Houston, Texas

Taxonomy

Code

Scope note(s)

Display note(s)

Hierarchical terms

Houston, Texas

Equivalent terms

Houston, Texas

  • UF Houston, Texas

Associated terms

Houston, Texas

229 Authority record results for Houston, Texas

229 results directly related Exclude narrower terms

Wolf, Edward Trowbridge

  • Person
  • 1900-1987

Edward Trowbridge Wolf, MD was born May 2, 1900 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He received his Bachelor of Science in Pre—Med from Pennsylvania State College and in 1948 was honored with a 25 year Service Award from the Phi Delta Epsilon Medical Fraternity there. He was a June 1933 graduate of Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia, PA. Dr. Wolf served his internship at the Frankford Hospital in Philadelphia from 1933 to 1934 and at the William Beaumont General Hospital while in the US Army. Upon coming to Houston, he established his 46-year Internal Medicine practice at 4411 Fannin.

During WWII, Dr. Wolf was called up for active duty by the US. Army during which time he served at the rank of Major (MAJ), beginning January 1941, until his promotion to Lieutenant Colonel (LTC) in February 1943. In addition to stateside assignments, he was a veteran of two years of service with the medical corps in Australia and in the jungles of New Guinea. Following his service in Australia, he returned to inactive military status separating from the service in August 1945 to resume his Houston practice. LTC Wolf received an Honorable Discharge from the Army in May of 1951.

Dr. Wolf was appointed to the Baylor University College of Medicine Clinical Faculty as Assistant/Associate Professor of Medicine in Sept. 1943 and continuously held the position through June 1975. While a member of the medical staff at the Methodist Hospital in Houston, Dr. Wolf served as the Chairman of the Metabolic, Endocrine, Joint Disease Medical Care Appraisal Committee and Chairman of the Publications Committee. He was the first editor of News Notes published for the Methodist Hospital medical staff, a post he held for 5 years. Dr. Wolf was chairman of the first Blood Bank Committee of the Harris County Medical Society, and is perhaps most widely known as editor, for 10 years, of the Medical Record and Annals.

As a 45-year member of the Harris County Medical Society he served on the Press Committee. Dr. Wolf was Historian of Houston Society of Internal Medicine and in 1951, President of the Postgraduate Medical Assembly of South Texas. He was a member of the Texas Medical Association for 50 years, serving in 1968, as Chairman of the Technical Exhibits Sub-Committee. An Associate of the American College of Physicians, Dr. Wolf also held memberships in the American Medical Association, American Society of Internal Medicine and the NIH Alumni Association. He served as Consulting Internist for the Texas State Highway Patrol, the Southern Pacific Railroad (1961-1965), and was Consulting Internist and a member of the Board of both Planned Parenthood and the Visiting Nurses Association.

In addition to his professional service, Dr. Wolf contributed to many local organizations including the Deptartment of Medicine Library Fund of the Baylor College of Medicine, the Dept. of Medicine Library Fund of the Methodist Hospital, the Ellard Yow Memorial Library at Methodist Hospital, and The Foundation for the Museum of Medical Science. Edward Trowbridge Wolf, MD passed away July 15 1987.

Halpert, Bela

  • Person
  • 1896-1984

Bela Halpert was born in Hungary in 1896. He received his medical degree from the German University in Prague. He held positions as pathologist, instructor, professor, and fellow at German University, Johns Hopkins Medical School, University of Chicago, William Harvey Cushing Memorial Hospital, Yale University as well as various institutions in New Orleans and Oklahoma. He came to Houston in 1949 where he served as chief of laboratory services for the Veterans Administration and professor of pathology at Baylor College of Medicine.

Citation: Baker, Marilyn M. The History of Pathology in Texas. Texas Society of Pathologists, 1996. pp. 169-170.

Kassell, Dorothea

  • Person
  • 1906-1991

Dorothea Ellen Kassell was born in Spokane, Washington, on January 29, 1906. The family moved to Chicago before 1910 and then to Llano County before 1920. 1970 Texas State Association of Occupational Nurses Achievement Award. She graduated from St. David’s Hospital School of Nursing in Austin, Texas, in 1927; the 1940 census said she had two years of high school. She was a nurse on duty on the Lower Colorado River Authority’s Buchanan Dam project near Burnet, Texas, in the mid-1930s. She worked for ARMCO Steel in Houston for 26 years, 25 as head nurse, before retiring January 29, 1971. She was in occupational nursing for “over 32” years at the time. Kassell was active at the local and state level in the American Association of Industrial Nurses (now the American Association of Occupational Health Nurses). She was treasurer of the Houston chapter for 15 years, served two terms on the Texas AIN Board of Directors, and served for awhile as the Texas AIN historian. She won the Texas State Association of Occupational Nurses Achievement Award in 1970. Kassell died on February 3, 1991, and is buried in the Kassell Cemetery in Llano County.

Bickel, Laura C.

  • Person
  • 1912-1977

Laural Carnell Bickel was born in Shamokin, Pennsylvania, on June 2, 1912. She was educated at University of Wisconsin Medical School, (now the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health) and moved to Houston in the early 1940s. She was a pediatrician and did considerable work in both rubella and in congenital diseases. Dr. Bickel died in Houston on December 15, 1977.

Stork, Walter J.

  • Person
  • 1900-1994

Walter Jacob Stork, MD, was born in Round Top, Texas in October 27, 1900. He was educated at University of Texas, receiving his M.D. in 1931. Dr. Stork served with the U.S. Army Medical Corps, (1943-1946), served as a physician and taught at Baylor University College of Medicine Department of Radiology (1973-1976). Dr. Stork’s research and publications feature the following topics: “Radiology and on Tuberculosis treatment and prevention and control. He also worked on development of an antibiotic to treat tuberculosis. Further information and a bibliography of Dr. Stork’s papers are available in the first folder of this collection.

Dr. Stork died on September 8, 1994, in Houston.

Creson, Daniel Lenard

  • Person
  • 1935-2015

Born in 1935, Dr. Daniel L. Creson was in in private practice with North Texas Psychiatry and Psychotherapy in Denton, Texas. He was Professor Emeritus at The University of Texas Health Science Center - Houston in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. He served there as Clinical Professor and Director of Continuing Education before his retirement in 2003. He was Board Certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology in 1971.

Dr. Creson received his medical degree from The University of Texas Medical Branch-Galveston, Texas in 1962. He earned an MA in Behavioral Science and a PhD in Anthropology from Rice University, Houston Texas. He holds academic appointments at Galveston Family Institute, The University of Texas Medical Branch - Galveston and The University of Texas Health Science Center - Houston. Among his past positions, he served as Adjunct Associate Professor at Tulane University, Executive Director of Gulf Coast Regional Mental Health-Mental Retardation Center, and Medical Director of Mental Health Mental Retardation Authority of Harris County.

Dr. Creson was active on several boards of mental health mental retardation organizations in Galveston and Houston as well as several committees for the Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians. He has been a member of the Crisis Response Consortium of Harris County and Burn Disaster Response Team for Shriners Burn Institute. In addition to his past work in crisis situations throughout the world, he continues to serve as consultant to Humanitarian Aid and Medical Development (HMD) and Christian Children's Fund. Dr. Creson was instrumental in the development of an historical archives project, which seeks to document the history of mental health services in Texas. He personally obtained oral histories from many psychiatrists and other professionals throughout Texas.

Dr. Creson died November 30, 2015, in Sanger, Texas.

Blattner, Russell J.

  • Person
  • 1908-2002

Russell John Blattner was born July 3, 1908, in St. Louis, Missouri and attended Washington University there. He received his Bachelor of Arts degree in 1929, and his Doctor of Medicine degree in 1933. He took his hospital training with an internship at Barnes Hospital in St. Louis, and his residency at St. Louis Children's Hospital, and then at Princess Elizabeth of York Hospital for Children in London, England. He returned to St. Louis and in 1937, began his teaching career as an Instructor in the Department of Pediatrics in the Washington University School of Medicine. In 1940 he was promoted to the rank of Assistant Professor in his department. Three years later, in 1945, he advanced to the rank of Associate Professor.

His career in Houston began in 1947 when he was given the position of Professor of Pediatrics and Chairman of the Department of Pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine. He was actively involved with the creation of the Texas Children's Hospital, beginning in 1948 when with architects he toured hospitals in Canada, Mexico and the United States in search of ideas for the soon-to-be-built Houston institution. His efforts came to fruition in 1954, when the new pediatric hospital opened its doors. Dr. Blattner worked continually to insure the success and development of Texas Children's Hospital as a sub-specialty hospital care hospital for children and as a teaching and research institution, and to promote excellent pediatric care throughout the Texas Medical Center, as well as in Harris County by developing an affiliation between Baylor and the city and county health departments. He helped to establish the Blue Bird Clinic at The Methodist Hospital, and was instrumental in securing the initial funding for the South Western Poliomyelitis Center which would later become the Texas Institute for Rehabilitation and Research.

Dr. Blattner had a long and distinguished career for which he often received recognition from his colleagues within the medical profession. In 1956 the Washington University School of Medicine Alumni awarded him their Alumni Citation for Outstanding Achievements and Service He was also designated Distinguished Service Professor at Baylor in 1968. In 1971 he was given the newly established J.S. Abercrombie Chair in the department of Pediatrics at Baylor. He was honored again in 1972 and in 1974, when he received the Outstanding Faculty Award from the Baylor College of Medicine Alumni Association and the American Medical Association's Abraham Jacobi Award. He became Emeritus Chief of Pediatrics at Hermann Hospital. He retired in 1977, but continued his affiliation with the Texas Medical Center by acting as a consultant to hospital and college, and as Distinguished Service Professor of Pediatrics at Baylor. In his retirement years he has become affiliated with the Well Baby Clinics for the City of Houston Health Department, where he continues his care for the pediatric subject and his academic interests by training Baylor students assigned to the clinics.

Dr. Blattner served his profession not only as an administrator and teacher but as a research scientist as well. He made major contributions in the field of infectious disease, most notably in the study of encephalitis. He was, moreover, noted for his concern and compassion because he ''combined specialization with old-time empathy and concern with each patient (WATCH, Spring 1977). He died December 6, 2002, in Gaithersburg, Maryland.

Gandy, Joe R.

  • Person
  • 1908-1985

Joe Ruel Gandy was born October 12, 1908, in Lipan, Hood County, Texas, and died in Houston on April 16, 1985 and is buried at Forest Park Westheimer Cemetery. Dr. Gandy was a surgeon for the Southern Pacific Railroad Hospital (now the Thomas Street Clinic). His research related to railroad medicine.

Kit, Saul

  • Person
  • 1920-2008

Dr. Saul Kit (November 25, 1920 - January 24, 2008) was a leader in biochemistry in the Texas Medical Center. He was chief of the section of nucleoprotein metabolism in the Department of Biochemistry at M.D. Anderson Hospital, and later Head of the Division of Biochemical Virology at Baylor College of Medicine. He served as President of the Southwest Section of the American Association for Cancer Researchers, the Treasurer of the American Society for Cell Biology, and President of the American Society for Cell Biology. Dr. Kit was a recipient of numerous research grants from National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation, The American Cancer Society, Leukemia Society, Robert A. Welch Foundation, and the National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis. For over 25 years he received a Research Career Award from the National Institutes of Allergy and Infectious Diseases. In 1987, he was honored with the Distinguished Inventor of the Year Award for developing the world's first genetically engineered vaccine to be licensed by the U.S. government. Dr. Kit was granted numerous United States and International patents for his pioneering vaccine inventions.

Hoff, Hebbel

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n85809755
  • Person
  • 1907-1987

Hebbel Edward Hoff was born December 2, 1907, in Urbana, Illinois. His family moved to Washington state when he was a child and he was the valedictorian of the 1924 class of Bothell High School, Bothell, Washington. He studied medicine at the Universisty of Washington for four years before being awarded a Rhodes Scholarship to study at Oxford University in England. He completed his M.D. at Harvard University in 1936 and continued to do research in electrocardiology at Yale University. He won the Warren Scientific Treatise Prize in 1941 while working at Yale. He was chair of the McGill University (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) Physiology Department from 1943 to 1948, when he took a position with Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. He was dean of Baylor until his death on May 1, 1987.

Andrews, Tom A.

  • Person
  • 1903-1977

Urologist Tom Adam Andrews. Jr., was born November 26, 1903 in West Point (near La Grange), Fayette County, Texas to Tom A., Sr., and Augusta “Gussie” Rabb Andrews.. He married Helen sometime before 1930 and served in the Navy Medical Corps during World War II. He died on October 16, 1977, in Houston and is buried at Forest Park Cemetery. Note: He is listed in various places online as “Jr.” but at least one source gives his father’s middle name as Adolphus, not Adam. His older son was also Thomas Adam (1930-1991).

