to the history of cancer research. Their initial vision was to create a “highly readable pictorial magazine for the general practitioner” that would increase early diagnosis of cancer. Other publications, Heart Bulletin in 1952 and Psychiatric Bulletin in 1951, followed that highlighted the history and studies in cardiology and psychiatry. Each publication had its own distinct style and motif. Joe Schwarting was the Art Director and principle artist for all publications. The group of artists were based international and locally in Houston. Other artists include Eva Marie Schubart, Imelda Schubart, Peter Spier, Joe Spire, George Shackelford, Mary Shackelford, and Joseph Doeve. Medical Arts Publishing Foundation also published the regional journal, Medical Record and Annuals, with Joe Schwarting creating the cover art.

Women's Auxiliary to Texas Children's Hospital

  • Corporate body
  • 1954-

Known for their red vests, the Women’s Auxiliary to Texas Children’s Hospital (WATCH) is a volunteer service organization that provides supplemental services for patients, families, and staff of Texas Children’s Hospital in Houston, TX. The organization was established in 1954 when Texas Children’s Hospital opened in the Texas Medical Center. From the beginning, WATCH has provided such services as, manning information kiosks, managing the coffee shop and toy shop, escorting patients and families through the hospital, conducting tours of visitors, and acting as hosts at medical symposia. They also provided clerical work and translation services. The organization began with 300 volunteers in 1954, and it has grown to over a thousand, providing tens of thousands of volunteer hours each year to all Texas Children’s Hospital locations in the Houston area. The Auxiliary publishes a magazine entitled WATCH that showcases volunteers, service programs, developments in the hospital, and fundraising events.

WATCH also has provided significant fundraising for the hospital through the years. The organization is one of the top ten donors to the Texas Children’s Hospital. The annual Silver Tea is one of the many fundraising projects organized by WATCH. Other projects have included vending machines, Christmas cards, toy shop sales, and an annual bazaar.

Junior Auxiliary to Texas Children’s Hospital is a program that offers junior volunteers between the ages of 15-18 the opportunity to interact with patients or perform administrative duties. The Junior Auxiliary or Junior Council was established in the late-1960s.

Texas Children’s Hospital opened on February 2, 1954 within the Texas Medical Center in Houston, TX. It is the primary pediatric training site for Baylor College of Medicine, which has one of the largest pediatric residency program in the United States. Members of the Houston Pediatric Society were first to recognize the urgent need for a children’s hospital in the area and began a series of informal planning sessions in August 1947. As a result, the Texas Children’s Foundation was organized and chartered expressly to develop plans for the hospital and secure community support for the project. Members of the Junior League of Houston, who sponsored a prenatal and children’s health clinic in the city since 1927, have been instrumental in the history and development of the hospital from the beginning. After the 1993 expansion, Texas Children's Hospital became the largest pediatric medical facility in the country.

SOURCES:

“Women’s Auxiliary to Texas Children’s Hospital”, 20th Anniversary Texas Children’s Hospital, The Junior League of Houston and The Women’s Auxiliary to Texas Children’s Hospital commemorate the 20th Anniversary of Texas Children’s Hospital, 1974

“Foundation and History of Texas Children’s Hospital”, 20th Anniversary Texas Children’s Hospital, The Junior League of Houston and The Women’s Auxiliary to Texas Children’s Hospital commemorate the 20th Anniversary of Texas Children’s Hospital, 1974

“Six Decades of Making a Difference”, Aspire, Texas Children’s Hospital blog, 2016, http://aspire.texaschildrens.org/donor/2016/1469/ [accessed 2/13/2018]

Handbook of Texas Online, "Texas Children's Hospital," accessed January 29, 2018, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/sbt06.

American Medical Informatics Association Nursing Informatics History Project

  • Corporate body
  • 2008 -

The American Medical Informatics Association Nursing Informatics History Project is an offshoot of the nursing informatics archive started at the National Library of Medicine by Dr. Virginia Saba in 1997. The project launched in 2008 as an endeavor to document what nursing informatics means, its history and future, and people and events that shaped the discipline. There are video interviews of important figures in nursing informatics that can be viewed through the AMIA website. There is also a list of relevant articles on the AMIA website but the articles are noted to be available at the Texas Medical Center Library. The American Nursing Association recognized nursing informatics as a new specialty in 1991.

Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center

  • Corporate body
  • 1975-

The Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center opened January 1, 1975 and, in association with the Blood Center of East Texas and the Blood Center of Brazos Valley, serves 26 counties and over 170 institutions in the Texas Gulf Coast region, including the Texas Medical Center in Houston.