Barkley, Howard T.

  • Person
  • 1901-1981

Howard T. Barkley, Sr. was born in Tucson, AZ on November 30, 1901. He graduated from the University of Arizona in 1931 with his Bachelor's degree and the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons with a MD in 1935. He first served as an intern at Lenox Hill Hospital in New York before going to the Presbyterian Hospital, also of New York, to serve as a surgical resident. He received further training at the University of Michigan Hospital in Ann Arbor before moving permanetnly to Houston, TX in 1941.

During World War II he served as a flight surgeon for the United States Army Air Corps, reaching the rank of lieutenant colonel. He was an associate of professor of clinical surgery at Baylor College of Medicine from 1943-1980 and chief of thoracic surgery at MD Anderson Hospital from 1944-1968. Barkley also served on the staff of Hermann Hospital in Houston from 1942 to 1972, and as chief of thoracic surgery there from 1944-1968. In 1948 he was appointed chairman of the medical staff at Houston AntiTubercular Clinic. Barkley served in a variety of capacities for different regional medical organizations. Barkley served as president of the Houston Surgical Society in 1952, the Texas Tuberculosis Association from 1956-1958, the Harris County Medical Society in 1967, and the Houston chapter of the American Tuberculosis Association. He served as vice president of the National Tuberculosis Association in 1963-1964. He was a founding member of the American Association of Thoracic Surgery in 1948 and the Society of Thoracic Surgeons in 1964.

Howard T. Barkley died on January 26, 1981.

Greenwood, James, Jr.

  • Person
  • 1907-1993

James Greenwood, Jr., was born in Seguin, Texas July 19, 1907 and died July 3, 1993. He was a 1927 graduate of Rice University and earned his MD in 1931 from the University of Texas, after which he spent a two-year residency at Philadelphia General Hospital. He began practice at Methodist Hospital in September of 1935 and began teaching at Baylor College of Medicine in 1943. Greenwood developed bipolar electrocoagulation, which enabled surgeons to stanch bleeding while irrigation the incision to prevent the tissue from overheating and incurring more damage. During his long career in neurological surgery, he was chairman of neurosurgery at Methodist Hospital, president of Methodists Hospital staff from 1943 to 1953 and 1957 to 1958, and acting chair of surgery at Baylor College of Medicine in 1944. In 1975, he received the distinguished Houston Surgeon Award from the Houston Surgical Society. He was a member of numerous local, state and national medical-related boards and organizations.
I also found and saved a newsletter about the bipolar electrocoagulation development and a biography written by another doctor.

Rodgers, L. Rodney

  • Person
  • 1920-2012

Lawrence Rodney Rogers, MD, was born March 9, 1920 in Clovis, New Mexico, to a cowboy and a schoolteacher, and died December 13, 2012, in Houston. He grew up in Amarillo, Texas. He was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society during his junior year at the University of Texas Medical Branch. He volunteered for the US Army during World War II and served as a battalion surgeon in the 42nd Rainbow Division in the European Theater, including the Battle of the Bulge, for which he earned three Bronze Stars and four Battle Stars. Accounts of his treatment of prisoners at Dachau and Jewish patients in occupied Austria are on video at the Houston Holocaust Museum.
Dr. Rodgers specialized in internal medicine at Philadelphia General Hospital for three years before returning to Texas to practice in Houston from 1949 to 1994. He was chair of the Department of Internal Medicine at Hermann Hospital in 1965 and was active in the effort to establish the University of Texas Medical School at Hermann in 1966-1967 and served the school both as a professor and member of many committees.
Dr. Rodgers served the Harris County Medical Society as TMA delegate, on the executive board, and for a year as vice president, and was for a time editor of the Harris County Physician. He served as President of the Houston Society of Internal Medicine in 1974, of the Houston Academy of Medicine in 1981, of the Doctors’ Club in 1986, and the Houston Philosophical Society in 1994, and supported and participated in many more organizations. He was awarded the Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumni Award by UTMB, and the American College of Physicians awarded him both a Laureate Internist Award for Texas and Mastership of the College.

Schnur, Sidney

  • Person
  • 1910-1997

Sidney A. Schnur (June 23, 1910 – April 8, 1997) was born in Manhattan, New York and earned his MD from New York University in 1935. He was a physician and a clinical assistant professor at Baylor College of Medicine. One of Schnur’s patients at St. Joseph’s Hospital, near death from cardiogenic shock (when the heart cannot pump enough blood to meet the body’s needs) after a heart attack, was the test for Denton Cooley’s heart-lung machine in April 1956; the patient lived another six weeks before succumbing to a second heart attack.
Schnur served as president of the Harris County Medical Society in 1972.

Levy, Moise Dreyfus

  • Person
  • 1889-1963

Moise Dreyfus Levy Sr, MD was born September 4, 1889 in Galveston, Texas and grew up in Natchitoches, Louisiana "where he attended school and later the Louisiana State Normal College" (Texas State Journal of Medicine volume 59 pages 248-49, March 1963). Levy graduated from the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston in 1913. He was awarded an internship at St. Louis City Hospital, St. Louis, Missouri (Texas State Journal of Medicine, volume 9).

Dr. Levy served two years in the United States Medical Corps during World War I. Afterwards, he returned to Texas where he became an assistant professor of medicine at his alma mater, the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston from 1915 until 1922. Levy served as a clinical professor at Baylor College of Medicine from 1943 to 1954 and was a professor emeritus from 1954 until his death in 1963 (TSJM 59:248-49, Mar., 1963).

Dr. Levy was the first president of the Texas Society of Pathology, which was founded in 1921 and continues to exist today. He was a founding member of the American Board of Internal Medicine and a fellow of the American College of Physicians. In 1957, Dr. Levy was elected president of the Harris County Medical Society. He was an active member of the medical community and was a member of many organizations including The American Heart Association, Houston Society of Internal Medicine, World Medical Association, American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygene.

Dr. Levy married Sarah Weill in 1917. They had four children: Moise D. Levy Jr. b.1918, Justine, Sara Jo and Melanie b. 1925. Dr. Levy's son Moise D. Levy, Jr. followed his father into medicine and became a successful rheumatologist.

Dr. Levy was active in Jewish affairs, he was twice elected president of the Houston Congregation for reformed Judiasm. He was active in the Rotary Club and in the Planned Parenthood Center of Houston. (TSJM 59:248-49, Mar., 1963).

Dr. Levy was the author of 33 published medical writings. Several of Dr. Levy's articles focused on the Houston / Galveston / Beaumont area, including a 1920 article on an epidemic of Dengue fever that had recently affected Galveston, TX and the surrounding area.

Dr. Moise Dreyfus Levy Sr. died at his home in Houston, TX on Jan. 30, 1963 at the age of 73.

Ledbetter, Paul V.

  • Person
  • 1899-1983

Paul V. Ledbetter, MD, established the Ledbetter clinic in Houston in 1925. He died January 21, 1983. He had the first electrocardiographic (EKG) machine in the Houston area. Dr. Ledbetter was born in Sweet Home, Texas in 1899. He received his medical degree from the University of Texas Medical School in 1921. He helped to establish the Houston Society of Internal Medicine in 1945 and the Houston Heart Association in 1948. He was the first physician president. He also was instrumental in forming the St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital Board. He was a fellow of the American College of Physicians and was on the faculty at the Texas University Dental School.

Phillips, John Roberts

  • Person
  • 1904-1983

John Roberts Phillips was born on February 28, 1904 in Quantico, Maryland. He graduated from the University of Maryland School of Medicine in 1923 and completed his Master of Surgery at the University of Minnesota in 1931. He received a fellowship at the Mayo Clinic from 1929 to 1933. In 1929, he married Rebecca Jane Hall. In 1933, Phillips started his own surgical practice in Houston and served as the Associate Professor of Surgery at the University of Texas and as the Assistant Professor of Surgery at Baylor University in Houston, Texas. He authored and co-authored over 124 articles published in various medical journals. Phillips retired in 1967 and died April 19, 1983.

Rebecca Jane Hall Phillips was born on December 14, 1903 in Maryland. She became a registered nurse at the University of Maryland. She served as a surgical nurse from 1927-1929 in Maryland, as a nurse at the Mayo Clinic from 1927-1932, and then starting in 1933, served as the surgical nurse, office manager, and public relations manager for her husband, John Roberts Phillips’ practice in Houston, TX.

Blair, Robert K.

  • Person
  • 1912-2007

Born October 12, 1912 in Chillicothe, Texas, and raised in nearby Vernon. Blair graduated from the Rice Institute in 1933 and from UTMB in 1937. After a two-year internship at Jefferson Davis Hospital, Blair served as medical director of the Texas Prison System from 1939 to 1944. He practiced briefly in Wharton before moving to Houston in 1945. He was an on-call physician for the Todd Shipyards from 1944 to 1947 and taught anatomy at the Texas Dental College from 1947 to 1950. Blair served as president of the Harris County Medical Society in 1961. He was joined in practice by his son-in-law, C. Frank Webber, in 1964 and retired in 1976. He was the medical director of the Philadelphia Insurance Company’s Southwest Division until his full retirement in 1998. He was also active in numerous social, professional, and philanthropical organizations. He died December 21, 2007.

Prince, Homer, E.

  • Person
  • 1904-1990

Dr.Homer Edward Prince was born June 2, 1904 in Milam County, Texas. practiced general medicine in Galveston, Texas between 1930-1936. Between 1936-1958 Dr. Prince focused his practice on allergies in Houston, Texas. There he organized the Association of Allergists for Mycological Investigations in 1938. Between 1958-1962 he continued his practice half-time in Crockett, Texas. Dr. Prince would return to full-time practice in Waco, Texas, between 1962-1965. He would continue practicing in Waco until 1976. Dr. Prince died in Dallas County on June 5, 1990, and is buried at Evergreen Memorial Park in Crockett.

Pokorny, Alex D.

  • Person
  • 1918-2007

Born October 18, 1918 on a farm in Taylor, Texas; his grandparents were Czech immigrants. He graduated from Granger High School at 16 in 1934 and then from the University of Texas in 1939. He earned his MD from the University of Texas Medical Branch in December 1942, and then interned at Hermann Hospital in 1943. He served in the US Army Medical Corps from December 1943 to December 1946, as a lieutenant colonel and then a colonel. During his service, he graduated from the School of Military Neuropsychiatry. He was a resident in psychiatry at Southwestern Medical School in Dallas from November 1946 to June 1947 and at the Menninger School of Psychiatry, then located in Topeka, Kansas, from 1947 to 1949.
Dr. Pokorny joined the staff at the Houston VA Hospital in 1949 and became Chief of the Psychiatry Service in 1955; he remained at the VA until 1973. He was also part of the Baylor College of Medicine Department of Psychiatry from 1949 until his retirement in 1989. He was active in numerous professional organizations and won several awards for his contributions. He died October 9, 2007, just shy of his 89th birthday.

Moursund, Walter H.

  • Person
  • 1884-1959

Walter Henrik Moursund was born in Fredericksburg, Texas on August 13, 1884. One of eight children, he was the son of District Judge Albert Waddell and Henrikke M. Moursund, both immigrants from Norway. Dr. Moursund was later to attribute his interest in the study of medicine to the kindliness of a family doctor who helped him recover from a childhood illness. Following graduation from Fredericksburg High School, Dr. Moursund received his medical degree at the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, in 1906. He married the former Freda Adelaide Plate of Seguin in 1907 and for the next several years was a general practitioner in Fredricksburg, Seguin, Marion, Lavernia and Sulphur Springs, Texas. During World War I he served with the army as a captain and then major.
Dr. Moursund's association with Baylor University College of Medicine began in 1911 when he joined the staff as an assistant in pathology and bacteriology. The college was at this time located in Dallas, and in the ensuing years Dr. Moursund served in a variety of roles, including professor of physiology, pathology, clinical pathology, bacteriology and hygiene. He also served as secretary and registrar, as acting dean, and finally as dean from 1923 until his retirement in 1953. His tenure spanned the years of Baylor's move to Houston in 1943 and its growth as part of the newly-created Texas Medical Center. His file of clippings and other material documenting the medical school's growth became the basis for A History of Baylor University College of Medicine 1900-1953, published by Dr. Moursund in 1956. Material concerning other medical institutions in the Houston area provided the basis for a second book, Medicine in Greater Houston 1836-1956,which was prepared as a manuscript but never published. Dr. Moursund's professional affiliations included membership in the American Medical Association, the Southern Medical Association, and the Harris County Medical Society. The Texas Medical Association elected him to emeritus membership in 1950. He was awarded an honorary doctor of laws degree by Baylor University in 1946, and in 1951 the Walter H. and Freda Moursund Endowment was established at Baylor College of Medicine. Upon retirement from Baylor in 1953, Dr. Moursund was named dean emeritus and director of endowment. Dr. Moursund died April 2, 1959, and is buried at Grove Hill Memorial Park in Dallas.

Cooley, Denton A.

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79078765.html
  • Person
  • 1920-2016

Dr. Denton A. Cooley, the founder of the Texas Heart Institute, attended the University of Texas and the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, where he graduated in 1944. After serving in the Army Medical Corps and studying with Lord Russell Brock in London, he returned to his hometown of Houston, Texas to teach surgery at Baylor College of Medicine in the 1950s. The Texas Heart Institute was founded on August 3, 1962 in order to research and treat cardiovascular disease, the leading cause of death in the United States. Among many innovations developed by Cooley and his colleagues at the Institute are the first implantation of an artificial heart, the first successful heart transplant in the United States, advances in treatment of congenital defects, and a number of prostheses and implants. The Institute is part of Texas Medical Center, the largest medical center in the word. CHI St. Luke’s Health – Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center is the Institute’s clinical partner. [Sources: Texas Heart Institute website; The Houston Review, vol. 2, no. 1, p.16-19]

Greer, Alvis

  • Person
  • 1885-1975

Alvis Eugene Greer was born May 6, 1885, in Gallatin, Illinois. He earned his MD from Northwestern University in 1908 and received an Alpha Omega Alpha key at graduation. He spent two years at Harvard Postgraduate Medical School and served in the Army Medical Corps in World War I. Geer specialized in internal medicine and diseases of the chest. Taught at Baylor College of Medicine and was on staff at the Houston Tuberculosis Hospital, Memorial Hospital, and Jefferson Davis Hospital. He was a member of the American College of Chest Physicians, serving on its board of examiners from 1946 to 1952 and president from 1953 to 1954. He died in Houston on August 8, 1975, and is buried at Forest Park Cemetery.

Doak, Edmund K.

  • Person
  • 1909-2000

Edmond King Doak, (Jr.?) was born October 3, 1909, in Taylor, Texas, and died 29 November 2000 in Houston. His father was Edmond King Doak, Sr., MD, born August 9, 1878, in Lexington, Texas, and died December 20, 1971 in Taylor, Texas. Doak, Sr., was among the doctors who built a new hospital in Taylor in 1920.
Doak, Jr., graduated from the University of Pennsylvania Medical School in 1934 and was on the faculty at Baylor College of Medicine. He had an office in the Hermann Professional Building in 1974. Member of the American Diabetes Association; was on the Council 1959-1960.
He has (two?) entries in the Gazetteer of Texas Physicians and his papers are MS 049 at the Texas Medical Center archives. His portrait is N-1003.

Ehni, George

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n84007816.html
  • Person
  • 1914-1986

George John Ehni, MD was a neurosurgeon who practiced in Houston from 1949-1986. During 1959-1979 he was chairman of the division of neurosurgery at Baylor College of Medicine. Born in 1914 in Pekin, Ill, Dr. Ehni was a 1939 graduate of Northwestern University Medical School in Chicago. He served an internship at Cincinnati (Ohio) General Hospital (July 1939-1940) and a residency at the Mayo Foundation in Rochester, Minn (July 1940-1944). During World War II, Dr. Ehni served in the US Navy. In 1946 he moved to Temple and established the department of neurosurgery at Scott and White Clinic. He moved to Houston in 1949. Dr. Ehni was a past president of the Neurosurgical Society of America, the Southern Neurosurgical Society, and the International Society for Study of the Lumbar Spine. He died September 2, 1986 at the age of 72.

[Source: Obituary, Texas Medicine, January 1987, p.82]

Cody, Claude C. III

  • Person
  • 1915-1997

Claude Carr Cody III was born December 10, 1915, in Temple, Texas, and died November 14, 1997, in (Houston?) Harris County. He was the grandson and nephew of the first two Claude Codys; Claude, Jr., had no children. Cody was an ear, nose, and throat specialist. He graduated from the University of Texas Medical Branch in 1939 and interned at Multnomah County Hospital in Portland, Oregon, per his World War II draft card.

Huggins, Russell A.

  • Person
  • 1910-2001

Russell Arno Huggins was born 1910 June 25 in Cleveland, Ohio. Huggins graduated from Aurora College in Illinois and earned his Ph.D. in biology from the Case School of Applied Science, now Case Western Reserve University, in the later 1930s. He taught at the University of South Dakota Medical School from 1943 to 1945 and the University of Georgia College of Medicine in Augusta from 1945 to 1947. He joined the Baylor College of Medicine faculty in the department of pharmacology in 1947, then moved to physiology in 1960 and pediatrics in 1980. He contributed to the development of the departments of physiology at the University of San Juan, Puerto Rico, and Mahidol University in Bangkok, Thailand. Dr. Huggins was noted for his work in cardiovascular physiology and pharmacology, which contributed to the development of techniques for heart catheterization. He was a founding staff member of the USDA-Baylor Children’s Nutritional Research Center.
Dr. Huggins was married to Professor Sara Elizabeth Huggins, the University of Houston’s first female chair of the biology department. He died August 1, 2001, in Ithaca, New York, and is buried in Memorial Oaks Cemetery in Houston.

Tessmer, Carl F.

  • Person
  • 1912-2012

Carl Frederick Tessmer was born in North Braddock, Pennsylvania on May 28, 1912. He received his higher education at the University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. In 1933 he received his Bachelor of Science with highest honor. From 1933 to 1935, he studied medicine at the University of Pittsburgh Medical School and graduated in 1935 with a Doctor of Medicine degree. Dr. Tessmer completed a rotating internship at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, 1936. He served his residency in pathology at Presbyterian Hospital, Pittsburgh Pennsylvania, 1937. In 1937, he was granted a one year fellowship in pathology, Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. On August 21, 1939 he married Maxine Keller. Together they had two sons, Jon and David. Upon the completion of his fellowship Dr. Tessmer accepted a residency in pathology at Queens Hospital in Honolulu, Hawaii, 1939-1940.

Dr. Tessmer has had a twenty-three year association with the United States Armed Forces. He served in the United States Army Medical Corps, from 1940-1963 and retired with the rank of Colonel.

During the early 1940s he worked in Laboratory Services in hospitals in Hawaii and Saipan. In 1946, he traveled back to the mainland and the East coast. At the Army Institute of Pathology in Washington, D.C. he served as a pathologist. He also was part of Operation Crossroads with Task Force One on Bikini Island, 1946 and worked for the Naval Medical Research Institute, Bethesda, Maryland, 1947.

In 1948, Dr. Tessmer was appointed the first Director of the Atomic Bomb Casualty Commission. Dr. Tessmer's association with the program began even before its formal inception, he took part in a survey in 1946 which actually established much of the basis for the organization. This was with a distinguished pathologist Dr. Shields Warren, Professor of Pathology, Harvard Medical School, and this included a significant amount of clinical data on A-bomb survivors, photographs and blood smears. As matters subsequently developed, he came the director of the program in Japan under the auspices of the National Academy of Sciences-National Research Council and Atomic Energy Commission.

The Tessmer family returned to the United States in 1951. For the next three years, 1951-1954, Dr. Tessmer was the Commanding Officer for the Army Medical Research Laboratory in Fort Knox, Kentucky. After attending the Basic Radioisotopes Training Course at the Oak Ridge Institute of Nuclear Studies in 1954 he was appointed Chief of the Radiation Pathology Branch and Chief of the Basic Science Division for the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology, Washington, D.C. He served as Chief for six years, 1954-1960. Dr. Tessmer returned to Japan in 1960. For the next two years, 1960-1962, he served as the Chief to the Medical General Laboratory (406). Dr. Tessmer travelled to Houston, Texas after a year with the Walter Reed Army Institute of Research in Washington, D.C., 1962-1963.

Dr. Tessmer has been affliated with the University of Texas for over a decade, 1963-1974. He has served as Chief Pathologist and Professor of Pathology at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Hospital and Tumor Institute at Houston and Graduate Faculty member at the University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Science at Houston. While teaching at UTGSBS he sponsored four graduate students for the doctoral degree. From 1971-1973 he was the Program Coordinator for the University of Texas Medical School at Houston.

From 1973-1985, Dr. Tessmer was associated with the Olin E. Teague Veterans' Center, Temple, Texas in several capacities. His appointments were: Chief, Laboratory Service of the Olin E. Teague Veterans' Center, 1973-1985; Medical Director, Medical Technologist School, Southwest Texas University, 1976-1977; Medical Director, Medical Technician School, Temple Junior College, 1973-1985. Dr. Tessmer's last academic post was as Professor, Department of Human Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Texas A&M University College of Medicine, College Station, Texas, 1977-1985.

Dr. Tessmer was very active as a physician, pathologist, adminstrator and professor. He had medical licensure in the states of Pennsylvania, Minnesota, Hawaii, and Texas. He wrote forty-five publications. and was a member or fellow of eleven professional organizations. They were: American Society of Clinical Pathologists (Fellow), College of American Pathologists (Fellow), American Association of Pathologists, Radiation Research Society, Washington Society of Pathologists (President, 1959-1960), International Academy of Pathologists, Texas Medical Association, Texas Society of Pathologists, Texas Society for Electron Microscopy, Member, CAP House of Delegates, Texas, 1971-, Sigma Xi. His expertise has been in high demand. He served as a consultant to a number of institutes, committees and agencies. They were: Oak Ridge Institute of Nuclear Studies, Medical Division, 1956, the Walter Reed Army Institute of Research, Division of Biology and Medicine Advisory Panel, AEC (Californium 252 program), 1968, HEW, Food and Drug Admistration, Radiation Bio-Effects and Epidemiology Advisory Committee, 1972. Dr. Tessmer has had a number of appointments: Diplomate to the American Board of Pathology - Clinical and Anatomic Pathology, 1941, Subcommission on Radiation Pathology, I.C.P.R., 1967-1973, President of the Houston Society of Clinical Pathologists, 1970-1973, Member of the International Commission for Stage Grouping on Cancer and Presentation of Results (I.C.P.R.) (International Society of Radiology), 1973-.

Dr. Tessmer retired from academia in 1985. His sons - Jon F. is a physician in Brownwood, Texas and David P. Lives in Pittsburgh, PA. On October 13, 1992 he married Shizue Murata. They enjoyed living in the Texas countryside and traveling until Dr. Tessmer's death on February 2, 2012.

Rehrauer, Walter

  • Person
  • 1890-1981

Walter Rehrauer was born in New York City on August 3, 1890. His family moved to Houston around 1911 and he graduated from the Texas Dental College in 1914. He served in the U.S. Navy or Naval Reserve during World War I, the inter-war period, World War II and beyond. He died at Brooke Army Medical Center at Fort Sam Houston in San Antonio on March 11, 1981, and is buried at Fort Sam Houston National Cemetery.

Durham, Mylie E. Jr.

  • Person
  • 1919-1991

Mylie Eugene Durham, Jr. was born April 7, 1919, in Houston. His father, Mylie Durham, Sr. (7 March 1893 – 7 March 1962) was also a doctor, originally from Winfield, Louisiana; Durham Elementary School was named for Durham, Sr., in 1968 in honor of his years of service at Heights Hospital. Durham, Jr’s, brother Charles also went into medicine as a obstetrician.
Durham died June 3, 1991, in Houston.

Shelton, Elvin L.

  • Person
  • 1914-1991

Elvin Lee Shelton, Jr., was born November 3, 1914 in Alvarado, Texas. He earned his BS from the University of Texas, Austin, in 1936 and his MD from the University of Texas Medical Branch in 1939. After his residency at John Sealy Hospital in Galveston, Shelton served thirty-six months overseas in the Army. He came to Houston in 1948 and served on the staff of St. Luke’s, Bellaire, Twelve Oaks, Methodist, and other hospitals, in addition to teaching at both Baylor College of Medicine and the University of Texas Medical School until his retirement in 1987. Dr. Shelton died July 19, 1991, at St. Luke’s Hospital.