Houston Alliance for the Mentally Ill/NAMI Houston

  • Corporate body
  • 1988-

Education and advocacy group Harris County Alliance for the Mentally Ill was established in 1988 and operated later as NAMI Metropolitan Houston. It acquired full National Alliance on Mental Illness affiliate status in 2005. It is split into subchapters within the region. NAMI Metropolitan Houston and NAMI West Houston merged on January 1, 2013, to form NAMI Greater Houston.

Friends of the Texas Medical Center Library

  • Corporate body
  • 1960-

The Friends were incorporated in 1960 to “assist in the development, improvement, and expansion of facilities, services, and functions of the Texas Medical Center Library, and to support its administration. It shall be the purpose of the organization to secure gifts and bequests and provide funds for books, journals, rare books and manuscripts, and whenever possible for library equipment, lectureships, and scholarships, and for any other purpose which would be beneficial to the” Library. The collection was donated by James Greenwood III, who is apparently the son of James Greenwood, Jr., MD, who has a small collection in the TMC Library archives.

Texas Nurses Association District 9

  • Corporate body
  • 1935-

District 9 of the Texas Nurses' Association opened in the Medical Arts Building in 1935. It originally encompassed 14 counties but now includes 8.

Denham, Leta Elizabeth

  • Person
  • 1895-1982

Leta Elizabeth Denham was born in 1895 in Hempstead, Waller County, Texas, and was one of sixteen children. She attended the Baptist Sanitarium and Hospital Training School for Nurses in Houston, Texas, graduating from the program in 1919. The commencement ceremony was held at First Baptist Church in Houston on May 29, 1919. After graduating from nursing school Leta Denham went to China to fulfill her life-long dream of working as a missionary. She served as a medical missionary in Yingtak, China from 1921 to 1922.

Leta Denham married Marcus Jackson Scott in June 1921, and died in Langley, Washington in 1982.

Taylor, Judson L.

  • Person
  • 1881-1949

Judson Ludwell Taylor was born August 5, 1881, at New Waverly, Texas. He died November 28, 1944. Doctor Taylor was a surgeon and served as Commander in the United States Navy. He was a founding member of the American Board of Surgery. He lead the formation of a permanent blood plasma bank for the Gulf Coast area. He served as president of the State Medical Association and Harris County Medical Society, and was instrumental in developing the Post-Graduate Medical Assembly of South Texas. He played a large part in establishing the Dental Branch of The University of Texas.

Martin Junius Taylor, older brother of Judson Taylor, was born in 1870. He was a physician and surgeon in Texas, practicing medicine for 27 years. After receiving his medical degree in 1892 from Memphis Hospital Medical College, he began his practice in Polk County, Texas. He moved to Houston in 1918, where he was a staff member many of the Houston-area hospitals, becoming President of Memorial Hospital staff. He served as president of both the Polk County Medical Society and the Harris County Medical Society. He died on October 21, 1949.

Resolution on the Death of Dr. Judson L. Taylor, Board Minutes of the Houston District Dental Society, February 17, 1945.

“Dr. M. J. Taylor Succumbs after Long Illness”, newspaper clipping, October 21, 1949. MS 210 Judson L. Taylor, MD papers. McGovern Historical Center, Texas Medical Center Library.

Postgraduate Medical Assembly of South Texas

  • Corporate body
  • 1932-1970

The Postgraduate Medical Assembly of South Texas functioned as an educational organization for physicians in East and South Texas from its founding in 1932 to its dissolution in 1970. This collection (14 linear feet) was transferred to the Archive from the custodial care of the Houston Academy of Medicine in August, 1978. Betty (Mrs. William H.) Dahme and Jack Mayfield, M.D. were instrumental in securing the collection's transfer. Minutes, programs, membership roles and files related to the Medical Records and Annals constitute the bulk of the collection. All extant files from the Assembly were transferred to the Archive. However no records from the parent organization, South Texas Medical Society, or from the Eight, Ninth and Tenth Councilor Districts are present.