Pruessner, Harold

  • Person
  • 1925-2007

Harold Trebus Pruessner was born February 19, 1925, in San Antonio. He attended Texas A&M University and earned an MD from the University of Texas Medical Branch in 1948. He served in the Navy during the Korean war and then practiced in Corpus Christi for more than twenty years. He joined the University of Texas Medical School in Houston in 1972 as the second member of its department of family practice. Dr. Pruessner was an early advocate of preventive medicine. He retired in 1993 and died December 21, 2007 at his ranch in Caldwell.

Armstrong, John T.

  • Person
  • 1912-1999

Dr. Armstrong is mainly associated with his involvement with Houston Hermann Hospital, The Houston Academy of Medicine, the Texas Medical Center, the Texas Medical Center Library, and has been published in the Southern Medical Journal, Journal of the Southern Medical Association. John T. Armstrong served on various committees at the Houston Academy of Medicine, where he served such appointments as president. Dr. Armstrong was heavily involved in the field of obstetrics and gynecology. His records include: his professional correspondence; his medical publications; family papers; professional diaries and ledgers; and his affiliated medical organizations’ publications.
Possibly 1912-1989, buried in Brookside Cemetery, Houston. Possible WWII military service.

Preston, Jane H.

  • Person
  • 1920-2001

Evelyn Jane Hawkins Preston was born in Houston on November 21, 1920; she was a third-generation Texan. She graduated from Baylor College of Medicine in 1953 and practiced in Houston until 1978, then in Austin between 1978 and 1995, when she retired and returned to her hometown. Dr. Preston was a pioneer of telemedicine. She died November 7, 2001, just shy of her 81st birthday.

Jensen, Francine

  • Person
  • 1917-2004

Francine Jensen was born August 1, 1917, in Memphis, Tennessee. She earned a BA from the University of Texas, an MD from UTMB, and a Master’s of Public Health from Tulane University, and did both an internship and residency at Jefferson Davis Hospital. In the 1940s she became the assistant director of Harris County’s Chronic Illness Prevention Program, which was intended to help people manage ailments such as diabetes, heart disease, and cancer. She was the director of the Houston Public Health Department’s CICP for six years and ultimately became the HPHD’s first female director. She retired in 1985. She held faculty appointments with Baylor College of Medicine and the University of Texas School of Public Health. She died November 8, 2004, in Houston

Greenberg, Stanley Donald

  • Person
  • 1930-1999

Stanley Donald Greenberg was born July 27, 1930, in Beaumont, Texas, and died May 6, 1999, in Houston; he is buried at Emanu El Memorial Park in Houston.

Voss, William R.

  • Person
  • 1932-1999

William Ralph Voss, DVM, was born March 11, 1932, in Parkdale, Arkansas, and died March 7, 1999, in or near Houston. he seems to have lived and possibly practiced in the Crosby, Texas, area. He is buried in the San Jacinto Memorial Park.

Autrey, A. M., Jr.

  • Person
  • 1899-1983

Adam Manuel Autrey, Jr., was born October 31, 1899 and died June 17, 1983; he is buried in Forest Park Cemetery in Houston.

Able, Luke William

  • Person
  • 1912-2006

Luke William Able was born August 2, 1912 in Port Arthur, Texas, and his family moved to Houston when he was six. He earned his Bachelor’s from the University of Texas in 1933 and his MD from UTMB in 1940. He enlisted in 1942 while he was an intern at Hermann Hospital. Able survived a kamikaze attack on the USS Aulick in Leyte Gulf in the Pacific Theater on November 19, 1944. He suffered a shattered leg and other injuries but directed the treatment of wounded until he passed out from his own injuries. He was awarded a Silver Star and a Purple Heart and spent two years in the hospital recovering.
After the war, he trained at Children’s Hospital in Boston. He was head of the surgery department of Texas Children’s Hospital from 1954 to 1987. In 1964, he participated in one of the early separations of conjoined twins in Texas.
Dr. Able retired in 1988 due to complications from his World War II wounds. He died March 16, 2006 in Franklin, North Carolina.

McGovern Historical Center (artificial)

  • Corporate body
  • 1977-

The McGovern Historical Center (MHC) is the historical and special collections department for The TMC Library. The MHC maintains rare book and archival collections. Artificial collections have been created to provide access to materials without clear provenance in order to increase discoverability.

The earliest acquisition records for the books in the MHC are found in the Houston Academy of Medicine’s (HAM) Library Committee reports for 1935 and 1936. Thirty Fellows of the Academy raised $300 to purchase a collection of 275 French medical books published between 1730 and 1830. In 1949, HAM and Baylor College of Medicine combined their medical libraries. In anticipation of the completion of the Jesse H. Jones Building for the library, the MD Anderson Foundation purchased the rheumatology collection of a New York physician, Dr. Reginald Burbank. This purchase was followed by a gift from the Cora and Webb Mading Foundation of more than 1,000 titles on sanitation and communicable diseases. After the 1954 dedication of the library building, many physicians donated books or historical pamphlets to be stored in a very small, locked room on the second floor. Soon after his arrival in Houston, Dr. McGovern became one of the Library’s most staunch supporters, annually supplying funds for the purchase of rare books and travel support for the librarians to attend meetings of the American Association for the History of Medicine. In 1977, The Library formed a new department with new quarters to collect historical materials and to enhance the rare book collections. In 1982, Dr. McGovern donated his personal collection of rare and historical books to the Library. In 1996 the Library’s Board of Directors named the historical department in his honor.

Guynn, Robert

  • Person

Dr. Robert Guynn graduated from Michigan State University and went to medical school to receive his MD from Johns Hopkins University. He completed his internship for general internal medicine at Case-Western Reserve University/Lakeside Hospital in Cleveland, Ohio. He completed his residency in psychiatry at the Henry Phipps Clinic of the Johns Hopkins Hospital. He spent a three-year fellowship in the U.S Public Health Service doing biochemical and metabolic research. He is the current chair of the Scientific Program Committee for the annual meeting of the American Psychiatric Association. [Source: School, McGovern Medical. "Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences." The University of Texas Medical School. N.p., n.d. Web.]

Autrey, A.M., Sr.

  • Person
  • 1863-1935

Dr. A.M. Autrey, Sr., was an eye, ear, nose, and throat specialist. He was born October 4, 1863, in Veracruz, Mexico. He died December 28, 1935, in Houston and is buried at Forest Park Cemetery.

Barnes, Frank L.

  • Person
  • 1872-1943

Frank Lister Barnes was born September 26, 1872 in Trinity, Texas, and died October 2, 1943, in Houston. Barnes graduated from Hill’s College in Waco and earned his MD from the College of Physicians and Surgeons in Baltimore, Maryland (this merged at some point with the University of Maryland School of Medicine) in 1896 and interned at Mercy Hospital. His middle name is sometimes reported to be “Lester”. He was a founding member of the Texas Surgical Society and American Board of Surgeons. He served in the Army, stationed at Galveston, during the Spanish-American War. Dr. Barnes built a hospital in Trinity in 1908 but moved to Houston in 1915. He is the father of Dr. Payton Barnes of Houston. Dr. Barnes is buried at Cedar Grove Cemetery in Trinity.
Note: Robert Howard Hill’s (1856-1919) Hill’s Business College operated in Waco from 1881 to about 1920. There is some information about it online (there were also multiple unrelated Hill’s Business Colleges operating in different states around the same time).

Ranfranz, Oscar E.

  • Person
  • 1898-1992

Oscar Earnest Ranfranz was born 27 March 1898 in Rochester, Minnesota and died 2 April 1992 in Houston, and is buried at Forest Park Cemetery. He was a dentist and had an office in the Medical Arts Building. Dr. Ranfranz lived in Sherman, Texas, for awhile in the 1920s but had moved to Houston by 1934.

There was a Lutheran Hospital in Houston from the early 1960s to about 1990 but I was unable to find much else on it.

Knowles, W. Roy

  • Person
  • 1929-2005

William Roy Knowles was born in Gilmer, Texas, on December 13, 1929 and died in Houston on September 3, 2005. He is buried at Memorial Oaks Cemetery. He trained as a dermatologist at Baylor College of Medicine starting in 1965. The announcement of the establishment of his office in Houston in 1968 notes that he was one of two dermatologists in Texas at the time capable of performing “chemosurgery” to remove skin cancers. He seems to have had an ongoing interest in Civil War medicine; local papers note that he sometimes gave talks on the subject. His brother Royce was also in medical practice in Palestine.

Ruiz, Richard S.

  • Person
  • 1932-

"Richard S. Ruiz, MD, was born in Houston on July 12, 1932. He established the Hermann Eye Center in 1977. A native Houstonian, Ruiz attended Texas A&M and graduated with an M.D. degree from the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston in 1957. During his internship at Hermann Hospital, Ruiz decided to specialize in ophthalmology. He was accepted at the Kresge Eye Institute in Detroit for a three year residency to train in ophthalmology, and then received a fellowship to the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary of the Harvard Medical School where he trained under Charles L. Schepens, MD, who is known as the “father” of modern retinal surgery. In July 1962, Ruiz returned home and opened his ophthalmology practice in the Hermann Professional Building. He worked diligently to build his practice and during the next ten years, founded Houston Eye Associates, brought highly trained subspecialists into the partnership, and was appointed Chief of Ophthalmology at Hermann Hospital. Along with practicing medicine, Ruiz worked to improve the hospital’s training program for new eye doctors.

In 1969, the University of Texas formally announced that it would establish a medical school in the Texas Medical Center, with Hermann Hospital as its primary teaching hospital. When details emerged about plans for Hermann’s new hospital building, a facility that would be interconnected to the Medical School and the hospital’s Robertson Pavilion, Ruiz began to develop an idea to utilize space in the new building to create a world class eye center. His plan would bring together his private ophthalmology practice, Hermann Hospital eye patients, and the teaching and research of the Department of Ophthalmology at the medical school into one endeavor. Ruiz’s appointment as Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology in the new medical school enabled him to take the final steps to create a comprehensive eye center. In time, the Hermann Eye Center became known for excellence in patient care, education, and research in ophthalmology.

Ruiz served as Chief of Ophthalmology at Hermann Hospital (later Memorial Hermann – TMC) from 1967 until 2009. He was the founding director of the Hermann Eye Center and the Hermann Eye Fund, and chair of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Science at the University of Texas Medical School – Houston for the first thirty-seven years of its history." (1)


  1. This biographical note is a direct quote from the book cover of: Ruiz, Richard S. and William H. Kellar. Ophthalmology at Hermann Hospital and the University of Texas, Houston: A Personal Perspective. N. p. 2010.

Cooper, Alan B.

  • Person
  • 1928-2002

Alan Bruce Cooper was born in New York, New York on August 19, 1928. He earned a BS in 1949 and a Master’s in immunogenetics in 1951 from Wesleyan University, followed by an MD in 1955 from New York Medical School. After serving as chief of pathology at Harvard University, he joined the Air Force. After his discharge as a major, he taught at Baylor College of Medicine and New Orleans Psychoanalytic Institute in psychiatry and psychoanalysis. He was also in private practice in Houston between 1968 and 1985. In 1986, Dr. Cooper was appointed medical director of the University of Texas Adult Ambulatory Psychiatric Services and was later a professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. He died in Houston on December 29, 2002, of lung cancer.

Huang, Charles T. L.

  • Person
  • 1938-2011

Possibly born 1938 October 12 in Tsienkiang, Fukien, China, as Tzu Lee Huang; added Charles upon naturalization in 1975. Arrived in US in 1969. Died December 25, 2011.

Veteran's Administration Hospital

  • Corporate body
  • 1946-

The Michael E. DeBakey Veterans Affairs Medical Center is operated by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs and is located in the Texas Medical Center. It serves Harris and 27 surrounding counties and is one of the Department’s biggest hospitals. Baylor College of Medicine has been a partner since 1949 but the VA is also staffed by the UT Health Science Center at Houston and by students and residents from the University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy.
The VA campus began as a U.S. Navy hospital in 1946; when it was completed it had 39 buildings, 943 beds, and was one of the biggest and most modern hospitals in the Southern United States. During World War II, President Franklin Roosevelt declared that certain military hospitals, including the Navy hospital in Houston, would be transferred to Veterans Affairs after the war. After some delay, the hospital officially became the Houston Veterans Affairs Hospital in April 1949. Paul Manguson, MD, was appointed director in 1948. He found the hospital understaffed and was responsible for establishing the partnership with what was at the time the Baylor University College of Medicine. Around this time, Michael DeBakey, who served in the US Army Medical Corps, realized that the medical data accrued from such a large pool of patients during the war could be invaluable research material and proposed “a follow-up system to determine the natural and post-treatment history of such diseases and conditions as might be selected for study”.
In 1952, a former barracks was converted into a radioisotope laboratory for the study of cancer. Building 203 eventually housed eight laboratories, two culture rooms, a constant temperature instrument room, a preparation room, sterilization room, and cold room. There were also facilities for work on animals, and glassblowing, sheet metal, electronic, and machine shops for maintaining and fabricating laboratory equipment and experimental devices. Dr. DeBakey was working in Building 203 when he started his early vascular surgery studies and experiments with Dacron grafts. The first surgery using a Dacron graft was performed at the Houston VA on September 2, 1954.
The VA was designated a medical center in 1978 to reflect the broad range of treatments it offered. IT officially joined the TMC as its 33rd member institution in 1985. Efforts to modernize the growing hodgepodge of buildings on the 118-acre campus proved impractical so the decision was made to replace them; the current building was completed in 1992.

Meynier, Maurice J., Jr.

  • Person
  • 1904-1997

Maurice J. Meynier, Jr., was born in New Orleans, Louisiana, Oct. 16, 1904. His family moved to Houston when he was twelve, and following his graduation from Houston High School in 1920, he enrolled in what was then the Rice Institute, from which he received his Bachelor of Arts degree in 1927. He attended medical school at the University of Texas at Galveston, completing a senior externship at St. Mary's Hospital there and receiving his Doctor of Medicine degree In 1931. Dr. Meynier then served a two-year internship/residency at the Graduate Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, continuing his training as a resident in gynecology-obstetrics at Kings County Hospital in Brooklyn, New York, from 1933 to 1934. Returning to Houston, he established a practice in obstetrics and gynecology, leaving to serve in the Army Air Force Medical Corps from December 1942 until February 1946. He resumed his practice in Houston at that time, continuing until his retirement in 1977.

Dr. Meynier's concern with community issues was evident throughout his career. In the late 1930's, he advocated reform of the ambulance system in Houston. In December 1940, while serving as chairman of the Health Council of the Community Chest's Council of Social Agencies, he participated in Houston's first annual Public Health Institute. He stressed the need for a non-politically controlled planning committee for coordinating public health programs, including pre-natal and venereal disease clinics. He was later active in a campaign to institute the city manager form of government which he felt would permit needed expansion of the city health department's services.

In the mid-1950's, controversy arose over the proposed location of additional hospital facilities for the indigent. Dr. Meynier, as a member of the Hospital Committee of the Harris County Medical Society, recommended adding beds to the existing facilities at Jefferson Davis Hospital, rather than building a new hospital in the Medical Center. The opposing plan was adopted, however, resulting in the construction of Ben Taub Hospital.

Dr. Meynier was strongly opposed to liberalization of state laws governing abortion. He served from 1968 to 1970 on the Texas Medical Association's Committee on Abortion, during which time he vigorously opposed endorsement by the Association of such liberalization. He continued his efforts through the Houston Right-to-Life group, in which he served as a vice-president.

Dr. Meynier served as clinical associate professor in obstetrics and gynecology at Baylor College of Medicine and the University of Texas in Houston. His research and publishing included work in intrathecal injection of alcohol for intractable pain of the pelvis; cervicitis and infertility; vitamin A deficiency in fetal deformity; use of antibiotics in patients with poor obstetrical histories; and simple removal of cerclage suture for incompetent cervix. His patents and original designs included those for an intra-vaginal tampon, a breast pump, vaginal pessary, cervical biopsy and coning instrument, and life preserver.

Dr. Meynier's professional associations are numerous. He served as president respectively of the Texas Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists in I960, the Houston Gynecological and Obstetrical Society in 1964, and the Harris County Medical Society in 1969. He was a Diplomate the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology, a Fellow In the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, and a Fellow In the American College of Surgeons. He served as chief of the obstetrics service and as president of the medical staff at St. Joseph's Hospital and was a consultant on the staffs of Methodist and Hermann Hospitals.

Dr. Meynier died March 24, 1997. His obituary was in the Houston Chronicle Mar. 26, 1997, p. 28A.

Bruch, Hilde

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n50055887.html
  • Person
  • 1904-1984

Hilde Bruch was born in Dulken, Germany on March 11, 1904; her family was Jewish. An uncle encouraged her to study medicine and she graduated from Albert Ludwig University with a doctorate in 1929. She took academic and research positions with the University of Kiel and then the University of Leipzig, but left academia for private pediatric practice in 1932 because of rising anti-Semitism. She had already begun a career in pediatric physiology before she left Germany in 1933 after Hitler came into power. She then spent a year in England, where she worked at the East End Maternity Hospital, which served a Jewish community in an impoverished part of London. She moved to the United States in 1934 and worked at the Babies’ Hospital at the Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center in New York City. She obtained her American medical license in 1935 and, in 1937, began research on childhood obesity, the beginning of her career studying eating disorders. She became an American citizen in 1940.
From 1941 to 1943 Bruch studied psychiatry at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore before returning to New York to open her own psychiatric practice and teach at Columbia University. She took a position in psychiatry at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston in 1964 and remained in Houston for the rest of her life. She died on December 15, 1984.

The Doctors' Club

  • Person
  • 1954-2005

The Doctors' Club began in 1954 as a social club for doctors and dentists and their families at The Texas Medical Center in Houston, Texas. The Doctor's Club also hosted medical lectures and various medical groups. The Doctor's Club closed in 2005.

Denham, Leta Elizabeth

  • Person
  • 1895-1982

Leta Elizabeth Denham was born in 1895 in Hempstead, Waller County, Texas, and was one of sixteen children. She attended the Baptist Sanitarium and Hospital Training School for Nurses in Houston, Texas, graduating from the program in 1919. The commencement ceremony was held at First Baptist Church in Houston on May 29, 1919. After graduating from nursing school Leta Denham went to China to fulfill her life-long dream of working as a missionary. She served as a medical missionary in Yingtak, China from 1921 to 1922.

Leta Denham married Marcus Jackson Scott in June 1921, and died in Langley, Washington in 1982.

Sobocinski, Robert

  • Person
  • 1928-2009

Robert Stanley Sobocinski was born April 6, 1928 in North Tonawanda, New York. He earned his MD from the University of Buffalo Medical School and served as medical officer in the US Navy between 1952 and 1955, aboard the USS Siboney. He was a family physician in Houston for many years. He died August 4, 2009, and is buried at Forest Park East in Webster

American Medical Informatics Association Nursing Informatics History Project

  • Corporate body
  • 2008 -

The American Medical Informatics Association Nursing Informatics History Project is an offshoot of the nursing informatics archive started at the National Library of Medicine by Dr. Virginia Saba in 1997. The project launched in 2008 as an endeavor to document what nursing informatics means, its history and future, and people and events that shaped the discipline. There are video interviews of important figures in nursing informatics that can be viewed through the AMIA website. There is also a list of relevant articles on the AMIA website but the articles are noted to be available at the Texas Medical Center Library. The American Nursing Association recognized nursing informatics as a new specialty in 1991.

Moore, John T.

  • Person
  • 1864-1951

John T. Moore, MD, was the first man in the United States “to use radium as part of an operation in the treatment of cancer, he was one of the pioneers in clinical research,” according to an obituary that appeared in the Houston Post, section 1, page 6 on March 20, 1951. Dr. Moore was born in Moore’s Grove. He attended Sam Houston Normal Institute. He was educator before studying medicine. He was superintendent of schools in Trinity, Texas and then Orange, Texas. Dr. Moore received his master’s degree from Texas Christian University and his medical degree from the University of Texas School of Medicine at Galveston. He did graduate work at Johns Hopkins University and the University of Vienna. He was a former president of the Harris County Medical Society. He was a member of the Texas Surgical Society and other medical organizations. Dr. Moore was one of the organizers of the Texas State Medical Society.

Dr. Moore was born September 4, 1864 and died March 1, 1951.

Live Oak Friends Meeting

  • Corporate body
  • 1954-

Live Oak Friends Meeting was founded in 1954 and met in congregants’ homes and in several temporary locations before settling in first to an adapted house on Alexander Street. In 2000 they moved into a building on W. 26th Street in the Heights, designed for them, that includes an installation by light artist James Turrell.
Jan and Marjorie De Hartog were longtime residents of Houston and members of Live Oak Friends Meeting, and personal friends of the donors. The original video was recorded by Warren, Ph.D., and Marsha Holleman, M.D., also members of Live Oak and faculty at Baylor College of Medicine.
Jefferson Davis Hospital opened originally in 1924; a second building was constructed in 1939 (razed 1999). By the 1950s, disputes between the city and county over who was responsible for its costs had left it underfunded, understaffed, and plagued by appalling conditions. The De Hartogs’ expose The Hospital prompted the formation of the Harris County Hospital District (Harris Health), the reform of public hospital conditions in Houston, and the development of Ben Taub Hospital in 1963.

Ostwald, Sharon

  • Person
  • 1941-

Sharon K. Ostwald was born January 6, 1941 in Pearland, Texas.

Detering, Herman E., III

  • Person
  • 1938-2015

Herman Eberhard Detering, III, was born July 2, 1938, in Houston; his father H.E. Detering, Jr. (1902-1977) was also born in Houston and his grandfather H.E. Detering, Sr. (1862-1927), was born in Germany but came to Houtson in 1871. Detering, Sr., was the founder of The Detering Company Building Supplies, which is still operated (as of 2020) by the family. H.E. Detering, III, created this collection because of his interest in 19th century photography and psychiatry. Mr. Detering was the longtime owner of the Detering Book Gallery, a rare bookstore in the Houston area. He died March 21, 2015

Yost, Joyce E.

  • Person

Joyce Elizabeth Elder Yost, while a doctoral student at University of Texas Health Science Center - School of Public Health, completed her dissertation titled “AIDS Talk” in December 1996.

Taylor, Judson L.

  • Person
  • 1881-1949

Judson Ludwell Taylor was born August 5, 1881, at New Waverly, Texas. He died November 28, 1944. Doctor Taylor was a surgeon and served as Commander in the United States Navy. He was a founding member of the American Board of Surgery. He lead the formation of a permanent blood plasma bank for the Gulf Coast area. He served as president of the State Medical Association and Harris County Medical Society, and was instrumental in developing the Post-Graduate Medical Assembly of South Texas. He played a large part in establishing the Dental Branch of The University of Texas.

Martin Junius Taylor, older brother of Judson Taylor, was born in 1870. He was a physician and surgeon in Texas, practicing medicine for 27 years. After receiving his medical degree in 1892 from Memphis Hospital Medical College, he began his practice in Polk County, Texas. He moved to Houston in 1918, where he was a staff member many of the Houston-area hospitals, becoming President of Memorial Hospital staff. He served as president of both the Polk County Medical Society and the Harris County Medical Society. He died on October 21, 1949.

Resolution on the Death of Dr. Judson L. Taylor, Board Minutes of the Houston District Dental Society, February 17, 1945.

“Dr. M. J. Taylor Succumbs after Long Illness”, newspaper clipping, October 21, 1949. MS 210 Judson L. Taylor, MD papers. McGovern Historical Center, Texas Medical Center Library.

Maurer, Joseph P.

  • Person

Joseph P. Maurer was a photographer. He photographed portraits of Houston physicians in the 1950s. These portraits were used in the Harris County Medical Society Pictorial Directory. (Note: HRC staff is still trying to find biographical information.)

Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n81015967
  • Corporate body
  • 1915-

The origins of the library date back to 1915, when the Houston Academy of Medicine (HAM) established a small library in downtown Houston to serve the Harris County Medical Society. This Library was combined with the Baylor College of Medicine’s (BCM’s) small library in 1949 to form a centralized collection. As more institutions joined the Texas Medical Center, they also shared the resources of the TMC Library, thereby creating a unique point of collaboration among the institutions of the TMC.

A permanent home for this new library was built in the early 1950’s, through the efforts of HAM and BCM. Jesse H. Jones contributed funding for the construction, and in 1954, the approximately 27,000 square foot, three-story “Jesse H. Jones Library Building” was dedicated. By 1975, a new addition to the building had added another 76,000 square feet for the Library’s growing collection. At this time, the Library officially became known as the Houston Academy of Medicine – Texas Medical Center Library. Today the library uses the shorter operating name of The TMC Library.