In 1897, physicians from counties within the Eighth, Ninth, and Tenth Councilor Districts formed the South Texas Medical Association. Within a few years the name changed to the South Texas District Medical Society and by 1914 the Society had adopted the South Texas Medical Record, published by the Harris County Medical Society, as their official organ. Biannual meetings were sponsored to serve as a clearinghouse for members' papers for discussions or clinics on medical topics. In 1931, Dr. B. T. Vanzant, President of the District, proposed abolishing the fall meeting held in Houston each year and forming a postgraduate assembly for the purpose of bringing medical authorities to Texas so that continuing education for its members would be convenient and inexpensive. The first postgraduate assembly was held at the Rice Hotel, November 28-30 and December 1, 1932 with 600 physicians registering to hear Drs. Walter Alvarez and Donald Balfour from Mayo Clinic, Dr. Morris Fishbein, editor of the Journal of the A.M.A., Dr. E. W. Oschner from Tulane University and 16 other notable physicians speak in their fields of expertise. The Assembly expanded over the years, obtaining a registration of 2300 physicians on their Silver Anniversary in 1959 (the meeting for 1943-45 were cancelled because of WW II). Papers from the annual meetings and programs were published in the Assembly's own journal, The Medical Record and Annals.

The South Texas District Medical Society, whose educational functions were being fulfilled by the Assembly, closed its operations in 1951. Before this time, the Eighth, Ninth and Tenth Councilor Districts had established their own medical societies. As more specialty societies assumed responsibility for the continuing education of their members and airlines diminished the time necessary to travel to distant meetings, interest in supporting the Postgraduate Assembly declined. Inb1970 the Assembly closed its books, with the remaining money being donated to the Museum of Medical Science in Houston.

Baun, Mara M.

  • Person
  • 1942-

Dr. Mara Madeleine Baun was born March 5, 1942, and has lived in Missouri City since 1973.

Veteran's Administration Hospital (Houston, Tex.)

  • Corporate body
  • 1946-

The Michael E. DeBakey Veterans Affairs Medical Center is operated by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs and is located in the Texas Medical Center. It serves Harris and 27 surrounding counties and is one of the Department’s biggest hospitals. Baylor College of Medicine has been a partner since 1949 but the VA is also staffed by the UT Health Science Center at Houston and by students and residents from the University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy.
The VA campus began as a U.S. Navy hospital in 1946; when it was completed it had 39 buildings, 943 beds, and was one of the biggest and most modern hospitals in the Southern United States. During World War II, President Franklin Roosevelt declared that certain military hospitals, including the Navy hospital in Houston, would be transferred to Veterans Affairs after the war. After some delay, the hospital officially became the Houston Veterans Affairs Hospital in April 1949. Paul Manguson, MD, was appointed director in 1948. He found the hospital understaffed and was responsible for establishing the partnership with what was at the time the Baylor University College of Medicine. Around this time, Michael DeBakey, who served in the US Army Medical Corps, realized that the medical data accrued from such a large pool of patients during the war could be invaluable research material and proposed “a follow-up system to determine the natural and post-treatment history of such diseases and conditions as might be selected for study”.
In 1952, a former barracks was converted into a radioisotope laboratory for the study of cancer. Building 203 eventually housed eight laboratories, two culture rooms, a constant temperature instrument room, a preparation room, sterilization room, and cold room. There were also facilities for work on animals, and glassblowing, sheet metal, electronic, and machine shops for maintaining and fabricating laboratory equipment and experimental devices. Dr. DeBakey was working in Building 203 when he started his early vascular surgery studies and experiments with Dacron grafts. The first surgery using a Dacron graft was performed at the Houston VA on September 2, 1954.
The VA was designated a medical center in 1978 to reflect the broad range of treatments it offered. IT officially joined the TMC as its 33rd member institution in 1985. Efforts to modernize the growing hodgepodge of buildings on the 118-acre campus proved impractical so the decision was made to replace them; the current building was completed in 1992.

Clark, Nancy Vecera

  • Person

Nancy Vecera Clark worked in the Development Office of Hermann Hospital Estate from 1979 to 1986. In 1981 her title was Research Specialist, Development and Marketing; by 1982 her title was Development Coordinator. Her involvement included donor relations, fundraising, and historical research. During her time at Hermann, Charles R. Stricklin was Director of Development. Nancy would go on to serve as Director of Development at the University of Houston.

The Doctors' Club

  • Person
  • 1954-2005

The Doctors' Club began in 1954 as a social club for doctors and dentists and their families at The Texas Medical Center in Houston, Texas. The Doctor's Club also hosted medical lectures and various medical groups. The Doctor's Club closed in 2005.

Cody, Claude C. III

  • Person
  • 1915-1997

Claude Carr Cody III was born December 10, 1915, in Temple, Texas, and died November 14, 1997, in (Houston?) Harris County. He was the grandson and nephew of the first two Claude Codys; Claude, Jr., had no children. Cody was an ear, nose, and throat specialist. He graduated from the University of Texas Medical Branch in 1939 and interned at Multnomah County Hospital in Portland, Oregon, per his World War II draft card.

Results 101 to 200 of 232