The McGovern Historical Center (MHC) is the rare book and archive department for the library. The earliest acquisition records for the books in the MHC are found in the Houston Academy of Medicine’s (HAM) Library Committee reports for 1935 and 1936. Thirty Fellows of the Academy raised $300 to purchase a collection of 275 French medical books published between 1730 and 1830. In 1949, HAM and Baylor College of Medicine combined their medical libraries. In anticipation of the completion of the Jesse H. Jones Building for the library, the MD Anderson Foundation purchased the rheumatology collection of a New York physician, Dr. Reginald Burbank. This purchase was followed by a gift from the Cora and Webb Mading Foundation of more than 1,000 titles on sanitation and communicable diseases. After the 1954 dedication of the library building, many physicians donated books or historical pamphlets to be stored in a very small, locked room on the second floor. Soon after his arrival in Houston, Dr. McGovern became one of the Library’s most staunch supporters, annually supplying funds for the purchase of rare books and travel support for the librarians to attend meetings of the American Association for the History of Medicine. In 1977, The Library formed a new department with new quarters to collect historical materials and to enhance the rare book collections. In 1982, Dr. McGovern donated his personal collection of rare and historical book to the Library. In 1996 the Library’s Board of Directors named the historical department in his honor.

Baylor College of Medicine

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79127036
  • Corporate body
  • 1900-

Baylor College of Medicine is a private medical school located in the Texas Medical Center. It opened in October 1900 in Dallas, Texas, by Albert Ferdinand Beddoe, A.B., M.D., and Samuel Hollingsworth Stout, A.B., M.D., as the University of Dallas Medical Department (there was no such school as the University of Dallas). In 1903 it joined with Baylor University and became the Baylor University College of Medicine. In 1943, the M.D. Anderson Foundation invited the College of Medicine to join the fledgling Texas Medical Center in Houston, so in July of that year it reopened in a former Sears, Roebuck, and Company warehouse. It moved into the current Roy and Lillie Cullen Building in 1947. Michael DeBakey joined as chair of the surgery department in 1948. The College expanded both physically and by reputation through the 1950s and 1960s.
In 1969, the College of Medicine separated from the University and officially changed its name to Baylor College of Medicine. In addition to the medical school, it has a Graduate School of Biomedical Science, the School of Allied Health Professions, and the National School of Tropical Medicine.

University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n84075298
  • Corporate body
  • 1972-

The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston is a public health science educational institution. It was created in 1972 by the University of Texas and comprises the UTHealth School of Dentistry (1905), UTHealth School of Biomedical Informatics (1972), the UT MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (1963, renamed 2017), the John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern School of Medicine (1969, renamed 2015), UTHealth School of Public Health (1969), and the Jane and Robert Cizik School of Nursing (1972, renamed 2017). Its teaching hospitals include Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital, Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center, and Harris Health Lyndon B. Johnson Hospital. It also encompasses a long list of smaller centers and institutions that perform work specialized to different illnesses, disciplines, and areas of interest.

Harris County Hospital District

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/no2008077807
  • Corporate body
  • 1965-

The Harris County Hospital District was created by voter referendum in November 1965 and formalized with taxing authority in January 1966. Its creation followed the publication of Jan de Hartog’s The Hospital, an expose of the conditions at Jefferson Davis Charity Hospital (opened 1924). The District replaced a contentious city-county system in which both were responsible for support of the hospital. Quentin Mease was a founder and chairman of the District.
Lyndon B. Johnson General Hospital opened in 1989. In 1990, emergency facilities at Lyndon B. Johnson and Ben Taub (1963) Hospitals were expanded and Harris County residents began to be assigned to each by ZIP code to better manage caseloads. HCHD was renamed Harris Health System in 12.

Memorial Hospital System

  • Corporate body
  • 1907-1997

Founded on September 1, 1907 as the Baptist Sanitarium, Memorial Hospital began as a two-story, wood-framed building at the end of the trolley line on Lamar and Smith. It had 17 beds and eight trained nurses on staff. It was the second general hospital established in Houston after St. Joseph Hospital which opened in 1887. It was also the second Baptist-supported hospital in the United States. The other was the Missouri Baptist Sanitarium in St. Louis.

In 1904 the only general hospital in Houston, St. Joseph Hospital, had 125 beds. The lack of hospital care available in Houston at the time became a discussion between two Baptist ministers, Dr. L. T. Mays (South Main Baptist Church) and Rev. D. R. Pevoto (Clark Avenue Baptist Church). They wanted to open a new hospital to serve the people of Houston regardless of race, religion, or wealth. It remained only an idea for years as discussions began to involve more people in the community, like Dr. J. L. Gross (pastor of First Baptist Church of Houston), Dr. George Truett, and George Hermann. Mrs. Charles Stewart, member of First Baptist Church of Houston gave $1,000 as a down payment to purchase the two-story Ida J. Rudisill Sanitarium for $18,000. The building had only been in use for two years since 1905. Mrs. Rudisill stayed on serving as director of nursing until about 1912. In 1910, the Baptist Convention of Texas was officially affiliated with the hospital. Pevoto, who managed the hospital until 1917, wrote, “ In those days a hospital was looked upon with apprehension as just a place where one went to die. We decided to change all that.”

Memorial Hospital expanded “piecemeal” one building or building addition at a time, adding more beds as they could. The original Rudisill Building stood for over 50 years. Becoming the nurses quarters and even moved across the street at one point. Below is a brief timeline for the early expansion of Memorial Hospital:

1911: A four-story fireproof building was built and increased capacity to 50 beds.
1915: The hospital built an eight-story building and doubled the capacity to 100 beds.
1924: “A” wing was added, increasing the capacity to 215 beds.
1942: Another addition increased capacity to almost 300 beds.
1945: H. R. Cullen gave $2 million to Lillie Jolly School of Nursing for the construction of the Professional Nurses’ Building.
Through its history, Memorial Hospital was a leader in health care in Houston, establishing many “firsts”:

First chartered school of nursing, 1909
First general hospital to offer psychiatric care, 1920s
First “fever box” in the US to resuscitate newborns, 1930s
First therapeutic tank to treat polio, 1930s
First hospital in Texas to have air-conditioned operating rooms and nurseries, 1930s
First hospital in Texas to receive penicillin shipment, 1943
First hospital to expand services into the Houston suburban areas and developed the hospital satellite system, 1960s
In the 1940s, Memorial opted not to move into the Texas Medical Center, remaining in downtown where it was closer to patients. With the same, consistent mission to provide the communities of Houston with excellent health care at a reasonable cost, Memorial developed the hospital satellite system. In the 1960s, it open three community hospitals in the Southwest (1962), Southeast (1963), and Northwest (1966). The new system allowed regional hospitals to serve the community around them while sharing services, resources, and costs with other hospitals in the Memorial Healthcare System. As W. Wilson Turner, administrator of Memorial Hospital 1958-1981 remarked, “Memorial was a pioneer of multiple health care units under one administrative management in the country.”

In 1971, in order to accept federal and community funds, Memorial Hospital broke ties with the Baptist General Convention of Texas. After 70 years, Memorial closed its downtown hospital in 1977 and moved to the Southwest location on the Southwest Freeway at Beechnut. Everything was moved patients, equipment, supplies, furnishings, and even the Bowles Chapel, which was disassembled and rebuilt piece by piece.

In 1997 Memorial Hospital merged with Hermann Hospital, becoming Memorial Hermann Healthcare System. Today, it is one of the largest non-for-profit healthcare system in Texas with roughly 19 hospitals and several specialty service points throughout the Greater Houston area.

Other notable individuals in the collection:

Lillian Irene Wilson Burnett Jolly (Lillie Jolly) was born near Louisville, Kentucky in 1877. She graduated from the School of Nursing at the Kentucky School of Medicine in 1907. Before attending school she worked in mental health institutions. In 1908, she moved to Houston to be a surgeon’s assistant and director of nurses at the Baptist Sanitarium (later Memorial Hospital). Lillie Jolly was director of the Hospital Training School for Nurses for over 30 years, 1908-1947. In 1945 the school was renamed in her honor, the Lillie Jolly School of Nursing. From 1917 to 1920, she served as superintendent, leading the hospital for two years before re-focusing her attention to the nurses and the nursing school. Robert Jolly became superintendent and served in the position from 1920-1945. Robert and Lillie Jolly were married at the stroke of midnight on New Year’s Day 1924. She retired in 1947. Lillie Jolly died in 1953.

Robert Jolly was born in Cave City, Kentucky in 1885. He was a Baptist minister. He became the Business Manager for the Baptist Sanitarium in 1919. In 1920 he took over as superintendent for the hospital, a position he held until his retirement in 1945. As superintendent, Jolly oversaw the development and growth of the hospital for 24 years. Jolly was a great fundraiser and worked to make Memorial Hospital one of the leaders in health care. In 1922, the American College of Surgeons awarded Memorial its hospital certification. Jolly also represented the hospital in national organizations, taking leadership positions in the Texas Hospital Association, American Protestant Hospital Association, American Hospital Association, and American College of Hospital Administrators. Robert Jolly died in 1952.

Lela Smith Hickey (Mrs. H. H.) graduated from the Lillie Jolly School of Nursing in 1933. She donated a collection of about 31 photographs that depict the nurses, nursing students, physicians, and facilities of Memorial Hospital in 1932, including the operating room supervisor “Birdie” Byrd. According to a note found in the collection, she was a distant cousin of D. R. Pevoto, founder of Memorial Hospital, and worked “CU” [perhaps, Intensive Care Unit] until early 1960s. Lela Smith Hickey died May 7, 1970.

Col. J. W. Neal and wife, Elizabeth Mitchell Neal, founders of the Cheek-Neal Coffee Co. that made Maxell House famous, were staunch Baptists who supported Memorial Hospital. He became a trustee in the 1920s, and they created two trust funds at the hospital in memory of their children Margaret Ophelia Neal for sick and disabled children and James Robert Neal for X-ray treatment of cancer. In 1944 Mrs. Neal gave Memorial Hospital the block used for their Nurses’ Professional Building in Downtown Houston. Hugh Roy Cullen provided the funds to construct the building, donating $2 million. The building was completed in 1948.

SOURCES:

“History of Memorial Hospital Much Like city’s dynamic story” by Betty Ewing. Houston Chronicle, 1982, 11/27. Reference Files; Memorial Hospital System [Baptist Sanatorium], (Houston, Texas); John P. McGovern Historical Collections and Research Center, Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library
“Memorial Hospital Facility to Celebrate Its 75th Anniversary at banquet Tonight” by Mary Jane Schier. Houston Post, 1982, 11/29. Reference Files; Memorial Hospital System [Baptist Sanatorium], (Houston, Texas); John P. McGovern Historical Collections and Research Center, Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library
News clipping, Box 9, Folder 22, “Mrs. Lillie Jolly has Always Liked to Help People” by Bess Whitehead Scott, [unknown newspaper], Houston, TX. 1938, 01/09. Memorial Hospital records; IC 022; John P. McGovern Historical Collections and Research Center, Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library
“Memorial’s 50th Year Observed” by George DeMenil. Houston Post, 1957, 08/25. Reference Files; Memorial Hospital System [Baptist Sanatorium], (Houston, Texas); John P. McGovern Historical Collections and Research Center, Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library
Note and catalog card for P-176 in Lela Smith Hickey Collection. Memorial Hospital Photograph Collection; IC 103; John P. McGovern Historical Collections and Research Center, Houston Academy of Medicine-Texas Medical Center Library
Francis, Ted and Carole McFarland. 1982. The Memorial Hospital System: The First Seventy-Five Years. Special Commemorative Edition. Houston: Larksdale Press.
Memorial Hermann website, About us, http://www.memorialhermann.org/about-us/, Accessed: 10/12/2018
Handbook of Texas Online, Diana J. Kleiner, “MEMORIAL HEALTHCARE SYSTEM,” accessed September 19, 2018, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/sbm07.

San Jacinto Lung Association

  • Corporate body
  • 1911-

Led by Dr. Elva A. Wright, the San Jacinto Lung Association was first established on November 11, 1911 as the Houston Anti-Tuberculosis League. In the early 20th Century, Houston had a higher death rate of tuberculosis than the national average with two in 1000 persons dying from the disease in 1910. At the time, there was no organized movement to address the public health crisis in the city. The founding members were Dr. Wright, Mrs. J. G. Love (General Secretary of United Charities), Sybil Campbell (Headworker at Rusk Settlement House), Dr. T. B. Thorning, and Dr. M. B. Stokes. They modeled the organization on the National Anti-Tuberculosis Association and the Texas State Anti-Tuberculosis Association, which were establish a few years before in 1904 and 1908 respectively.

The Association was a non-profit, community-driven organization dedicated to engage the people of Houston to control, prevent, and educate the community about tuberculosis. Its primary focus and goals were to: Educate public of cause and symptoms. Promote healthy living. Establish free clinic. Employ visiting public health nurses. Develop sanitariums and hospitals. Advocate for laws to control tuberculosis. Encourage city and county health departments to lead fight.

Through the years they operated daily clinics for treatment and diagnosis of tuberculosis as well as conducted mass-screenings using chest X-rays and skin tests. As the the prevention and treatment of tuberculosis became more effective, the Association started to address other respiratory diseases, and provided lung performance tests to screen for emphysema and asthma.

The Association’s first clinic space was a five room cottage at 55 Gable St. It was loaned to the organization by the Mayor of Houston, H. Baldwin Rice. It opened on January 21, 1912, but after 3 months the space was reallocated for a new school, forcing the members to use their private practices to treat tuberculosis patients. On December 13, 1913, the Association opened its first free clinic at 608 Bagby St. It was a modest bungalow built through the donations of area labor unions and merchants. The Association remained at this location, in some capacity, into the 1950s. The bungalow was expanded, moved, and reinforced against the eroding bayou banks in the 1930s. In 1938, the free clinic services were moved to the basement Jefferson Davis Hospital. September 15, 1957, the Association moved into its newly built headquarters at 2901 West Dallas Avenue. Aubrey Calvin led the $125,000 building project with funds donated through the Christmas Seal campaign.

In 1918 the first tuberculosis hospital and sanatorium opened in Houston. Located at what is now Shepherd Drive and Allen Parkway. The hospital was tax-supported and operated by the city with additional funds from Harris County. Facilities were expanded to treat more and more cases, especially children. Through the donation of Mrs. James L. Autry, the Autry School opened in 1925 and provided children with undisrupted education while they were treated at the hospital. In 1947 the City of Houston took over full operation of the clinic and public health nursing services allowing the Association to focus more on its education and prevention services. Through more effective drug treatments and the Association’s programs, like school screening in 1930s, chest X-rays in 1940s, and mobile X-ray units in 1950s, the tuberculosis death rate declined significantly in Houston.

Dr. Elva A. Wright led the effort to establish an anti-tuberculosis association to prevent and treat tuberculosis in Houston. She said, “I’d rather be remembered for the disease I prevented than for the disease I cured.” Dr. Wright was born in Pennsylvania in 1868 and received her medical degree from Northwestern University in 1900. She practiced obstetrics, but her interest turned to tuberculosis and its effect on children during her post-graduate work in Europe and Chicago. She opened her office in Houston within the Temple Building on Main St., and through her practice, she saw how tuberculosis affected children and families throughout the city. She served as president of the Association until her death on July 18 , 1950. She also served as chief of the children’s clinic and Houston TB Hospital as well as chairman of general medical staff. Robert V. Moise took over as president in 1950 after Dr. Wright’s death.

Emmeline J. Renis joined the Association as a nurse in 1920. She shared the administrative work with Dr. Wright, eventually becoming the executive director. She was the executive director through the 1960s.

Dr. Katharine H. K. Hsu was born and educated in China. She came to the United States in 1948. She joined the Association in 1952 and remained an integral part of the organization through the 1970s. In the early 1960s, Dr. Hsu led one of the largest comparative studies that evaluated the multiple-puncture Heaf test against the more established Mantoux and patch tests. Testing more than 5,000 Houston school children, she confirmed that the Heaf test was reliable and offered improvements in mass-screening. She was an associate in the Department of Pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine as well as pediatrician-in-charge for the Tuberculosis Children’s Hospital and Clinic for Houston and Harris County.

Other individuals related to the Association are Dr. Howard T. Barkely (Board of Directors), Dr. Daniel E. Jenkins (Board of Directors), and Dr. W. J. Stork (Chief Radiologist).

From the beginning, the Association utilized Christmas Seal sales as its primary source of funding. First used in Denmark in 1904, Christmas Seals were purchased as extra postage for holiday packages, and the proceeds went to hospitals for children. In 1907 the National Anti-Tuberculosis Association began selling Christmas Seals in America as a fundraising campaign to fight tuberculosis. From $263.82 in 1911 to over $150,000 in 1956, the San Jacinto Lung Association funded all of its programs through the annual Christmas Seals campaign.

The following is a list of the different names of the San Jacinto Lung Association through the years: 1911, Houston Anti-Tuberculosis League 1950, Houston-Harris County Tuberculosis Association 1967, San Jacinto Tuberculosis & Respiratory Diseases Association. 1974, San Jacinto Lung Association Currently, National Lung Association Houston

The following community institutions have been affiliated with the Association through its history: Houston Tuberculosis Hospital, Baylor College of Medicine, Harris County Medical Society, Rusk Settlement House, Community Chest, United Charities, Jefferson Davis Hospital.

SOURCES:

Pamphlet, “Unfinished Business: 50th Anniversary of the Houston-Harris County TB Association. MS 009 W. J. Stork, MD papers. McGovern Historical Center.

Organization Records. IC 034 San Jacinto Lung Association. McGovern Historical Center.

Farmer, W. C. “Tuberculosis Pioneers in Texas,” Chest. American College of Chest Physicians, p. 131. http://journal.publications.chestnet.org/data/Journals/CHEST/21104/131.pdf Accessed 9/20/2016

Texas Heart Institute

  • http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n82127251
  • Corporate body
  • 1962-

Dr. Denton A. Cooley, the founder of the Texas Heart Institute, attended the University of Texas and the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, where he graduated in 1944. After serving in the Army Medical Corps and studying with Lord Russell Brock in London, he returned to his hometown of Houston, Texas to teach surgery at Baylor College of Medicine in the 1950s. The Texas Heart Institute was founded on August 3, 1962 in order to research and treat cardiovascular disease, the leading cause of death in the United States. Among many innovations developed by Cooley and his colleagues at the Institute are the first implantation of an artificial heart, the first successful heart transplant in the United States, advances in treatment of congenital defects, and a number of prostheses and implants. The Institute is part of Texas Medical Center, the largest medical center in the word. CHI St. Luke’s Health – Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center is the Institute’s clinical partner. [Sources: Texas Heart Institute website; The Houston Review, vol. 2, no. 1, p.16-19]

Women's Auxiliary to Texas Children's Hospital

  • Corporate body
  • 1954-

Known for their red vests, the Women’s Auxiliary to Texas Children’s Hospital (WATCH) is a volunteer service organization that provides supplemental services for patients, families, and staff of Texas Children’s Hospital in Houston, TX. The organization was established in 1954 when Texas Children’s Hospital opened in the Texas Medical Center. From the beginning, WATCH has provided such services as, manning information kiosks, managing the coffee shop and toy shop, escorting patients and families through the hospital, conducting tours of visitors, and acting as hosts at medical symposia. They also provided clerical work and translation services. The organization began with 300 volunteers in 1954, and it has grown to over a thousand, providing tens of thousands of volunteer hours each year to all Texas Children’s Hospital locations in the Houston area. The Auxiliary publishes a magazine entitled WATCH that showcases volunteers, service programs, developments in the hospital, and fundraising events.

WATCH also has provided significant fundraising for the hospital through the years. The organization is one of the top ten donors to the Texas Children’s Hospital. The annual Silver Tea is one of the many fundraising projects organized by WATCH. Other projects have included vending machines, Christmas cards, toy shop sales, and an annual bazaar.

Junior Auxiliary to Texas Children’s Hospital is a program that offers junior volunteers between the ages of 15-18 the opportunity to interact with patients or perform administrative duties. The Junior Auxiliary or Junior Council was established in the late-1960s.

Texas Children’s Hospital opened on February 2, 1954 within the Texas Medical Center in Houston, TX. It is the primary pediatric training site for Baylor College of Medicine, which has one of the largest pediatric residency program in the United States. Members of the Houston Pediatric Society were first to recognize the urgent need for a children’s hospital in the area and began a series of informal planning sessions in August 1947. As a result, the Texas Children’s Foundation was organized and chartered expressly to develop plans for the hospital and secure community support for the project. Members of the Junior League of Houston, who sponsored a prenatal and children’s health clinic in the city since 1927, have been instrumental in the history and development of the hospital from the beginning. After the 1993 expansion, Texas Children's Hospital became the largest pediatric medical facility in the country.

SOURCES:

“Women’s Auxiliary to Texas Children’s Hospital”, 20th Anniversary Texas Children’s Hospital, The Junior League of Houston and The Women’s Auxiliary to Texas Children’s Hospital commemorate the 20th Anniversary of Texas Children’s Hospital, 1974

“Foundation and History of Texas Children’s Hospital”, 20th Anniversary Texas Children’s Hospital, The Junior League of Houston and The Women’s Auxiliary to Texas Children’s Hospital commemorate the 20th Anniversary of Texas Children’s Hospital, 1974

“Six Decades of Making a Difference”, Aspire, Texas Children’s Hospital blog, 2016, http://aspire.texaschildrens.org/donor/2016/1469/ [accessed 2/13/2018]

Handbook of Texas Online, "Texas Children's Hospital," accessed January 29, 2018, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/sbt06.

Visiting Nurse Association of Houston, Inc.

  • Corporate body
  • 1908-

Now VNA Health, the Visiting Nurse’s Association is a nonprofit founded in 1908 that provides in-home care for a wide variety of patient needs, including in-home nursing and assisted living, hospice care, various forms of therapy, and lending medical equipment.

Spina Bifida Association of Texas, Inc.-Houston Chapter

  • Corporate body
  • 1975-

This is now Spina Bifida Houston Gulf Coast. They are no longer associated with the national organization and have changed their name to reflect that. Their primary focus now is The Camp That Love Built, a camp for children with spina bifida. This started in 1975 as a camp for special-needs children and moved to Burton, Texas, in 1998

Houston Area Parkinson Society

  • Corporate body
  • 1974-

Founded in 1974, HAPS is a nonprofit dedicated to improving the quality of life of Parkinson’s patients through education, advocacy, and services. The Society was mostly run by volunteer until 1994, when it was able to hire its first full-time executive director. It now offers free therapeutic and support groups, care subsidies, transportation, and emergency financial assistance, and serves eight counties around the Houston metropolitan area.

Harris County Academy of General Practice

  • Corporate body
  • 1948-

The Harris County Association of General Practice is a component branch of the American Academy of General Practice and the Texas Chapter of the American Academy of General Practice. Through the diligent efforts of Dr. Lyman C. Blair and others a charter was issued on July 23rd, 1948, thereby establishing the Harris County Chapter.

On September 1st, 1948 the Harris County Association of General Practice held its first meeting in the Medical Arts Building. Twenty three physicians participated in the presentation and acceptance of the chapter's first constitution and by-laws. Officers were elected and monthly meetings were scheduled at this time. Dr. Blair served as the chapter's first president and Dr. M. E. Petway was elected the first Secretary.

Over the years meetings were held in a number of locations to encourage general practitioners to join and gather support. Some of the locations were the Medical Arts Building, the Baylor College of Medicine, the San Jacinto Inn, various restaurants and hotel dining rooms, M.D. Anderson Hospital and the Doctors' Club. Eventually, dinner meetings were established at the Doctors' Club, an annual meeting was held at the M.D. Anderson Hospital and the February meetings were held in Baytown.

Following the lead of its parent organization, the Association lent support to local general practitioners, encouraged young physicians to enter the field, and sponsored a number of postgraduate and scientific programs conducted by various nationally recognized specialists. The Harris County Association of General Practice took great pride in its efforts to improve the image of general practice and the fine postgraduate programs it conducted.

The Harris County Medical Archive is proud to house this vital collection. The collection successfully documents the history of a local medical association and to some extent the attitudes with the field of general practice.

The collection is open for research. Those interested in using the collection whould contact the Archivist or Special Collections Librarian.

Committees of the Harris County Academy of General Practice Credentials Hospital Liaision Public and Profession Relations Education and Program Membership By-Laws Publications Special Resolutions and Memorial Grievance Ethics and Jurisprudence Entertainment Student Orientation Budget Roster Historical

South Main Center Association

  • Corporate body
  • 1976-

The South Main Center Association was a non-profit organization founded in Houston, TX in 1976 as a result of a study funded by the National Endowment for the Arts. The organization was renamed the “South Main Alliance” in 2005.

The South Main Alliance is dedicated to protecting and enhancing the South Main Street area of Houston, which encompasses the Texas Medical Center, the Houston Museum District, Rice University, Houston Community College Central Campus, the University of St. Thomas, Hermann Park, Reliant Park, the Houston Zoo, Miller Outdoor Theatre, the Houston Texans and the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. The institution offers HEART (Health, Education, Art, Recreation and Technology) services.

Diagnostic Clinic of Houston

  • Corporate body
  • 1957-

The Diagnostic Clinic of Houston was established in 1957 when the nine founding members joined together to form a group practice. This organization was conceived in an attempt to provide the patients with the highest quality health care. It focuses primarily on internal medicine, with many subspecialties. (Source: http://www.diagnosticclinic.com/professionals-clinic-history)

Yoffe, Boris

  • Person
  • 1949-

Boris M. Yoffe was born August 24, 1949. He earned an MD in 1974 from the Institute of Technology in Haifa, Israel. He has taught gastroenterology at Baylor since 1983.

Harris County Psychiatric Center

  • Corporate body
  • 1986-

The Harris County Psychiatric Center opened in 1986 and became the psychiatric wing of the UT Health Science Center at Houston in 1990; it serves as the teaching hospital for the McGovern Medical School. Except for the outpatient ECT clinic, it provides inpatient care only and runs specialized programs to address a long list of concerns. Outpatients are referred to the NeuroPsychiatric Center at Ben Taub Hospital or to a Mental Health and Mental Retardation Association clinic. It serves the community both directly and through the Harris County jail and juvenile detention systems, school districts, and many other educational, legal, and health and development-focused institutions.

Texas Medical Center Nursing Education Consortium

  • Corporate body
  • 1991 -

The TMC Nursing Education Consortium was organized in 1991 for the purpose of sharing ideas about staff education. It eventually developed three classes, on perinatal care, critical care, and instruction, and offered them to TMC member institutions. It met at the Doctor’s Club until that closed around 2002, and then at another building on Fannin (the reply said “Fannin and Main” but they don’t intersect) for a few more years before fading out.

Ronald McDonald House, Houston

  • Corporate body
  • 1981-

Ronald McDonald Houses provide a home-like place for families to stay while their children are receiving treatment in the hospital. The Houses were the idea of Fred Hill of the Philadelphia Eagles football team, when he and his wife needed a place to stay while their daughter Kim underwent treatment for leukemia at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. The first Ronald McDonald House opened in Philadelphia in 1974. Houston’s first Ronald McDonald House, funded in part by the Houston Oilers, opened at 1550 La Concha lane, near the Astrodome, in 1981. It had 21 bedrooms but was soon outgrown and replaced with a 50-bedroom House nearer the Texas Medical Center, near Holcomb Boulevard and Cambridge Street, in 1997. There is also a 20-room House inside Texas Children’s Hospital (2002) and a 14-room one inside Children’s Memorial Hermann (2007).

Joy, Agnes Mary

  • Person
  • 1931-2020

Sister Agnes Mary Joy served as director of chaplaincy services for the Institute of Religion, which provided chaplaincy services for the Texas Medical Center (TMC) healthcare facilities. Sister Joy fulfilled chaplaincy roles in the TMC from the mid-1970s until early 2000s.

"Sister Agnes Mary Joy, M.M. died on August 13th, 2020 at the Maryknoll Sisters Center, Maryknoll. NY. She was 89 years old and had been a Maryknoll Sister for 66 years! Agnes was born on June 10th, 1931 in Newburgh, NY to Louise McLaughlin Joy and Edward Joy. She had one sister, Mrs. Jane L. Larkin, who pre-deceased her.

In 1949, she graduated from Mount St. Mary High School in Newburgh, NY. She then attended the College of St. Rose in Albany, NY where she earned a Bachelor of Arts Degree in English and Philosophy in 1953. Agnes then continued her education and earned a Master’s Degree in History at the Catholic University of America in 1955.

After completing her studies, she entered the Maryknoll Sisters Novitiate, Maryknoll, NY on September 2nd, 1954 (from St. Mary Parish, Newburgh, NY). She made her First Profession of Vows at the Maryknoll Sisters Center, Maryknoll, NY on March 7th, 1957 and her Final Vows on March 7th, 1963 in Puerto Armuelles, Panama.

In 1957, after making her First Vows, Sister Agnes was assigned to teach at Colegio San Antonio High School in Puerto Armuelles, Panama. After a few years, in 1963 she relocated to Puebla, Mexico. There, she served as Director of the Jesuit Elementary School until 1967 when she was assigned to the Maryknoll Sisters Novitiate in Valley Park, MO. She then returned to the Maryknoll Sisters Center, Maryknoll, NY in 1969 to serve as Assistant Director of the Formal Education Department and to serve on the Orientation Team until 1973.

Sister Agnes relocated to Houston, TX in 1973 to serve as Chaplain Intern for the Association of Clinical Pastoral Education Program at Ben Taub Medical Center (located within the Texas Medical Center). In 1979, she was promoted to Supervisor of the Clinical Pastoral Education Program and also served as Director of Chaplains for the hospital for the next 31 years.

Sister Agnes then retired, but remained an active volunteer with the Texas Medical Center. From 2006-2014, she spent her time researching and writing the 60 Year history of Chaplaincy Departments, Prayers, and Pastoral Care in the Hospitals, Clinics, and Health-Care Institution of the Texas Medical Center.

In 2015, Sister Agnes returned to the Maryknoll Sisters Center, Maryknoll, NY to fully retire."

Houston Alliance for the Mentally Ill/NAMI Houston

  • Corporate body
  • 1988-

Education and advocacy group Harris County Alliance for the Mentally Ill was established in 1988 and operated later as NAMI Metropolitan Houston. It acquired full National Alliance on Mental Illness affiliate status in 2005. It is split into subchapters within the region. NAMI Metropolitan Houston and NAMI West Houston merged on January 1, 2013, to form NAMI Greater Houston.

Beta Beta Houston

  • Corporate body
  • 1969-

Texas Woman's University (TWU), College of Nursing began in the fall of 1954, received accreditation from the National League of Nursing in May 1958. Beta Beta Chapter was officially recognized as a chapter, by TWU, in October 1969. The inaugural inductions were held the spring of 1970. The mission of the organization is to support the learning knowledge, and professional development of nurses committed to making a difference in health worldwide. The society vision is to create a global community of nurses who lead in using knowledge, scholarship, service and learning to improve the health of the world’s people. [Source: Beta Beta Houston, Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing. (2010). Retrieved from http://www.betabetahouston.org/ on November 5, 2011.]

University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, School of Nursing, Center on Aging

  • Corporate body
  • 1987-

The Center on Aging was established in 1987 as an interdisciplinary center focused on improving the quality of life for an older population through research, patient care, education, institutional development, and community service. The Center engages in research on health-related quality of life, stroke survivors and their caregivers, prevention and treatment of pressure ulcers, and many other aging-related topics. Its outreach program serves over 300 assisted living and nursing facilities in Harris County.

University of Texas School of Nursing PARTNERS

  • Corporate body
  • 1994-

Providing Advancement Resources To Nursing Education Researchers was formed in 1994 to encourage and support the students and faculty of the Cizik School of Nursing through scholarships, research grants, and endowed professorships, and has also raised funds to build and equip research facilities.

Friends of the Texas Medical Center Library

  • Corporate body
  • 1960-

The Friends were incorporated in 1960 to “assist in the development, improvement, and expansion of facilities, services, and functions of the Texas Medical Center Library, and to support its administration. It shall be the purpose of the organization to secure gifts and bequests and provide funds for books, journals, rare books and manuscripts, and whenever possible for library equipment, lectureships, and scholarships, and for any other purpose which would be beneficial to the” Library. The collection was donated by James Greenwood III, who is apparently the son of James Greenwood, Jr., MD, who has a small collection in the TMC Library archives.

Texas-Mexico Border and Acres Home Project

  • Corporate body
  • 1988-

The University of Texas System Valley/Border Health Services Task Force was established in 1988 by the University of Texas System in conjunction with several other schools (University of Texas Heath Science Center at San Antonio and University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston among them) and community organizations to inventory existing health programs in the Rio Grande Valley/border region and use this information to improve health professional education, health services, and research activities in the area. The work continues today in the form of the Texas-Mexico Border Health Coordination Office.
Similarly, the Acres Homes Project (1996-2005) was a joint effort among several community organizations and the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston to study and improve community health in the Acres Homes neighborhood on Houston’s northwest side. A committee was assembled to assess the demographics, existing services, and needs of the community, and staff and students of UTHSCH were responsible for the technical aspects of the analysis.

Medical Arts Publishing Foundation

  • Corporate body

Medical Arts Publishing Foundation was a brainchild of Dr. R. Lee Clark, president of M.D. Anderson Cancer Research Center (1946-1978). Through collaboration between Dr. Clark and Russell W. Cumley, the publishing company developed the Cancer Bulletin in 1948 as a fun, visual and entertaining medical journals to draw attention to the history of cancer research. Their initial vision was to create a “highly readable pictorial magazine for the general practitioner” that would increase early diagnosis of cancer. Other publications, Heart Bulletin in 1952 and Psychiatric Bulletin in 1951, followed that highlighted the history and studies in cardiology and psychiatry. Each publication had its own distinct style and motif. Joe Schwarting was the Art Director and principle artist for all publications. The group of artists were based international and locally in Houston. Other artists include Eva Marie Schubart, Imelda Schubart, Peter Spier, Joe Spire, George Shackelford, Mary Shackelford, and Joseph Doeve. Medical Arts Publishing Foundation also published the regional journal, Medical Record and Annuals, with Joe Schwarting creating the cover art.

University of Texas Faculty Wives

  • Corporate body
  • 1973-

The Faculty Wives was established in 1973-1974 when the medical school was new to the Medical Center “to promote friendship among its members and to be of service to the Medical School and the community”. A 1978 bake sale started the scholarship fund. In addition to scholarships and book money, the organization has donated to many institutions and programs. Female faculty were admitted as of the 1985-1986 school year.

Andrews, Billy

  • Person
  • 1956-

ertified Medical Illustrator William M. Andrews was born July 4, 1956, in Chicago, Illinois, into an Air Force family, and grew up in California, Texas, Oklahoma, and Hawaii. He earned a Bachelor’s in art from the University of Texas at Austin in 1978 and a Master’s in Biomedical Communications from the University of Texas Health Science Center at Dallas in 1980. He began his career in Tucson as a medical illustrator for the University of Arizona Health Science Center. In 1981, he moved to Houston, where he has served several institutions within the Texas Medical Center, including the Texas Heart Institute and UT MD Anderson Cancer Center. He received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Association of Medical Illustrators in 2018. At this time (2020) he has been with the Augusta University Medical College of Georgia since 1999 and is pursuing a Ph.D. in Health Promotion, Education, and Behavior through the University of South Carolina, Columbia.

Baird, Valliant Clinton

  • Person
  • 1904-1986

Valliant C. Baird MD, contributed to the organization of industrial health programs during their nascent years.

Dr. Baird was born September 28, 1904 in Pancake/Gatesville TX. He received his BS. in Pre—Med from Tulane University in 1925 having been a member of the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society and Theta Kappa Psi Medical Fraternity. He was a 1928 graduate of Tulane in New Orleans, Louisiana. Dr. Baird served his internship and residency at the Mercy and Charity Hospitals in New Orleans from 1933 to 1934 He then spent some time as an oilfield physician.

Upon coming to Houston, he established his career in Industrial Medicine and as an Oilfield physician for 39 years with Humble Oil and Refining Company (currently known as Exxon Mobil). His roles include assistant chief physician in 1935 and chief physician in 1944. Dr. Baird also served as Professor of Occupational Medicine at the University Of Texas School Of Public Health in Houston and as Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine Clinical Associate Professor of Industrial Medicine in the Department of Virology and Epidemiology at Baylor School of Medicine in Houston. Dr. Baird was also President of Medical Research Foundation of Texas in 1960-61.

Papers include Dr. Baird’s resume up until 1963, the biography proof of what was published in who’s who in America, 37th Edition., newspaper clippings, medical journal articles, meeting and conference presentation notes and summaries, and pamphlets; all papers are related to either or both 1) honors and awards in the Oil and Gas Industry in particular as Chief Physician for Humble Oil and Refining Company (currently known as Exxon Mobile); and 2) industrial medicine specific to promoting physical and mental health well-being for employees and their families, which is often referred to as the Hygiene Program; the program discusses the importance of both personal and environmental hygiene.

Dr. Baird’s publications discuss the following topics: Chemical Hazards – Industry, Farm, and Home, Suicide, Paget’s disease, Coronary Artery Disease, Preventive Medicine correlates to specific age groups, plan of organization of an industrial health program, advocated pre-employment examinations, carotid sinus syndrome.

Results 1 to 100 of 229